In Case We Die

  • Record Label: Bar None
  • Release Date: Apr 12, 2005
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 34
  2. Negative: 1 out of 34

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. mikes
    Apr 17, 2005
    10
    Much more upbeat than their first, i always though they had potential, but they matured so quickly with this second release. Great Album!!!!
  2. KevinK
    Apr 29, 2005
    7
    "In Case We Die" is an enjoyable album, and one that most people will certainly enjoy. More importanly though, comparisons to The Fiery Furnaces and The Arcade Fire, while understandable, are a bit premature. AIH are to the two aforementioned bands as Grandaddy are to Radiohead: they immitate, but ultimately never succeed in defining their own sound. Despite this criticism, the album is "In Case We Die" is an enjoyable album, and one that most people will certainly enjoy. More importanly though, comparisons to The Fiery Furnaces and The Arcade Fire, while understandable, are a bit premature. AIH are to the two aforementioned bands as Grandaddy are to Radiohead: they immitate, but ultimately never succeed in defining their own sound. Despite this criticism, the album is enjoyable and worth a listen. Expand
  3. tonyp
    Jun 1, 2005
    9
    sen-saaaaayyyy-shun-al!!
  4. damianj
    Jun 27, 2005
    10
    For people that love The Fiery Furnaces, or even Gerling, and always want something nice to go with them. I'm both.
  5. MCLars
    May 3, 2005
    10
    This album rocks and i think every1 hould just get out there and buy it now if they havnt already =D
  6. luigim
    Jul 1, 2005
    9
    listening to this record makes feel happier
  7. JohnA
    Apr 20, 2005
    7
    Although nice this album is impossibly twee. It also, unfortunately, sounds like a hyperactive G-rated version of a lot of other whimsical otherworldly type bands - like Mum and Boards of Canada. Difference with Arcade Fire is lack of a guitarry punk side. Architecture are just too sweet.
  8. saelan
    Apr 20, 2005
    10
    A geniune triumph that no fan of indie pop should be without.
  9. JoanP
    May 15, 2005
    10
    Simply beautiful
  10. DietVanillaMack
    Jun 27, 2005
    9
    A wholly remakable album, which you'll appreciate all the more if you get to see them live. It's so much more than cutesy pop; I don't know where to start. The most ambitious and complex arrangements around right now. The Spin "review" is just plain lazy.
  11. clapyourhands
    Jul 6, 2005
    9
    One of the most imaginative albums I've heard!!! I don
  12. Josh
    Sep 16, 2005
    8
    I don't really understand how anyone could give this less than a 7. It just makes no sense. Kinda like how I don't get anyone giving Blueberry Boat less than 85... just wrong, ya know?
  13. Nick
    Nov 10, 2005
    10
    Possibly the best album of 2005. Fingers Crossed, they're debut, was slept on and is even incredibler in a humble opinion. This albumn is so dynamic and pure. I am very suprised and some of the low rating it has received. Its baffling really. Architecture's music is the kind of music I imagine in heaven. Even if it isn't universally accepted I would defend it to the death. Possibly the best album of 2005. Fingers Crossed, they're debut, was slept on and is even incredibler in a humble opinion. This albumn is so dynamic and pure. I am very suprised and some of the low rating it has received. Its baffling really. Architecture's music is the kind of music I imagine in heaven. Even if it isn't universally accepted I would defend it to the death. Absolutely amazing (live experience is awesomest). "The be-the beat" Expand
  14. calvinhobbes
    Nov 15, 2005
    10
    One of my last favourite albums. And I think it will play for a long time on my dj sets.
  15. ZachH
    Apr 14, 2005
    10
    Incredible Album! Different from their first album but incredible in a whole new way. This album is not to miss. I cannot stop listening to this wonderful album.
  16. jeffm
    Apr 17, 2005
    8
    I can hear a bit of the shins and the flaming lips too. amazingly creative, but with familiar melodies. the high pitched singing sometimes makes it seem childlike, but with that comes the great connotations of innocence and freedom.
  17. dup
    Apr 25, 2005
    9
    On In Case We Die, AIH becomes a great band, though I think Fingers Crossed might be the better album. In any case, both make for far more endurable listens than the Arcade Fire's output so far. Mum and Flaming Lips are better starting points, there is absolutely no emo to be found in these sunny melodies.
  18. LuisJ
    Jul 28, 2005
    9
    Excellent album, beautifull songs
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 26
  2. Negative: 2 out of 26
  1. Everything on In Case We Die, from the intensely sweet melodies and vocals to the widescreen production, delivers the kind of playful pop majesty that Fingers Crossed's best moments hinted were within Architecture in Helsinki's grasp.
  2. Rolling Stone
    60
    These tracks employ a familiar strategy, piling up shambolic riffs and Belle and Sebastian murmurs until the homespun pitter-patter rolls like a wave and approximates hard-won beauty. [24 Mar 2005, p.79]
  3. Under The Radar
    70
    While the general feeling of each song is sort of all over the place, there is a feeling of cohesion thanks to smart instrumentation and overall unconventional arrangements. [#9]