I Love You - Jason Urick
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Mar 16, 2012
    80
    Something about the gummy aesthetic of the viscera at work here keeps I Love You from sounding too awry when its elements seem to suffer from slight exhaustion, elasticity, endocrine peaks, biological decay.
  2. Feb 17, 2012
    80
    I Love You is rich enough with textural ambiguities and seething digital soups to easily warrant repeat visitations. [Feb 2012, p.65]
  3. Jan 26, 2012
    80
    Urick is a remarkable electronic musician who pushes mainstream music to its outer limits, and as the listener explores those outer limits, expect goose bumps to appear on the skin.
  4. Jan 26, 2012
    80
    As rewarding as his earlier slow-paced drones are, so is his incremental development as an artist with each subsequent album, I Love You being one more step along the way.
  5. Feb 1, 2012
    79
    On his best effort yet, I Love You, Urick's dub obsessions have moved to the front of the room.
  6. Jan 26, 2012
    70
    Though I Love You can at times appeal on an intellectual level more than an aesthetic one, it still has a host of admirable (and listenable) qualities.
  7. The album struggles to find a particular voice, and make any sort of statement, leaving me more than a couple of steps off using the album's own title to describe my opinion of it.
  8. Jan 26, 2012
    67
    Too bad, then, that I Love You is underdeveloped.
  9. Jan 30, 2012
    60
    Sure, it's all dulcet ambience, but it's easy to appreciate the personality. [#39, p.74]

There are no user reviews yet.