I Dreamed A Dream

  • Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Nov 23, 2009
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 46 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 46
  2. Negative: 14 out of 46

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 8, 2010
    8
    Not too shabby for a 48 year old. Her covers on some songs are amazing, particularly 'I Dreamed A Dream' and 'Wild Horses'.
    Her original song 'Who I was Born to Be' is very meaningful and very perfect for SuBo to sing.
    All in all, a pretty good album, I can say.
  2. AnnM
    Dec 1, 2009
    10
    A lovely lady with a beautiful voice. I am not disappointed at all. I cried the moment I heard her sing Wild Horses. I love this album.
  3. JonS
    Dec 2, 2009
    9
    For Boyle fans ... this is a great first album from a lady who sings from her heart which is what most listeners want to hear. I appreicate the effort as do thousands of fans across the universe.
  4. RichardZ
    Dec 2, 2009
    10
    Absolutely Wonderful. The whole thing is extremely well balanced and wonderful. Absolute must buy.
  5. Saml
    Dec 3, 2009
    10
    Absolutely ¡AMAZING!
  6. JordanF
    Dec 5, 2009
    10
    By far some of the best music I've heard in quite a while. Thanks Susan.
  7. GradyP
    Nov 26, 2009
    10
    This is mostly just to balance out the surprisingly low user score, but Susan Boyle is great!! Thanks for the amazing album!
  8. Feb 14, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Beautiful voice. Beautiful woman. It was love at first sight. I wish I could see her live. I wish she would cover The Go-Between's "The Statue", or The Blue Nile's "Downtown Lights". Expand
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. There are some lovely vocal performances here and some well-appointed and understated arrangements. But not one of Boyle’s versions transcends the original or adds much of an emotional shading, other than a consistent undercurrent of melancholy that makes the album feel increasingly drab.
  2. For fans of Boyle's original Britain's Got Talent clip, the result might be a bit of a letdown, especially in snoozily competent versions of 'Daydream Believer' and Madonna's 'You'll See,' which offer none of her jarred-lightning charm.
  3. Boyle is perfectly comfortable singing actual hymns like 'Amazing Grace,' though her take on them is pretty much on a level with any local church's choir star. She's at her worst when she pushes harder; she doesn't know how to build drama, and her throat seems to constrict as she reaches for bigger notes.