If You Wait - London Grammar
If You Wait Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 46 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The debut full-length release for the London trio includes "Help Me Lose My Mind," its collaboration with Disclosure. [US edition includes "Maybe," "High Life," and a remix of "Strong."]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. 91
    This is an enthralling, stunning, deeply emotive album that perfectly marries understated electronica to sublime vocals and melodies.
  2. Sep 9, 2013
    It's an assured collection of 11 songs that capture a mixture of exhilaration and heartbreak that is all their own.
  3. Sep 17, 2013
    There's beauty in the band's hesitancy, young musicians feeling their way forward together.
  4. Sep 9, 2013
    London Grammar have created an album of graceful sophistication.
  5. Oct 17, 2013
    Although at times they come close to overshadowing the subtle instrumentation provided by Major and Dan Rothman, it’s actually the intrinsic balance between the contributions of all three that defines their sound.
  6. Sep 9, 2013
    This pairing of the ethereal and the visceral makes for an interesting enough album, albeit one that sometimes begs for a kick in the backside.
  7. Oct 16, 2013
    It lacks variety, but with a debut this clear-eyed they earn enough musical credit to stay in the black until next time. [Nov 2013, p.111]

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Sep 10, 2013
    London grammar deliver an outstandingly mature debut. If You Wait is emotional, uplifting and stunningly beautiful. The use of trippy, light and airy dance beats along with strong, lung-busting vocals creates an album that is pushing music into the future and the cover of Kavinsky's Nightcall is inspired. If there is any down side to If You Wait, its the ballads on the album, they could be stronger. Expand
  2. Mar 26, 2014
    British trip-hop band London Grammar's debut album If You Wait is great - sporting strong vocals by Hannah Reid and great music design, this album features many fantastic tracks such as Sights, Wasting My Young Years, the smash-hit single Strong, a fantastic cover of Kavinsky memorable hit Nightcall and plenty of other great tracks. Some of the tracks aren't as strong (pun not intended) as others but overall this is a fantastic debut album. Expand
  3. Nov 17, 2013
    The past three years have been very great for the UK music scene. This debut album from London Grammar might be the best debut by a UK act this year. The tracks "Stay Awake" and "Wasting My Young Years" are really hypnotizing. Though similar sound has been up-and-coming lately, they manage to deliver a sound that is very appealing both musically and lyrically while also being very original. Definitely money well-spent. Expand
  4. Oct 18, 2014
    It fleshes out true emotion, both dark and melancholic ones. Reid's vocals, even by itself, can sunder a soul apart. There are a few moments that drag and bore once and a while, but this is an excellent debut. Expand
  5. Sep 23, 2013
    The London Grammar very original group! With original, but at the same time commercial sounding. At Hanna Read possesses the magnificent deep, shrill vocal, not conceding such soul the giant as Adele and Lana Del Ray! For me it is one of the main opening of year! And this album just proved me it! It is very soft, pleasant and attracts with it the listener. They have a big future! Expand
  6. Sep 15, 2013
    'If You Wait' is undoubtedly beautiful, however it lacks a bit of diversity. Front girl Hannah Reid's impeccable vocals more than make up for it, though. A perfect album for chill autumn evenings but not something that would keep you interested. Overall it's a nice debut. Expand
  7. Apr 9, 2014
    Her vocals are like a second rate Florence Welch. They have tried really hard to be mature and moody but all the mournful, dreary wailing gets a bit much after a while. Their more upbeat tracks (2 out of 14 tracks on the deluxe album) are by far their most interesting. Cheer the f__ up London Grammar. Life is not that bad!!!? Expand

See all 9 User Reviews