• Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Nov 22, 2005
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 208 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 208

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. martinw
    May 11, 2007
    10
    the best band of its kind!!!
  2. JonS
    Jan 14, 2006
    10
    I don't know who would ratethis group (ever) less than 8, i mean they have awsome music, they criticize, and they get in your emotions whether you are happy or mad. This band is by far the best, and kicks every Rapers or country singer's ass.
  3. TristanL
    Dec 8, 2005
    10
    Fantastic album and a great great component to the hypnotise/mesmerise double album. good music and nice and brutal. Excellent stuff.
  4. tonyak
    Oct 6, 2006
    10
    i love it...this is the first SOAD album i've owned and it's my favorite. i love all the political aspects: there are some great points, very deep. and, of course, the music is great!
  5. MikhailV
    Feb 10, 2006
    10
    Absolutely amazing, It's a bloody masterpiece. I have no idea how some people can put down S.O.A.D. and their music. I saw a comment saying "this isn't music". That person can go and burn. Each song on this album is amazing and send shivers around my body. I don't know if this happens to others? If i had to pick a least best song, it would be She's Like Heroin as it Absolutely amazing, It's a bloody masterpiece. I have no idea how some people can put down S.O.A.D. and their music. I saw a comment saying "this isn't music". That person can go and burn. Each song on this album is amazing and send shivers around my body. I don't know if this happens to others? If i had to pick a least best song, it would be She's Like Heroin as it sounds kind of rushed. But still great. System rock!!!!!! Expand
  6. yoG
    Jul 30, 2006
    10
    Awesome album.Better than 10 out of 10.Holy Mountains is the best song ever written.
  7. MarkU.
    Nov 26, 2005
    10
    I think that Mesmerize/Hypnotize is one of the best rock albums in a long time. System of a Down's use of different influences reminds me very much of Queen.
  8. KarlM
    Nov 26, 2005
    10
    I am A huge System fan, i own every album and every song they have ever created. I love every cd, especialy hypnotize and mezmerize. All of the songs are really amazing, Serj and Darrons voices are totally fuckign sweet.
  9. JacobS
    Dec 2, 2005
    9
    The reason that i think this album is great, is that there is a thin line between the entire album, and all the songs work as a whole, while almost every song also stand strong on its own. The only downside is that there is a bit repetitive lyrics every once in a while. 9/10
  10. JasonG
    Jan 10, 2006
    10
    A brilliant album on it's own, but must be listened to along with Mezmerize to truly appreciate it. These guys are on their way to becoming the next metal legends
  11. LeeW
    Jan 10, 2006
    9
    Great cd Hipnotise awome song
  12. GregH
    Jan 20, 2006
    10
    Wow. And I say that as an objective listener rather than an avid fan. Point for point this album surpassed my expectations. Though much more somber than Mezmerize, the songs still retained their typical energy. I particularly liked "Stealing Society", "Holy Mountains", "Tentative", and "Dreaming". Overall, this album was by far an excellent purchase.
  13. donna
    Feb 21, 2006
    9
    not bad, not bad at all. their mixture of goth and funk has proven itself to be sellable.
  14. ChrisJ
    May 5, 2006
    9
    Superb. Loses its way a little between Holy Mountains and Soldier Side but the class shines through. If I ever hear a better song than Holy Mountains I'll consider myself very lucky..........still prefer Mezmerize though.
  15. Myles#13
    Sep 6, 2006
    10
    Great great GREAT album! Along with 'Mesmerize', this is THE album to have of the year, and firmly puts SOAD at the top of the musical field. SOAD dares to rock the boat, both musically and politically and remains one of the most truly original bands of our time. Fav's are 'Attack', 'Holy Mountains', 'Vicinity of Obscenity' and the hauntingly Great great GREAT album! Along with 'Mesmerize', this is THE album to have of the year, and firmly puts SOAD at the top of the musical field. SOAD dares to rock the boat, both musically and politically and remains one of the most truly original bands of our time. Fav's are 'Attack', 'Holy Mountains', 'Vicinity of Obscenity' and the hauntingly beautiful 'Soldier Side'. Expand
  16. simong
    Nov 22, 2005
    9
    more great stuff from sod
  17. BrianC
    Nov 22, 2005
    10
    amazing!!!
  18. CristianT
    Nov 22, 2005
    10
    Incredibly awesome! Actually, better than Mesmerize, and better than most their work so far.
  19. [Anonymous]
    Nov 22, 2005
    10
    awesome
  20. RobC
    Nov 22, 2005
    9
    Nice
  21. johnc
    Nov 23, 2005
    10
    the best cd so far system of a down has made,its up there with toxicity or perhaps even better
  22. blueindigo
    Nov 23, 2005
    10
    brilliant much better than mesmerize witch to me was a bit of a disapointment could even ve there greatest work yet
  23. NateP
    Nov 28, 2005
    10
    what can i say it mezmorized me.
  24. BuckCrouchIII
    Nov 29, 2005
    10
    The genious continues with Hypnotize.
  25. qwertpoiuy
    Nov 30, 2005
    10
    mad
  26. CaseyR
    Nov 30, 2005
    10
    Though I could not say that Hypnotize the greatest album that System of a Down has put out, I will say that it is up in the ranks with Toxicity as one of their best. As a long time System fan I couldn't wait for the arrival of Hypnotize. I felt that Mezmerize was very good, but it only wet my appetite for more System. Hypnotize was like the final dish on Thanksgiving (ironically Though I could not say that Hypnotize the greatest album that System of a Down has put out, I will say that it is up in the ranks with Toxicity as one of their best. As a long time System fan I couldn't wait for the arrival of Hypnotize. I felt that Mezmerize was very good, but it only wet my appetite for more System. Hypnotize was like the final dish on Thanksgiving (ironically coming out around that time) that is a full out rock album to finish what the appetizer of Mezmerize started. I could not say that Hypnotize is much better than their other albums because each album seems to bring out a different quality of the band. Each album sounds a little different than the last, while still staying true to the overall System effect. Hypnotize, though conveying the always present political message, seems to at some points do that in more a whimsical and even goofy tone. At other points in the CD, the hardcore System sound is ever-present. System of a Down also seems to be straying into different styles of music. The chorus of "Vicinity of Obscenity" has a 70s funk feel, while songs like "Stealing Society" and "Kill Rock N' Roll" have a more punk rock sound. Some songs on the CD, like "Lonely Day", seem to have an even classic rock sound to them. These examples just go to show, whatever System of a Down puts out there, it seems that it will always stay true to the hard-rocking band that have been making groud-breaking music for years. Expand
  27. StevenT
    Dec 1, 2005
    10
    This band is like a politicized episode of "The Surreal Life": Imagine a musical in which Frank Zappa, Primus, Queen, No Doubt, Abbie Hoffman and Che Guevara dissect and resculpt the steaming corpse of America and you have only a preliminary idea of what this band has accomplished musically and lyrically. "Hypnotize", the second lens in the 3d-glasses synthesis started by this year's This band is like a politicized episode of "The Surreal Life": Imagine a musical in which Frank Zappa, Primus, Queen, No Doubt, Abbie Hoffman and Che Guevara dissect and resculpt the steaming corpse of America and you have only a preliminary idea of what this band has accomplished musically and lyrically. "Hypnotize", the second lens in the 3d-glasses synthesis started by this year's "Mesmerize" completes a carnivalesque opus that satirically spits upon the garbage that western culture produces, consumes, excretes and regurgitates daily... As silly as this might seem, SOAD will certainly be revered by future ears as representing the manic depressive, schizoid state of being that dominates this early 21st century. Expand
  28. DannyK
    Dec 1, 2005
    10
    The best album, Even though I dislike steal this album and Mesmerize had some very weak tracks I am a fan, because I believe that Toxicity is one of the most powerful alternative rock albums PERIOD. When I heard that there was a second part of Mesmerize, I was filled with anxiety. I heard mesmerize and I didn't like it , so I naturally though this album would suck also. HOW was I The best album, Even though I dislike steal this album and Mesmerize had some very weak tracks I am a fan, because I believe that Toxicity is one of the most powerful alternative rock albums PERIOD. When I heard that there was a second part of Mesmerize, I was filled with anxiety. I heard mesmerize and I didn't like it , so I naturally though this album would suck also. HOW was I WRONG. This album is powerful, heartfelt, but most of all true. The lyrics of the sings make very powerful points abpout all of our lives. And the tunes that they picked for all of their songs are amazing also. My favorite Tracks Lonely Day Attack Tentative U-Fig Expand
  29. karlr
    Dec 16, 2005
    10
    Not as good as mezmerize but definetly one the best soad albums!
  30. DianaC
    Dec 2, 2005
    10
    This is by far the best album of the year, and I dare to say this is the best of the last ten years. No other album has thrilled me like this one. SOAD Rules. Has all the magic, energy, hard guitars, soft vocals, tough meanings and anything else you would expect from a really RocKin' band.
  31. JeffK
    Dec 2, 2005
    10
    very good, lonely day is the only bad song
  32. ArjisK
    Dec 20, 2005
    10
    I beleive that it's their best album!!!
  33. AlexC
    Dec 4, 2005
    10
    Awesome. A little different type of music than that of Mezmerize. This was a little more "Rock On", but I really enjoyed it.
  34. thomass
    Jan 20, 2006
    9
    this cd is the shit it aint too hard they sing about nothing but its all that...i recommend listening to crade of filth and slipknot as well as decay into light.i rate the cd
  35. TrevorR
    Jan 8, 2006
    9
    One thing you van always rely on when System of a Down releases an album is that there wont be one bad song. SOAD has really mastered melodic metal. Intertwining harmony with crazy drum sets and amazing guitar solos make this Syetem's best record yet. I think they just keep getting better.
  36. IgorM
    Feb 17, 2006
    10
    This deserves a 10! Few albums like this, one of my favorites.
  37. Connor
    Feb 17, 2006
    10
    This album is just one smash hit after another. I can never get enough of it. After hearing one good song I go to hear another, but then another good one comes on and I can't turn back.
  38. KeithJ
    Mar 30, 2006
    10
    A Great Album, I have all there others and feel that this is a masterpiece. The two Albums together are a fine body of work and I can't wait for the next instalment!!!!!
  39. Mithyus
    Apr 16, 2007
    10
    Just as Playlouder translates into words - Intense, terrifying.
  40. Miguel
    Nov 21, 2005
    10
    The best rock album of the year! This is the System of a Down that I was waiting for! Its definitely an improvement over Mezmerize.
  41. BrianC
    Nov 21, 2005
    10
    amazing!!!
  42. jimmy
    Nov 22, 2005
    10
    althought i liked mezemerize and i always said to myself the sequal wouldnt be able 2 match it its done more its completely toppled it
  43. LukeM
    Nov 22, 2005
    10
    This is an awesum album! .FULL STOP.
  44. MatthewB
    Nov 22, 2005
    10
    This is best of bests album on the metal/rock/aletrnative scene. Nothing more, just rulez and forever. Bravo SOAD!
  45. RimaR.
    Nov 22, 2005
    10
    Absolutely Amazing!
  46. [Anonymous]
    Nov 22, 2005
    10
    awesome
  47. tonyg
    Nov 22, 2005
    10
    lyrically and musically real, pure, and true. this is by far the best album of the year!!! on par with all of the other work they did. u-fig is hysterical and true. In todays mind controlled world we need this to help lift the veil off all our eyes. but truth is no one cares because evertyhing is good with thier american dreams. take them away and you will see the truth...no choice. but I lyrically and musically real, pure, and true. this is by far the best album of the year!!! on par with all of the other work they did. u-fig is hysterical and true. In todays mind controlled world we need this to help lift the veil off all our eyes. but truth is no one cares because evertyhing is good with thier american dreams. take them away and you will see the truth...no choice. but I kinda get the sense that its too fukin late for all of us... so sit back, grab your flag, and enjoy the ride to the end... it will be here like a thief in the knight! Collapse
  48. JohnW
    Nov 22, 2005
    10
    After initially listening to this album on MTV.com's The Leak, I only really liked 5 of the tracks on the album. And later after buying the album (big SOAD fan) I really wanted to hate it. But upon further listen, I've discovered that every track on this album is genius. Even the tracks that many of the reviewers have said are crazy and meaningless like "Viscinity of Obscenity" After initially listening to this album on MTV.com's The Leak, I only really liked 5 of the tracks on the album. And later after buying the album (big SOAD fan) I really wanted to hate it. But upon further listen, I've discovered that every track on this album is genius. Even the tracks that many of the reviewers have said are crazy and meaningless like "Viscinity of Obscenity" and "She's like Heroin" both have killer bridges and epic hooks, while "U-Fig", which pitchforkmedia labeled as filler, is my personal favorite song on the album. Even the slowest song on the album, "Lonely Day", has the best guitar solo on the album. No song here is or sounds like filler. Every song on this album is amazing. 10/10 Expand
  49. Someone
    Nov 22, 2005
    9
    Probably not their best album all-round, but the best songs on this album are the best that SOAD have ever done.
  50. BoganMan
    Nov 22, 2005
    10
    Bloody Amazing
  51. MikeB
    Nov 23, 2005
    10
    Amazing and even better than Mezmerize. System of a Down in the one band that never dissapoints.
  52. DominicL
    Nov 23, 2005
    10
    This album has to be the album of the year!
  53. EmilyB
    Nov 23, 2005
    9
    Despite the seven month wait, and the subsequent awkward pause between the two discs which takes away some of the power and epic of the combined albums, it's a fantastic ride and probably their best album yet.
  54. JoshK
    Nov 23, 2005
    9
    This is the best heavy rock album to come out in years.
  55. PedroL
    Nov 25, 2005
    9
    Mezmerize was perfect... this album gets really close to that point.
  56. Siki
    Nov 26, 2005
    10
    This band just did what I thought was impossible, they topped both Mezmerize and Toxicity with this album. Just an unbelievable effort. I still remember the awesome cold chills I got from Toxicity.. Rarely do several albums by one band give you this kind of a rush. The best songs (among other great ones) are probably Tentative, Holy Mountains and the one that brings tears to my eyes, This band just did what I thought was impossible, they topped both Mezmerize and Toxicity with this album. Just an unbelievable effort. I still remember the awesome cold chills I got from Toxicity.. Rarely do several albums by one band give you this kind of a rush. The best songs (among other great ones) are probably Tentative, Holy Mountains and the one that brings tears to my eyes, Soldier Side. Best band in rock today.. And the competition don't stand a chance. Expand
  57. Peter
    Nov 26, 2005
    9
    I count 7 tracks on this album which I will listen to over and over again however this number may go up with repeated listens. Compared to many other releases 7/12 tracks is a decent ratio and many albums can't get 7 decent trackes despite having >20 tracks. It has also been commented that with a bit of editing it would be possible to convert the Hypnotize/Mezmerise doulble cd into a I count 7 tracks on this album which I will listen to over and over again however this number may go up with repeated listens. Compared to many other releases 7/12 tracks is a decent ratio and many albums can't get 7 decent trackes despite having >20 tracks. It has also been commented that with a bit of editing it would be possible to convert the Hypnotize/Mezmerise doulble cd into a single cd, however everone who suggests this gives a different list of tracks that should be cut. I think this shows that SoaD got the track balance about right on this and on Mezmerise. Personally I feel that this is the best SoaD album due to the variety of music on it. Expand
  58. JuroO.
    Nov 27, 2005
    9
    Not being a die-hard fan, I was very positively surprised by the whole Mezmerize/Hypnotize double-album, with Hypnotize being the better part, in my opinion. While the first two SOAD records were an energy-filled surprise, Mezmerize and Hypnotize are far more mature, colorful, authentic.
  59. EhabA.Ali
    Nov 27, 2005
    10
    awesome album
  60. Nikki
    Nov 27, 2005
    10
    I love SOAD, and they just keep getting better!!!
  61. koolkrabs
    Nov 28, 2005
    10
    grate cd realli completement mesmerize i definatly think this record will please the fans more than the last one did and i belive it will still appeal to the masses as well theres so much here some songs have and epic quality holy mountains tentative etc tht could topple mettalica from there pedastal (the old mettalica from the 80s not as they are now)truely wonderful
  62. linger
    Nov 28, 2005
    10
    the best cd in my collection if i could give it an 11 i would i admit playing it together is even better but the fact there seperate is quite good dosnt feel incomplete like mesmerize did all being a brilliant album
  63. archv
    Dec 11, 2005
    10
    The album is great, fresh and it is just what you've expected from SOAD - more different than 'mezmerize' but still cool. I can not say which album is better - 'mezmerize' or 'hypnotize' cause both are parts from a one project and they're based on a one big concept. Now every body knows that SOAD are metal gods and the more important "new metal" The album is great, fresh and it is just what you've expected from SOAD - more different than 'mezmerize' but still cool. I can not say which album is better - 'mezmerize' or 'hypnotize' cause both are parts from a one project and they're based on a one big concept. Now every body knows that SOAD are metal gods and the more important "new metal" band of all time. Expand
  64. PhilipT
    Dec 22, 2005
    10
    Toxcity was there best album before HYPNOTIZE because it had staying power that still lasts today. Hypnotize can do almost the same in it's attractive and very addictive tracks. Song after song blast away in true System style like never before. Track number one called 'Attack' sets off the album like 'Prison Song' in Toxcity. A must get album. The more you lsten, Toxcity was there best album before HYPNOTIZE because it had staying power that still lasts today. Hypnotize can do almost the same in it's attractive and very addictive tracks. Song after song blast away in true System style like never before. Track number one called 'Attack' sets off the album like 'Prison Song' in Toxcity. A must get album. The more you lsten, the more you find things you never noticed before hand. Expand
  65. AndrewH
    Dec 23, 2005
    10
    This album is an awesum follow up to the smashing mezmerise album which redefine the modern metal album
  66. BillyS.
    Dec 31, 2005
    10
    At first I thought that the songs all sounded similar and lacked originality, then after listening to it a few times, I picked out a few favorites such as kill rock 'n' roll, Tentative, She's like Heroin and Lonley Day, possibly the most beautiful system song, and now I appreciate all the songs as unique and awesome works. I really like system's latest At first I thought that the songs all sounded similar and lacked originality, then after listening to it a few times, I picked out a few favorites such as kill rock 'n' roll, Tentative, She's like Heroin and Lonley Day, possibly the most beautiful system song, and now I appreciate all the songs as unique and awesome works. I really like system's latest works(Mesmerize/Hypnotize). Expand
  67. BogdanN
    Dec 30, 2005
    10
    This is definatly System Of a Down's best album yet. There is absolutely nothing wrong with it and it basically sounds great while sending a very real and true message to people.
  68. BillH
    Dec 4, 2005
    10
    This is a masterpiece. The sophistication of these songs and their arrangements have grown to the point where I don't think you can really categorize this band any longer. Dreaming, for example, is a remarkably twisty and snarky piece but never loses its power. And power is what this band is all about. The power of their music - the power of their lyrics - and the power of their This is a masterpiece. The sophistication of these songs and their arrangements have grown to the point where I don't think you can really categorize this band any longer. Dreaming, for example, is a remarkably twisty and snarky piece but never loses its power. And power is what this band is all about. The power of their music - the power of their lyrics - and the power of their considerable passion could make this CD, along with Funeral by Arcade Fire, the opening bells in a new era when music once again takes on social significance. And to draw a comparison to another incredible band, does anyone else think that Vicinity of Obscenity would fit right in on a Mr. Bungle CD? Expand
  69. VivN
    Dec 6, 2005
    10
    As with all SOAD albums, it's an acquired taste for some, but one that is richly rewarding for those who stick around
  70. TrentC
    Dec 6, 2005
    9
    Good album..I might have like Mesmerize a little bit more but I really do enjoy Hypnotize. Soldier Side is the best ending to the album I could have imagined and along with Lonely Day and Kill Rock and Roll make this a truly inspiring album
  71. Marc
    Oct 25, 2006
    10
    Rock at it's best!!!
  72. BradG
    Jan 26, 2006
    9
    One of their best albums yet
  73. BriaM
    Feb 11, 2006
    10
    i disagree with kyle i thinkSOAD really outdid themselfs and i couldn't be happier
  74. ZachO
    Nov 21, 2005
    10
    This is System's most powerful, evocative, daring, and artistic album so far, and is a perfect second-half of their double album Mezmerize/Hypnotize. They manage to blend their thrashing, out-of-control rhythms and time signatures with beautiful melodies and vocal artistry that makes every song worth listening to. Despite all of this, they never take themselves too seriously, as is This is System's most powerful, evocative, daring, and artistic album so far, and is a perfect second-half of their double album Mezmerize/Hypnotize. They manage to blend their thrashing, out-of-control rhythms and time signatures with beautiful melodies and vocal artistry that makes every song worth listening to. Despite all of this, they never take themselves too seriously, as is witnessed in the deliciously absurd "Vicinity of Obscenity." I've never enjoyed myself more listening to an album, and I'm definitely not a hard rock, heavy metal, anything like that listener. But I don't like to classify System that way, because it almost cheapens and dumbs down their music compared to most crappy music on the radio. It's just heavy enough to have weight and resonate emotionally, but definitely not an overly emotional or moody album. My favorite tracks are Dreaming, Hypnotize, Tentative, and Holy Mountains, but there isn't a single song I couldn't listen to repeatedly. I'll admit that is an unusual thing for me with SOAD, but just about the biggest compliment I can give hypnotize. Just buy it, already! Expand
  75. DanielL
    Nov 22, 2005
    10
    Mesmerize was a brilliant starting edition to the double album but Hypnotize was one step greater and it is a strong contender for album of the 21st century.Awesome album.Keep em coming SOAD!!!
  76. WillO
    Nov 22, 2005
    10
    Great album, these guys just know how to plain rock out and have fun. At the same time while having fun they have some meaning to there songs. But music is about having fun, not everything needs to be all smart and lovy dovy. This is just a plain rock hard album, you can't go wrong here! The Mezmerize/Hypnotize project is plain great, really an amazing job!
  77. peterm
    Nov 22, 2005
    9
    CLEARLY one of the best hard rock albums of recent history. Besides MAYBE 2 songs, this album is start to finish brilliance.
  78. CalebA
    Nov 22, 2005
    10
    It's really important to take in both Mesmerize and Hypnotize as one whole product rather than separates. Mesmerize seems to contain the catchier songs by my judgment, but Hypnotize is every bit as strong musically. They're both great, great albums.
  79. michaelm
    Nov 23, 2005
    9
    i'm a system fan, and i think they continue to grow musically. they are writing songs that flow better than before. in the past some songs have been choppy, but the soft to hard transfers in both mezmerize and hypnotise are much better than previous albums.
  80. cezak
    Nov 23, 2005
    10
    pls help me!!
  81. jaimev
    Nov 24, 2005
    10
    This is the best album of the year by far, with Francis the Mute coming in a close second.
  82. JeromK
    Nov 25, 2005
    9
    An astounding, serene, and eye opening finish to the dual disc set. Their politicaly dark satire shines full blast in this disc, though the overall pace of this album is melower than mezmerzed ( probably why its called hypnotized) . I personaly like the albums seperated, i think it helped maintain the diferences and similarities between the albums message w/o combining them together ( An astounding, serene, and eye opening finish to the dual disc set. Their politicaly dark satire shines full blast in this disc, though the overall pace of this album is melower than mezmerzed ( probably why its called hypnotized) . I personaly like the albums seperated, i think it helped maintain the diferences and similarities between the albums message w/o combining them together ( though $30 is alot for one hour of music.) The rollercoaster of auditory sensations and climate defining lyrics is yet another sobering relief in this some what droll year in music. Expand
  83. AlainaO
    Nov 26, 2005
    10
    Well, I don't care what anyone else says, I friggin love SOAD. They're very musically capacitated, and not to mention a quartet of very musically gifted individuals. It takes some true music appreciation to appreciate Systm of a Down, in all their greatness. You have to really listen. But it pays off, for sure.
  84. IanM.
    Dec 15, 2005
    9
    This is a great album. It starts with the angry, violent anit-war anthem "Attack" (which, strange as it sounds, works well). It then goes uphill from there with the disturbed "Dreaming" and punk-ska like "Kill Rock n' Roll". It hits a high spot with "Hypnotize", which has a very cool beat to it and is a nice change of pace from the heavier riffs of the earlier songs. It then goes This is a great album. It starts with the angry, violent anit-war anthem "Attack" (which, strange as it sounds, works well). It then goes uphill from there with the disturbed "Dreaming" and punk-ska like "Kill Rock n' Roll". It hits a high spot with "Hypnotize", which has a very cool beat to it and is a nice change of pace from the heavier riffs of the earlier songs. It then goes onto "Stealing Society" and "Tentative", which are both OK songs but not SOAD's best. After that is "U-Fig", another crazy cool war song, and then "Holy Mountains". "Holy Mountains" is probably one of, if not the best song ever written by SOAD. Its chilling melodies and lyrics are absolute genius. Then, the only black spots on the album follow. "Vincinity of Obscenity" and "She's Like Heroin" are just plain terrible. The lyrics suck, the music sucks... they just plain suck. After those bombs is "Lonely Day", a mediocre song that you'll either love or hate. The album then closes with "Soldier Side", an excellent haunting death tune (and continuation of Mesmerize's intro). This album, like Mesmerize, is great on its own. However, together they flow with each other, their differences and shortcomings each making the other better, creating the best new metal masterpiece of our time. Expand
  85. rener
    Dec 16, 2005
    10
    best album yet
  86. Dreaming
    Dec 23, 2005
    10
    Truly the next step in the progression of System. Where will they go from here?
  87. SOADFANATIC
    Dec 29, 2005
    10
    System of a down is definately one of the best and most innovative bands of all time. Every aspect of their music is freaking awesome. Everybody is saying that this is not one of S.O.A.D.'s best albums, but it is just a different style than their other albums. Some people may think that it is worse than their previous stuff, depending on what they like listening to. Even though System of a down is definately one of the best and most innovative bands of all time. Every aspect of their music is freaking awesome. Everybody is saying that this is not one of S.O.A.D.'s best albums, but it is just a different style than their other albums. Some people may think that it is worse than their previous stuff, depending on what they like listening to. Even though Hypnotize is a little bit different than previous albums, it is still a great album and I encourage anybody to go out and pick it up. It is a completely unique experience. Soadfanatic4lyfe. Peace out. Expand
  88. May 21, 2012
    10
    This album kicks all kinds of ass! Every song on this album had me either bobbing my head, or screaming to the lyrics. I cannot express the joy this album brings me. A 10 would be an understatement for this album, and I love this album more than all the others by System of a Down.
  89. Oct 15, 2013
    9
    Mezmerize is ver amazins
    but i preferes this
    is weird but well-worked
    funny
    my favourite band
    ...............................................................................................................................................................
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Not that the band's blend of metal; world music; jagged, breakneck rhythms; and non sequitur lyrics don't still connect, but it is nowhere near as dazzling as it was on its first two go-arounds. [26 Nov 2005]
  2. It's a strange brew that may not be everyone's cup of tea; still, there's no denying these cats have their singular system down pat. [25 Nov 2005, p.100]
  3. "Hypnotize" has some of the circus-is-in-town surrealism that links System to the Frank Zappa avant-rock tradition, but overall it's more of a fundamental rock album. [20 Nov 2005]