User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 257 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 30 out of 257

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RomeoM.
    Sep 8, 2005
    10
    Beautiful & gorgeous...:)
  2. GabrielaC
    Dec 5, 2005
    10
    best album of the year... sublime is the word, absolutely overwhelming, beautiful, haunting and poweful
  3. JimB
    Mar 9, 2005
    10
    simply astonishing!!!
  4. robbbbbb
    Jul 20, 2005
    10
    Best male voice I've heard since Jeff Buckley. Less swooping than Jeff, but more lovely; amazing balance to have such naked emotion without falling into excess a la Meatloaf and other overwrought big voiced singers.
  5. AllenF
    Oct 8, 2005
    10
    Definately the most beautiful album of 05. Antony's voice is angelic, and the music is just intoxicating. Keep up the good work Antony!
  6. Brackish
    Jun 15, 2005
    10
    A great record. More positive than his first. A masterpiece.
  7. TykeC
    Jun 28, 2005
    10
    i think this album is kinda paralyzing in its beauty
  8. BlazM
    Jul 26, 2005
    10
    This is an excellent album, Antony's voice being the clear standout. Beautiful and haunting, doesn't let you down even on repeated listenings. Thanks to CocoRosie and Devendra Banhart for discovering another true gem in the world of pop mediocrity :))
  9. jeffreychrist
    Sep 2, 2005
    10
    Men Are From Mars, Anthony Is From Venus ~ Like the gospel drenched in raw spirit and soul, there is beauty incarnate seeping from the ravishing voice of each veil that creates who and what Antony is. His attestation willful and willed, his sacred writ both born and borne, the timeless transcendence in each poem translates to the very core of the human condition, life's frailties, Men Are From Mars, Anthony Is From Venus ~ Like the gospel drenched in raw spirit and soul, there is beauty incarnate seeping from the ravishing voice of each veil that creates who and what Antony is. His attestation willful and willed, his sacred writ both born and borne, the timeless transcendence in each poem translates to the very core of the human condition, life's frailties, it's death and resurrections. Boy George duets with his most powerful vocal ever, Rufus Wainwright as usually assured. Nothing will prepare you for the dramatic earthquake or heart-rendering impact. My grade: A+ Expand
  10. anar
    Sep 20, 2005
    10
    This is the best thing i ever heard in my all life. ... no music, no lyrics, no performance, no voice, no city, no bird, no nothing ever touchet me the way Antony and the johnsons did. God bless u Antony
  11. TomS
    Sep 4, 2005
    10
    Words can't descibe how amazing his voice is. On that alone this is worth 10 out of 10.
  12. MichaelW
    Jan 6, 2006
    10
    Would have never thought a voice like Antony's could affect me so much
  13. catherinep
    Mar 1, 2006
    10
    he is the best. with a beautiful voice he turns their musics wonderful.
  14. StevanR
    Nov 11, 2005
    10
    The Best Thing I Heard This Year
  15. kitam
    Dec 3, 2005
    10
    went to his Glasgow gig. was totally enveloped. like never before....even managed to shake his hand at the end and have a wee word with him. his whole persona is exquisite.
  16. garyc
    Oct 23, 2005
    10
    Album of the year. Album of the decade? Antony is a genius!
  17. AlexeyA
    Oct 28, 2005
    10
    Damn. I didn't expect this album to be that great. "I Am A Bird Now" - is an album of the year, it's a record full of sadness and beauty, so simple and difficult at the same time. Antony's voice should be heared to be believed. One of the best records of the decade.
  18. michaelp
    Feb 20, 2005
    10
    soaring throught tears, wonder and pure joy, i find myself speachless.....Antony has said it all, for now....
  19. richardtoronto
    Feb 25, 2005
    10
    The only drawback to this cd is how short it is.
  20. Eddie
    Feb 9, 2005
    10
    poetic and heart-felt.
  21. BjarneBoy.
    Mar 22, 2005
    10
    This is the best cd I have heard in years. Antonys voice is SO beautiful ...
  22. CharlesM
    Mar 6, 2005
    10
    Awsome!
  23. BarryC
    Apr 30, 2005
    10
    God, where did this come from?
  24. AndrewLB
    May 2, 2005
    10
    This album is hauntingly hypnotizing. The intensity of emotion in the lyrics and music is captivating. I keep listening to this album over and over again. I would drive 100 miles to hear this artist live in concert. I was turned on to this album by the NPR review that I happened to hear by chance.
  25. StevenL
    May 4, 2005
    10
    Outstanding
  26. ToddS
    Jun 1, 2005
    10
    Utterly spellbinding and gorgeous. "You Are My Sister" is the standout track but the whole album is haunting and deeply moving.
  27. Scott
    Jun 9, 2005
    10
    There has never been an album that has moved me as deeply as this album. There has never been an artist who was capable of making me wanting to hold someone, and cry tears of joy at the same time. Get this album, and be blown away. Matthew W cannot sing like this, nor can anyone else. This is a truly unique voice that needs to be experienced.
  28. ChrisjT
    Jul 3, 2005
    10
    Whether he seems to be singing for me, everyone or for himself, his languid, melancholic voice is always mesmerising, powerfully emotive and transcendental in its beauty - a rare and special talent!
  29. Benji
    Aug 10, 2005
    10
    I heard this on radio 1, it caught my attention without me really liking it. The next time I heard it I fell in love with it. The best album I have bought in the last 10 years. Some of the subjects dealt with are a little alien to me, but musically this is audacious and fantastic, I'd recommend it to everyone. Class
  30. si
    Aug 4, 2005
    10
    this album has become one of my favorites and i kthink will stay that way for a long time.
  31. AlanB
    Sep 11, 2005
    10
    Absolutly Fantastic!!!!!!!!
  32. CharlesN
    Sep 12, 2005
    10
    Along with Sufjan Steven's "Illinoise", simply the most lush, gorgeous album of the year. Love, loss, and death are standard subjects for popular music, but rarely have they been addressed with such raw emotion and beauty. Whether you like this album will depend on how you react to Antony's neo-Nina Simone warble. This is how I imagine angels sound--androgynous and stunningly Along with Sufjan Steven's "Illinoise", simply the most lush, gorgeous album of the year. Love, loss, and death are standard subjects for popular music, but rarely have they been addressed with such raw emotion and beauty. Whether you like this album will depend on how you react to Antony's neo-Nina Simone warble. This is how I imagine angels sound--androgynous and stunningly beautiful. I'm struck by the divisiveness of the user comments; Generally, people either really love, or really hate this album. In my opinion, if you aren't moved by this, you aren't human. Expand
  33. TimR
    Sep 28, 2005
    10
    best album since kid a
  34. birdg
    Sep 30, 2005
    10
    nadrealni, postapokalipti?ni gotski kabare... plo?a izvan svih
  35. andys
    Jan 23, 2006
    10
    stunningly beautiful
  36. joshc
    Jan 7, 2006
    10
    so pretty.
  37. karenp
    Feb 8, 2006
    10
    best music i have heard for years and i am 49
  38. JohnO
    Apr 22, 2006
    10
    Like nothing i've heard before. Fascinating vocals, with a live, unplugged feel. Quite amazing!
  39. MichelNL
    Feb 7, 2007
    10
    At first, when I heard some of the songs from this album through the PC speakers of my colleague, the sound really annoyed me. What kind of fake, drag-queen voice is this? OMG.. Yes, I do have some minor homophobic issues, sorry - can't help it yet but well that's me. Then, a few weeks later I started to look out for new music on several music review sites and played many of the At first, when I heard some of the songs from this album through the PC speakers of my colleague, the sound really annoyed me. What kind of fake, drag-queen voice is this? OMG.. Yes, I do have some minor homophobic issues, sorry - can't help it yet but well that's me. Then, a few weeks later I started to look out for new music on several music review sites and played many of the high-rated unknown CD's/artists in YouTube, hoping to find good vitamin M. Of course, there was Antony and the Johnsons and I recognised the drag-queen sound again. But now, being in the ambience of my living-room, I deceided to give it a fair chance and listened carefully without prejudice. I discovered that Antony has a stunning voice, actually. Initially I didn't want to admit it, but I just can't keep telling to myself that someting is yellow whilst it's clearly green. So a few days later I deceided to buy the CD I'm a bird now.. I have it for 2-3 weeks and I've played it maybe 6,7 times Everytime this music gives me shivers, which is actually quite rare for me. And it only seems getting better. Unfortunately I am not a native English speaker, hence I probably cannot find the right words to precise my enhousiasm. So I'll just write what I literally think when I listen to it: "Wooooow...This album is f*ck*ng gorgeous man!!!" I cannot imagine how a music album is getting any better than this. Different maybe, but rarely better. Giving it less than a 10 would be a matter of principles, not of absolute appreciation. I'm going to play it again guys, right now. I'm in love. Although I really don't want to be ;-) Expand
  40. Maiken
    Jun 5, 2007
    10
    I just can't believe how beautiful this album is. It's .. stunning. I just don't have words.
  41. Jan
    Jul 21, 2007
    10
    An outstanding beautiful voice, very good instrumentalists and some unbelievable touching lyrics. I like to listen to this songs a real lot from time to time. 10 points from me.
  42. KopieKat
    Dec 1, 2005
    10
    I hate people who start giving bad ratings just because others think it's awesome. If you're just some whining bitch who doesn't like the music without a reason, then shut up! Awesome record here by the way. Still leaves me speecless...
  43. MitchellS
    Dec 12, 2005
    10
    My favourite album of 2005. Understand that it's not for everyone give it a chance though. Don't get hung up on the voice, you'll not notice it once you've got into it.
  44. MarcinUK
    Dec 20, 2005
    10
    Briliant, moving, beautyfull...I've bought 4 copies to present my friends on Xmas!
  45. LottieE
    Dec 20, 2005
    10
    This is not only music, it is also politics. Here we have a man who dares be truly "feminine" and vulnerable and still he is truly a man. Ths music and the image is new and fresh. Innovative.
  46. chrisk
    Feb 17, 2005
    10
    Easily one of the best albums of the year or any year.
  47. Sydney
    Feb 20, 2005
    10
    desperately beautiful
  48. TimG
    Feb 22, 2005
    10
    jesus I nearly cried after about the first ten seconds. Antony has the most amazing voice that gets right at you and you'll love this album after the first listen.
  49. AliK
    Feb 23, 2005
    10
    best album this year with You are My Sister the standout track
  50. PredragM
    Mar 21, 2005
    10
    Unforgettable voice!
  51. thlda
    Apr 16, 2005
    10
    Exquisite, Simply Beautiful
  52. AntonioA
    Apr 24, 2005
    10
    sunshine for heart and soul
  53. SusieA
    May 5, 2005
    10
    This album is amazing. I heard For Today I Am A Boy on the radio and instantly had to buy it. Antony's voice is hypnotic, and I cannot stop listening to him.
  54. LawrenceP
    Jun 3, 2005
    10
    They a moments in this LP that will make me cry and I don't think I have ever been happier in my life.
  55. JB
    Aug 15, 2005
    10
    Absolutely amazing....
  56. salomey
    Sep 2, 2005
    10
    still my album of the year beautifully done it all fits together (singing, music, songs, arrangements) through sheer beauty excellent, excellent
  57. VincentH
    Sep 24, 2005
    10
    A Classic; nothing else needs to be said.
  58. RicardoP
    Sep 5, 2005
    10
    An impressive voice, that flys like an angel, a big angel with a voice from heaven, that only in 30 years we will hear another again. The right colaborations to the perfect album.
  59. DavidW
    Feb 16, 2006
    10
    An album that stops your blood flowing lest you miss one word or phrase from that incredible voice.
  60. JuanAntonioA
    Feb 5, 2006
    10
    From Diamanda Galás it did not listen to a voice that affected so much to me. The two last musical decades are saved by these voices. Will be essential for the history of music.
  61. Amanda
    Mar 24, 2006
    10
    This album brings tears to my eyes every time. Also makes me smile like crazy.
  62. MarkB
    Mar 24, 2006
    10
    Amazing vocals! A must have for everyone! an absolute 10
  63. sean
    Aug 31, 2006
    10
    Easily the best album of 2005. Hands down. This is music that will take you on a journey to a place above yourself if you let it. Hope There Is Someone and Bird Gurl are the two best songs of 2005. BUY THIS ALBUM!
  64. BernadetteD
    Apr 17, 2007
    10
    All of the people who hated this album had nothing constructive to say>Criticism is supposed to be constructive,not just ignorant drivel.You all must be emotionally barren and bereft.This album is the best thing ever.Antonys voice would make you cry.For the person who claimed he could sing like antony if he wanted to;I don't think so mate,not in a million years.
  65. SteveR
    Apr 23, 2007
    10
    What's not To Like? this is a haunting and utterly beautiful masterpiece, nothing less. no one else has done this, ever, and this was THE album of 2005, no doubt.
  66. tino
    Apr 27, 2007
    10
    to feel to know to infuse to perceive to resonate in the god-given voice of mozart stuck in [that] "middle place between light and nowhere" is to beathe, grieve and love robustly ethereal ANTONY may love always overflow your painful heart
  67. BobL
    Nov 7, 2005
    10
    Who said, "Popularity breeds contempt?" The backlash to this is disheartening. What a fantastic record this is.
  68. JoeMc
    Dec 15, 2005
    10
    Heartbreaking
  69. SWM
    Dec 21, 2005
    10
    Unspeakably beautiful and impossibly cathartic and pure. While albums of musical sophistication are a great thing, this album is one of emotional sophistication, to a degree that sometimes seems too mature and trasncedental to really understand. Easily one of the best albums of the year.
  70. TerryTickle
    Dec 2, 2005
    10
    I believe the combination of each word in the bands lyrics are naturally positioned, showing combination of emotion and litrature has been mastered - John Lennon was one such an artist as well as Van Morrison, it is beautiful to hear. The lead singer is somewhat of an aluf style character. My only wish this xmas is that this band stay around for a long time pumping out such great vocal I believe the combination of each word in the bands lyrics are naturally positioned, showing combination of emotion and litrature has been mastered - John Lennon was one such an artist as well as Van Morrison, it is beautiful to hear. The lead singer is somewhat of an aluf style character. My only wish this xmas is that this band stay around for a long time pumping out such great vocal and equally great music. I was brought up with 60s,70 blasting out from the record player and it is natural for me to be heard singinging such historic hits, if the Johnsons can survive this unforgiving world then I believe that my children will be bellowing out these tunes. It would also be good to hear some cover version in antony unique vocal style. theres not much out there that is orignal but this pop pickers is, long may it continue. Expand
  71. HunterH
    Dec 26, 2005
    10
    His voice warbles like that of Etta James or Billie Holiday; the opening track, "Hope There's Someone," melodically drops your heart thirty feet off a pier into a dark ocean of despair.
  72. AdrianC
    Feb 13, 2005
    10
    Majestic. Gorgeous. Lyrical. Moving. Oh my God. Great songwriting. Great voice. Torch songs that will stir you like nothing in recent times.
  73. ChaqellaZ.
    Feb 28, 2005
    10
    A musical equivalent to half a bottle of vodka and a handful of pain pills, this album is sure to entrance all that listen to it.
  74. CharlotteC
    Mar 15, 2005
    10
    This album is brillaint, it might not be that amazing when you first listen to it, but once you re-listen to it, it touches the heart and soul... It is truely amazing, definitely worth buying in my eyes.
  75. clarae
    Mar 19, 2005
    10
    this album had a visceral effect on me. i knew it was going to be good, but it surpassed my expectations. cathartic, intimate, vibrant, sorrowful, hopeful... this string of adjectives seems redundant though. go buy it. & if you dont like it the first time, play it again. and if you still dont like it then i dunno. check your pulse.
  76. TiagoR
    May 19, 2005
    10
    Probably the best album of 2005!!! 5 stars!!!
  77. sceptic
    Jun 17, 2005
    10
    Best album of 2005. Stunning. Emotional. Powerful. Quote: Matthew W "i could without a doubt sing the same way.". Well do it then. Or shut up. And next time, listen to the album yourself instead of playing it to your mother-brother.
  78. Shawn
    Jun 19, 2005
    10
    A stunningly beautiful masterpiece that manages to top Antony's also-brilliant debut.
  79. BillH
    Jun 27, 2005
    10
    Rock music has been around now for well over 40 years and in that time we have listened to every kind and type of music -- until now that is. Nothing you have heard before will prepare you for this CD. No one sounds like Antony - not even close. His voice is a miracle of richness, vibrato and emotion. And then there is his amazing range, from the most exquisite falsetto ever to a deep Rock music has been around now for well over 40 years and in that time we have listened to every kind and type of music -- until now that is. Nothing you have heard before will prepare you for this CD. No one sounds like Antony - not even close. His voice is a miracle of richness, vibrato and emotion. And then there is his amazing range, from the most exquisite falsetto ever to a deep compelling lower register. His songs are wonders as well - every one of them. Antony is a breathtaking talent and it will be fascinating to see whether that talent can overcome his sublime strangeness and allow him and his music to gain commercial success. Expand
  80. ThomasN
    Jul 25, 2005
    10
    Prettymuch every song is destined to be on a movie soundtrack someday.
  81. drewt
    Sep 23, 2005
    10
    absultely the most stunningly touching album released this year. i cannot reccomend it highly enough.
  82. rogerk
    Feb 19, 2006
    10
    one of the only cd's that i never get tiered of listing too
  83. KyleK
    Mar 22, 2006
    10
    Probably the most cohesive and moving album of the year.
  84. ChristianB
    Jul 28, 2006
    10
    The most beautiful voice I've ever heard. Live even better.
  85. NavestK
    Nov 29, 2005
    10
    Best Of The Year
  86. DaveB
    Dec 11, 2005
    10
    This is as fragile, affirming, exquisite and incredibly sublime album you will ever hear. Hope There's Someone reduces human fear to its rawest elements and still makes it sound like something you want to listen to. Not since The Cure's Disintegration has it been this cool to be screwed up.
  87. TC
    Dec 22, 2005
    10
    Stunning, haunting and not for over analysis ;) one of the best of 05. Long live Antony....
  88. tq
    Dec 31, 2005
    10
    This album is heartbreaking and stunningly gorgeous. But don't listen to those who fault it for bad reasons or defend it for reasons just as closeminded and immature (Michael B, you are extremely guilty here).
  89. Oct 10, 2010
    10
    This album is simply one of the most beautiful listens I have had in quite some time. Antony's voice is uniquely breath-taking, and the lyrical content is both raw and deeply meaningful. Just wonderful!
  90. Apr 26, 2013
    10
    I can only think of one adjective to describe this album, 'beautiful', His voice is stunning, I saw him in London about 5 years ago and WOW.
  91. JohnS
    May 3, 2005
    9
    A very beautiful way of presenting unconventional and often wrongly overlooked topics
  92. PeterG
    Feb 22, 2005
    9
    Amazing album. Great guests. Tender and sweet. Just look at the album cover.
  93. JohnL
    Jan 31, 2006
    9
    There are few voices that effect me so much- Ian Curtis, Morrissey, Thom Yorke, and now Antony. Fantastic album.
  94. JonathanC
    Jan 5, 2006
    9
    Simply awesome
  95. MattB
    Mar 4, 2006
    9
    Bizarre how so many people say this is "overrated". Look at all the 10s. People love this album. It moves people. It moved me from the the opening chord to the end. Less deserving of the Mercury Award than the Kaiser Chiefs?!! Give me a break! Have you no hearts OR souls?
  96. paul
    Apr 8, 2006
    9
    not always easy to listen to. different . intriging and in parts truely amazing
  97. dong
    Oct 9, 2005
    9
    Evocative of a time gone by; Antony's vocals echo the gay 70's torch songs that belted from Juke boxes in and around the Schoneberg district.
  98. FranA
    May 2, 2005
    9
    I was transfixed when I first heard Antony played on Radio 1. I felt awe at the emotion heard in Antony's unique voice and lyrics - amazing!
  99. MightyMouse
    Aug 23, 2005
    9
    Wow... this album really surprised me! I wasn't sure what to make of Antony's "vibrato" voice at first ... but it sweetly complements the truly beautiful lyrics. FISTFUL OF LOVE is probably my favorite track, followed by HOPE THERE'S SOMEONE. I can understand some of the negative feedback, this is will not be to everyone's taste... but hey, give it a try... you might Wow... this album really surprised me! I wasn't sure what to make of Antony's "vibrato" voice at first ... but it sweetly complements the truly beautiful lyrics. FISTFUL OF LOVE is probably my favorite track, followed by HOPE THERE'S SOMEONE. I can understand some of the negative feedback, this is will not be to everyone's taste... but hey, give it a try... you might be surprised by what you hear. Expand
  100. JasonV
    Sep 24, 2005
    9
    An album full of sadness, regret, hopelessness and hope. Its a bright light in a world full of imposters, posers and the insincere. Never once does the music sound mawkish nor does it asscend into mopey, emo style 'torturous' voals. The pain is real, the confusion obvious. And yet amidst all this is all sounds transcendant and beautiful, flying high above the mediocrity in the An album full of sadness, regret, hopelessness and hope. Its a bright light in a world full of imposters, posers and the insincere. Never once does the music sound mawkish nor does it asscend into mopey, emo style 'torturous' voals. The pain is real, the confusion obvious. And yet amidst all this is all sounds transcendant and beautiful, flying high above the mediocrity in the music world and soaring to new levels of grace. Loads of superlatives i know but its just that kinda reoord and nothing i write here will do it justice. LISTEN NOW! Expand
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 30
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 30
  3. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Haunting and affecting.
  2. For what it lacks in consistency, I Am A Bird Now gains in being, even at its most tedious of moments, an interesting and thematically compelling listen.
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    83
    It could have been mawkish, but the sentiments--and Antony's trembling falsetto--are so honest, you love it despite your jaded self. [4 Feb 2005, p.133]