III/IV - Ryan Adams
III/IV Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 15 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Adams' fifth album with The Cardinals was recorded during the 2007 Easy Tiger sessions and is now being released as this double album. The two-disc effort is full of guitar-driven hard rock, as well as more downbeat, melodious tracks.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. 83
    This two-CD set consists of 21 others from those sessions--lovably motley, classic-rock-riffing tunes about Star Wars, rats, crystals, and ninjas. Yes, it's kinda random, but whose random thoughts are more fun?
  2. Dec 14, 2010
    Adams touches upon rainy-day English rock and atmospheric anthems custom-made for arenas, but his touchstone remains American rock, specifically the Replacements.
  3. There is still plenty to cherish here, and no Ryan Adams devotee is going to feel disappointed. In reality, this is likely just another detour in the ever evolving and confusing career of Ryan Adams.
  4. Dec 14, 2010
    III/IV is 21 songs from 2007's Easy Tiger sessions, supplanting that album's wired folk rock with a blend of punk head rush, New Wave twitch, metal crunch and hippie noodling.
  5. Jan 4, 2011
    III/IV is a fine collection of outtakes, but chances are Adams' magnum opus is still forthcoming.
  6. Apr 13, 2011
    Alas, it often sounds like hollow noise--but improves when he warms down. [May 2011, p.92]
  7. Jan 28, 2011
    While it's fun to hear some new (old) material from Ryan Adams and his fantastic band, The Cardinals, it's pretty easy to see why this stuff wasn't released and while the jury is still out on whether or not retirement was a good idea for Adams, III/IV does indicate that it was time for an extended vacation.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 3
  2. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Dec 17, 2010
    This has been criticized as an album of throwaways and B-sides left over from the 'Easy Tiger' sessions. However, with the way Ryan Adams writes and records songs, his so-called 'throwaways and B-sides' are nearly as good as his regular albums.

    The first thing to note about this album is that it is very different from Easy Tiger in tone, pace and mood. It's almost as if Adams recorded two entirely distinct albums during the same session and then decided to release only one of them at that time as a proper album. This album is highly catchy, riff driven and rock influenced - far closer to Rock N Roll than Cold Roses.

    At the end of the day, there are a bunch of good-to-great songs on here that combine the catchiness of 'Gold' with the energy and passion of 'Rock N Roll'. Any long-time Ryan Adams fan will LOVE this music and those fans of Ryan Adams who weren't as much into his foray into more country-ish music will see this as a triumphant return to pre-Cardinals form.. yes, even though it is with the Cardinals.

    No music fan will mistake this for a country record. It's a rock record with a bunch of catchy hooks and addictive riffs.
  2. Feb 21, 2011
    Like Elvis Costello's "Get Happy" album, Ryan Adams has released a great pop-rock cd with majority of the songs coming in under 3 minutes. I love a good guitar solo, but happy that Ryan has left a lot of noodling out of these songs, except for the one track "Kill the lights" which if you have heard the live version of Easy Plateau will hear the similarities. You can hear why these songs were left of Easy Tiger, where Easy Tiger at times almost had that easy listening feel, this album rocks out and gets to the chorus fast and easy. I went with my gut on this purchase and it's paid off. Expand
  3. Jul 16, 2011
    After Easy Tiger, I was worried what he was going to pop out next. I never got into Cardinology and after that, I knew it wouldn't be good. I wonder if this release was out of laziness. Only a couple songs on here worth listening to. Expand