User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 256 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 30 out of 256

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. belvedereh
    Dec 27, 2005
    3
    If you can ignore the excruciatingly awful vocals, the songs are quite nice.
  2. [Anonymous]
    Apr 1, 2005
    8
    Upon hearing a couple of clips, I hated this at first. But after listening to the full album, Antony won me over. His voice takes some getting used to, but the glam influences and strong melodies make this sucker hold up. If you don't mind hyper-dramatic pop music, give it a shot.
  3. RomeoM.
    Sep 8, 2005
    10
    Beautiful & gorgeous...:)
  4. GabrielaC
    Dec 5, 2005
    10
    best album of the year... sublime is the word, absolutely overwhelming, beautiful, haunting and poweful
  5. ChazN
    Oct 7, 2005
    1
    Don't know what everyone is getting excited about?? This idiot is almost as folorn and self indulgent as damien rice!!!!! Can someone tell me what is so good about him??
  6. JimB
    Mar 9, 2005
    10
    simply astonishing!!!
  7. JohnS
    May 3, 2005
    9
    A very beautiful way of presenting unconventional and often wrongly overlooked topics
  8. robbbbbb
    Jul 20, 2005
    10
    Best male voice I've heard since Jeff Buckley. Less swooping than Jeff, but more lovely; amazing balance to have such naked emotion without falling into excess a la Meatloaf and other overwrought big voiced singers.
  9. EdB
    Sep 8, 2005
    8
    Very good album, as much despite of as because of yr man Anthony's voice. He can sing when he wants to, but often he puts a rather melodramatic vibrato on which begins to grate after the third listen. Also, four of the tracks have an utterly superfluous guest star, which seems like a rather cynical attempt to boost sales. 'Hey, if you like Lou Reed, you'll like what Lou Very good album, as much despite of as because of yr man Anthony's voice. He can sing when he wants to, but often he puts a rather melodramatic vibrato on which begins to grate after the third listen. Also, four of the tracks have an utterly superfluous guest star, which seems like a rather cynical attempt to boost sales. 'Hey, if you like Lou Reed, you'll like what Lou Reed likes!!!'. Still, the actual music is pretty damn good, and the album is definitely worth a listen. I'm glad this pipped The Kaiser Chiefs to the prize, because whilst this album is a little overrated, their album is ridiculously overrated. Expand
  10. WillyP
    Nov 18, 2005
    1
    Tiny Tim is alive and well, and scraping his nails down a chalkboard! I refuse to believe this music isn't a prank of some kind.
  11. andred
    Oct 17, 2005
    8
    Hoping beyond hope that this album wasn't WEIRD or BIZARRE or HERMAPHRODITIC or AN INSULT TO THE KAISER CHIEFS (because what, after all, could possibly be worse than that) I engaged an open mind and found an original, moving new sound. You can do it too maybe, unless your box of convention interferes with your ability to hear and feel.
  12. AllenF
    Oct 8, 2005
    10
    Definately the most beautiful album of 05. Antony's voice is angelic, and the music is just intoxicating. Keep up the good work Antony!
  13. PeterG
    Feb 22, 2005
    9
    Amazing album. Great guests. Tender and sweet. Just look at the album cover.
  14. Brackish
    Jun 15, 2005
    10
    A great record. More positive than his first. A masterpiece.
  15. TykeC
    Jun 28, 2005
    10
    i think this album is kinda paralyzing in its beauty
  16. AaronS.
    Jul 10, 2005
    1
    A laughably bad disc. Next to M.I.A., this is the most overrated album of the year! The guy sounds like Tiny Tim. I simply can't believe this is getting good word of mouth. Simply awful.
  17. BlazM
    Jul 26, 2005
    10
    This is an excellent album, Antony's voice being the clear standout. Beautiful and haunting, doesn't let you down even on repeated listenings. Thanks to CocoRosie and Devendra Banhart for discovering another true gem in the world of pop mediocrity :))
  18. emem
    Aug 8, 2005
    1
    This album is a really kitsch and junk. For the first 2 songs I thought it is a parody. Suprisingly it is not. Really funny, what people are listening...
  19. jeffreychrist
    Sep 2, 2005
    10
    Men Are From Mars, Anthony Is From Venus ~ Like the gospel drenched in raw spirit and soul, there is beauty incarnate seeping from the ravishing voice of each veil that creates who and what Antony is. His attestation willful and willed, his sacred writ both born and borne, the timeless transcendence in each poem translates to the very core of the human condition, life's frailties, Men Are From Mars, Anthony Is From Venus ~ Like the gospel drenched in raw spirit and soul, there is beauty incarnate seeping from the ravishing voice of each veil that creates who and what Antony is. His attestation willful and willed, his sacred writ both born and borne, the timeless transcendence in each poem translates to the very core of the human condition, life's frailties, it's death and resurrections. Boy George duets with his most powerful vocal ever, Rufus Wainwright as usually assured. Nothing will prepare you for the dramatic earthquake or heart-rendering impact. My grade: A+ Expand
  20. anar
    Sep 20, 2005
    10
    This is the best thing i ever heard in my all life. ... no music, no lyrics, no performance, no voice, no city, no bird, no nothing ever touchet me the way Antony and the johnsons did. God bless u Antony
  21. TomS
    Sep 4, 2005
    10
    Words can't descibe how amazing his voice is. On that alone this is worth 10 out of 10.
  22. KlausF
    Sep 6, 2005
    7
    There are several solid songs on this album but also quite a few clunkers. With songs almost wholly dependent on the quality of the lyrics (though I'd say one's appreciation of the album is wholly dependent on his understandably divisive voice), Antony walks a fine line between heartfelt authenticity and somber camp and, to say least, his foot is far from steady. Worth There are several solid songs on this album but also quite a few clunkers. With songs almost wholly dependent on the quality of the lyrics (though I'd say one's appreciation of the album is wholly dependent on his understandably divisive voice), Antony walks a fine line between heartfelt authenticity and somber camp and, to say least, his foot is far from steady. Worth previewing if you have the means, but I feel a lot of people will ultimately be underwhelmed with this release. Expand
  23. JohnL
    Jan 31, 2006
    9
    There are few voices that effect me so much- Ian Curtis, Morrissey, Thom Yorke, and now Antony. Fantastic album.
  24. JonathanC
    Jan 5, 2006
    9
    Simply awesome
  25. MichaelW
    Jan 6, 2006
    10
    Would have never thought a voice like Antony's could affect me so much
  26. catherinep
    Mar 1, 2006
    10
    he is the best. with a beautiful voice he turns their musics wonderful.
  27. MattB
    Mar 4, 2006
    9
    Bizarre how so many people say this is "overrated". Look at all the 10s. People love this album. It moves people. It moved me from the the opening chord to the end. Less deserving of the Mercury Award than the Kaiser Chiefs?!! Give me a break! Have you no hearts OR souls?
  28. paul
    Apr 8, 2006
    9
    not always easy to listen to. different . intriging and in parts truely amazing
  29. StevanR
    Nov 11, 2005
    10
    The Best Thing I Heard This Year
  30. OrinocoA
    Dec 26, 2005
    7
    Not always, but if the mood is right...
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 30
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 30
  3. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Haunting and affecting.
  2. For what it lacks in consistency, I Am A Bird Now gains in being, even at its most tedious of moments, an interesting and thematically compelling listen.
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    83
    It could have been mawkish, but the sentiments--and Antony's trembling falsetto--are so honest, you love it despite your jaded self. [4 Feb 2005, p.133]