User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 23
  2. Negative: 4 out of 23

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 17, 2010
    While she has the right juices, it's just a matter of keeping them flowing, there's no doubt that there's talent here, it's just not decided whether it's the singing or songwriting. She'll need a stronger collection of songs if she wants to secure her place in the pop/R&B music scene along with such contemporaries as Rihanna, Beyonce, and Lady Gaga.
  2. Nov 27, 2010
    This is my favorite contemporary R&B album. This is R&B mixed with other genres. There's R&B with Hip-Hop (Turnin' me on), there's R&B with Pop (Return the favor) and more. Hilson's voice is great (listen to Make Love), and she chosen the right featurings and placed them perfectly. The album is original, there isn't knock-off's on it.
  3. Apr 10, 2013
    I purchased this record recently because I liked most of the singles released from the album. Knock You Down, Return the Favor, or Energy are great tracks on their own but the album as a whole disappointed me to the extent that I found myself skipping through the songs one by one as I could not listen to them from start to finish. As I said the singles from the album are great but the rest is unfortunately not worth the money. Expand

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. The slower tracks don't match up to their opposites, or even the bittersweet midtempo cut 'Alienated,' but they're not enough of a snag to prevent the album from being one of 2009's most replayable R&B releases.
  2. 70
    She's been kicking around the industry a few years--she cowrote Britney's 'Gimmee More'--but she still comes across as fresh on her long-delayed debut.
  3. A seductive debut CD full of slick, radio-friendly cuts.