I Look To You - Whitney Houston
I Look To You Image
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 64 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The multi-award winning singer returns to release her first album in seven years.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. The set is a nice welcome back and a new beginning for the singer.
  2. If you let go of your preconceptions, what you’ll hear is a strong soul album by a mature singer who’s successfully channelling a lot of real pain in her music.
  3. Though I Look to You doesn't soar like the old days, it's fine to hear Houston working on her own recovery plan.
  4. What she undoubtedly is, is a pro--she sells these subdued glitzy productions, she makes boring songs interesting, she remains a forceful, tangible presence.
  5. For all that she's miraculously clawed back here, the one thing that eludes her is the one thing that made her exceptional: her voice. Without it she's just another R&B singer, and, good as it is in places, I Look To You is just another R&B album.
  6. 60
    Houston has delivered an album that, despite a few middling tracks, is genuinely moving. [Nov 2009, p.95]
  7. Houston, We’ve got problems

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 35
  2. Negative: 1 out of 35
  1. HenrikM
    Sep 1, 2009
    10
    This is her 2nd best album, right after My Love Is Your Love. Standout tracks include I Got You, Nothin' But Love & Call You Tonight.
  2. Oct 29, 2012
    10
    the album one of the best of his career but with a grave lack of producers for the album that had a global boom had released more singlesthe album one of the best of his career but with a grave lack of producers for the album that had a global boom had released more singles because there are many great songs. Whitney's voice is magical and captivates you one of the best albums of the 2000s. Expand
  3. RogerJ.
    Sep 2, 2009
    10
    I am thrilled to see that Whitney is finally back. The songs on this CD clearly reflect all of the hurt and trauma that she has experienced I am thrilled to see that Whitney is finally back. The songs on this CD clearly reflect all of the hurt and trauma that she has experienced in recent years. My favourite track is "Salute" in which I can only assume that she is saying goodbye to the most negative influence in her life to date.....that loser Bobby Brown. Good riddance and thank God that she's free at last!!! Welcome back Whitney and God bless. Collapse
  4. JeremyM.
    Sep 4, 2009
    10
    RETURN OF THE DIVA!!! Seriously - this is a stand-out album of solid material, delivered by a singer who, at her prime, was THE most RETURN OF THE DIVA!!! Seriously - this is a stand-out album of solid material, delivered by a singer who, at her prime, was THE most unrivaled singer in modern popular culture. While THE VOICE isn't what it was several years ago, she's got a husky soul sound that only deepens her always exquisite lyrical interpretations. This is Whitney at her best. PURE Diva! Expand
  5. JoshG.
    Sep 5, 2009
    10
    I bought this album for my wife and honestly, I was never a Whitney Houston fan but these songs are so cool, catchy and anyone who has ever I bought this album for my wife and honestly, I was never a Whitney Houston fan but these songs are so cool, catchy and anyone who has ever been through though times needs to BUY THIS CD. We play it all the time! Expand
  6. MichelleJ
    Sep 4, 2009
    9
    Luv it to bits. Her voice is strangely captivating. It's not what it's used to be, but there's certain something that will Luv it to bits. Her voice is strangely captivating. It's not what it's used to be, but there's certain something that will keep you listening. Expand
  7. MorganF.
    Sep 4, 2009
    0
    I'm sorry but it's plain embarrassing to read all the industrz reviews praising a CRACKY voice of a once amazing diva... The album I'm sorry but it's plain embarrassing to read all the industrz reviews praising a CRACKY voice of a once amazing diva... The album is mediocre at best. Ms Houston sounds like a wannabie karaoke singer in most of the songs. She could be oversung by the likes of Miley Cyrus now - and surely with better results. Expand

See all 35 User Reviews