In the Lonely Hour

  • Record Label: Capitol
  • Release Date: Jun 17, 2014
User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 167 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 31 out of 167
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 20, 2014
    1
    The hype circulating in this album is enormous. When it first came out, i felt disappointed. Though there are few good songs, there are also "so-so" ones.
  2. Jun 21, 2014
    0
    There's far too much hype about this album, it's all over nothing. The opening track is quite possibly one of the worst UK number 1 singles ever. It just shows that **** over-hyped, pointless music sells. I wish this album didn't exist. I've heard a cover of the track "Stay with Me" by Florence Welch (Florence + the Machine) and her version is better by miles. As much as this may not help,There's far too much hype about this album, it's all over nothing. The opening track is quite possibly one of the worst UK number 1 singles ever. It just shows that **** over-hyped, pointless music sells. I wish this album didn't exist. I've heard a cover of the track "Stay with Me" by Florence Welch (Florence + the Machine) and her version is better by miles. As much as this may not help, steer clear of this album, even though it'll probably be amongst the best selling albums of 2014 at the end of the year. As for his Critics Choice win at the BRITs earlier this year, why are there so many mixed/negative reviews if he was the "critics" choice? I personally find that it's not even proper critics that make the choice. Expand
  3. Jun 10, 2015
    3
    I just can't believe this album earned Grammys, it's totally not good. ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
  4. Jan 24, 2016
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Simply put not worth spending your money on Sam Smith's voice is good that is about it nothing else it interesting there are many "hits" on this such as Lay Me Down, which was average. Stay with Me again average. And the number one Money on My Mind which is god awful especially the chorus I never want to listen to it again. Expand
  5. Jun 10, 2015
    3
    Sam Smith has the kind of voice that the mainstream audience loves now. Add some useless pop songs with some highlights here and there, some prizes to elevate its public image and the product is ready to sell records and live shows tickets.
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Q Magazine
    Jul 2, 2014
    60
    In The Lonely Hour starts promisingly.... The second half declines into self-pity, windy balladry and squeaky-strings-as-authenticity cliche. [Aug 2014, p.110]
  2. Jun 23, 2014
    58
    In the Lonely Hour is less meaningless and vapid than a song as unapologetically hammy as “Classic,” but the result is unfortunately the same.
  3. Jun 20, 2014
    70
    Where Smith will follow his muse next is anyone’s guess, but for now, his talent is a clear force to be reckoned with and his debut is ripe with promise.