• Record Label: Merge
  • Release Date: Aug 2, 2011
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 27, 2011
    5
    I listened to this a few hours ago, and not one song sticks in my memory. It's a forgettable release. All the songs sound the same, for the most part.
  2. Nov 13, 2011
    6
    Love the musicianship! This is rocking at it's best!.......There's a problem, though. I don't hate my girlfriend, or my wife for that matter. But, I do hate whiny freaking EMO!
  3. j30
    Aug 13, 2011
    10
    Great album. I had no idea these guys existed since I read some of the reviews on this website. Early 90's Indie-rock doesn't get much better than this. If you like Weezer's Blue Album and Pavement's Crooked Rain, Crooked Rain you'll instantly fall in love with this album. From the opening track (Web In Front) I was surprised I had never heard them before.
  4. Aug 30, 2011
    10
    I came to this site recently looking for some new music to sink into. I found it here. Yes - older band but new to me. Raw, meaty music. This represents the Chapel Hill Inde music scene of the early to mid 90s.

    Fractured song construction, witty lyrics, clangorous guitars, lo-fi production. Everything you love about Indie bands.
  5. Oct 13, 2011
    10
    You can't get more raw or brash than Icky Mettle. Untrained ears may cringe at the crunchy, screeching guitars and slightly sour vocals, but indie rock fans will assure you that this album is perfect. It has everything you could ever want from an indie record: layered guitar sounds, crude vocals, an over-abundance of energy, and generally a lack of production or value for money. When youYou can't get more raw or brash than Icky Mettle. Untrained ears may cringe at the crunchy, screeching guitars and slightly sour vocals, but indie rock fans will assure you that this album is perfect. It has everything you could ever want from an indie record: layered guitar sounds, crude vocals, an over-abundance of energy, and generally a lack of production or value for money. When you discover that the whole album was made over the course of about a week and - according to lead singer Eric Bachmann - only cost around $5,000 to make, you'll probably think that Icky Mettle will just be a waste of your time and cash -- that is, until you listen to it. Collapse
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Dec 22, 2011
    100
    Brimming with character and endlessly relistenable, Icky Mettle is something of a touchstone for one of US indie's purplest patches.
  2. Dec 14, 2011
    80
    Overall it's about as perfect as introduction to the band as you're likely to get, and perhaps a timely chance to give the Archers an opportunity to climb back into the upper echelons of your record collection.
  3. Aug 19, 2011
    90
    Icky Mettle might have a reputation for containing a one-trick pony and the band's singular best known moment in the form of "Web in Front," but there's a wealth of material to really dig into and enjoy.