In A Perfect World...

User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 24
  2. Negative: 4 out of 24

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Azizio
    May 25, 2009
    4
    There are 3 songs that are good in this album but it won't make make me to give more than 4.Kerri should be sticking of writing & producing songs.
  2. BryanH
    Apr 1, 2009
    10
    Matt you are just a hater as if you can produce any thing that within close proximity to value the value of Kerri's album. It's people like you who makes it hard for black motivated people. "haters" Kerri your album is great and you are indeed a talented young woman vocally.
  3. ClifC
    Apr 14, 2009
    2
    I am not used to give such low grades, but this one really deserves it. It's an artist who tries to convince the mass with already heard sounds in nowadays R&B and Pop fusion music (I have nothing against this kind of music, I have eclectic music tastes. So don't acuse me of hate). And it isn't as catchy as some could think as almost each track is unlistenable, I mean... it I am not used to give such low grades, but this one really deserves it. It's an artist who tries to convince the mass with already heard sounds in nowadays R&B and Pop fusion music (I have nothing against this kind of music, I have eclectic music tastes. So don't acuse me of hate). And it isn't as catchy as some could think as almost each track is unlistenable, I mean... it sounds awful and Keri's presence equals 0. The worse is that I knew that I'd regret downloading this album. And I do. Thanks to some guests who give a bit of life to the album (Lil Wayne and Kanye West). After this album she will be forgotten. And come on Bryan H!... of what are you talking about?! This is not about hating somebody, blacks or women or anything, it's simply about bad music. But it's your right to stuck to superficial music. Expand
  4. AjayD
    May 27, 2009
    4
    A Very Bland music Album!! I was expecting more from keri Hilson, considering she works with Timbaland, her lyric writing skills, sexy voice and not to mention the long delay. But it all amounted to a Album which is less then satisfactory. There are handful of decent tracks...Nothing more.
  5. JuniorL
    Mar 26, 2009
    10
    This is the best album i have. I love it. Their is not one song on "In A Perfect World" I don't like. I love Keri and cant wait for more. And I'd love to write a song for her or anybody!! JR.
  6. MattG
    Mar 29, 2009
    4
    One of the least original or inspired albums I have heard in a LONG time. Although all the songs are alright, NONE of them stand out, despite featuring big name cameos. Just a boring album. After you hear it, you will immediately forget it.
  7. FO
    Apr 16, 2009
    10
    Omg! How can this album not be loved? theres songs on there for everything and Keri certainly doesn't fail to bring it. I don't understand why people say she didn't do enough because i personally prefer her laid back, irresistable voice that sound less forced than most artists. Its a great first album!
  8. LB
    Apr 17, 2009
    8
    Fresh, inventive newcomer with songwriting skills and solid vocals. KH is just gettin started.....GET ON HER LEVEL!
  9. DaleO
    Apr 25, 2009
    7
    As one of the most highly anticipated R&B albums of the year, Keri has certainly delivered...well to some extent at least. Although it's been in production for well over 12 months now, the album was slightly dissapointing upon first listen. It starts off on a high, with the Intro alone sucking you into the album. The following 5 songs which include Turnin Me On and the stormer Return As one of the most highly anticipated R&B albums of the year, Keri has certainly delivered...well to some extent at least. Although it's been in production for well over 12 months now, the album was slightly dissapointing upon first listen. It starts off on a high, with the Intro alone sucking you into the album. The following 5 songs which include Turnin Me On and the stormer Return The Favor definitly lived up to my expectations of the album. However it is a from track 7 on that the album becomes very un-original and mediocre. The tracks Make Love and Tell Him The Truth almost make you regret turning the album on at all. I don't think they should have been on the final track-listing. Overall however, the album was very good, and Keri's melodic vocals are flawless as usual! Expand
  10. DARRENB
    Apr 9, 2009
    1
    She sounds stiff and unsure of herself, as if she is faking. On top of that she interviews like a self-absorbed anal retentive cornball fake. Too much drama behind the hyper-intensive promotion campaign, lets face it-same old produceers -same old style of songs. Time for a fresh crop. Can you say Corporate driven music? The only song that has potential sounds like someone else on the She sounds stiff and unsure of herself, as if she is faking. On top of that she interviews like a self-absorbed anal retentive cornball fake. Too much drama behind the hyper-intensive promotion campaign, lets face it-same old produceers -same old style of songs. Time for a fresh crop. Can you say Corporate driven music? The only song that has potential sounds like someone else on the internet that everyone is talking about, its all lame. Expand
  11. Nov 17, 2010
    6
    While she has the right juices, it's just a matter of keeping them flowing, there's no doubt that there's talent here, it's just not decided whether it's the singing or songwriting. She'll need a stronger collection of songs if she wants to secure her place in the pop/R&B music scene along with such contemporaries as Rihanna, Beyonce, and Lady Gaga.
  12. Nov 27, 2010
    10
    This is my favorite contemporary R&B album. This is R&B mixed with other genres. There's R&B with Hip-Hop (Turnin' me on), there's R&B with Pop (Return the favor) and more. Hilson's voice is great (listen to Make Love), and she chosen the right featurings and placed them perfectly. The album is original, there isn't knock-off's on it.
  13. Apr 10, 2013
    5
    I purchased this record recently because I liked most of the singles released from the album. Knock You Down, Return the Favor, or Energy are great tracks on their own but the album as a whole disappointed me to the extent that I found myself skipping through the songs one by one as I could not listen to them from start to finish. As I said the singles from the album are great but theI purchased this record recently because I liked most of the singles released from the album. Knock You Down, Return the Favor, or Energy are great tracks on their own but the album as a whole disappointed me to the extent that I found myself skipping through the songs one by one as I could not listen to them from start to finish. As I said the singles from the album are great but the rest is unfortunately not worth the money. Expand
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. The slower tracks don't match up to their opposites, or even the bittersweet midtempo cut 'Alienated,' but they're not enough of a snag to prevent the album from being one of 2009's most replayable R&B releases.
  2. 70
    She's been kicking around the industry a few years--she cowrote Britney's 'Gimmee More'--but she still comes across as fresh on her long-delayed debut.
  3. A seductive debut CD full of slick, radio-friendly cuts.