In Waves - Trivium
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 39 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 18, 2011
    10
    PurplePlain is a complete retard and has no idea what music is. This album is bringing the Ascendency style back, which is what they've desperately needed to do. Shogun was by far the worst album because Matt Heafy turned into a James Hetfield wannabee and the band sounded exactly like Metallica who of which are one of Trivium's main influences. PurplePlain, you can shove your opinion up your ass!
  2. Aug 18, 2011
    10
    PurplePlains obviously like bands like Cold Play and Yellow Card and has not a damn clue what he is talking about!! In Waves is a great album, a must buy with 18 solid tracks. HamWallet I couldn't have said it better myself. Im tired of clowns like Purple getting on here leaving crappy reviews on good talented bands. Purple you suck go home tonight and watch Daniel The Wizard your favoritePurplePlains obviously like bands like Cold Play and Yellow Card and has not a damn clue what he is talking about!! In Waves is a great album, a must buy with 18 solid tracks. HamWallet I couldn't have said it better myself. Im tired of clowns like Purple getting on here leaving crappy reviews on good talented bands. Purple you suck go home tonight and watch Daniel The Wizard your favorite movie right? Expand
  3. NKM
    Aug 16, 2011
    9
    Once again, Trivium recorded a brilliant album. Matt's vocals have improved compared to previous releases. Guitar work is great as always. But still, they can't top Ascendancy which will, as it seems, always be their best work. Top tracks: Caustic Are The Ties That Bind and Forsake Not The Dream but others are almost good as these two. All in all, fans should be pleased. Well done, Trivium.
  4. Feb 15, 2012
    9
    Great, great album once again from Trivium. The number of good metal bands is withering, however, Trivium is carrying the torch high and continuing to lead the pack with another awesome album. After "Shogun", Trivium needed to make an album that was easier for non-musician fans to understand. "In Waves" did just that. This is truly a great band with a great passion for good music. TriviumGreat, great album once again from Trivium. The number of good metal bands is withering, however, Trivium is carrying the torch high and continuing to lead the pack with another awesome album. After "Shogun", Trivium needed to make an album that was easier for non-musician fans to understand. "In Waves" did just that. This is truly a great band with a great passion for good music. Trivium have yet to disappoint me and I don't see them doing it anytime soon. Kudos on another excellent album. Expand
  5. Jul 25, 2012
    9
    While this is my favorite Trivium album by far, it doesn't pack the punch of previous albums production-wise. The guitars sound almost too distorted and the bass isn't as prevalent this time around, but nevertheless the songs do NOT fail to deliver. My new favorite Trivium song entitled Foresake Not The Dream is an instant classic. Others include Watch The World Burn, Caustic Are TheWhile this is my favorite Trivium album by far, it doesn't pack the punch of previous albums production-wise. The guitars sound almost too distorted and the bass isn't as prevalent this time around, but nevertheless the songs do NOT fail to deliver. My new favorite Trivium song entitled Foresake Not The Dream is an instant classic. Others include Watch The World Burn, Caustic Are The Ties That Bind, Inception Of The End, and Of All These Yesterdays. This album is a must own for Trivium fans and I highly recommend it for all others wishing for another heavy metal record to add to their collection! Expand
  6. Mar 14, 2013
    9
    Expected a lot of this album, come to think that exceed their previous epic Shogun work, sadly it was not, but fortunately we were not disappointed.
    It has a powerful sound as Shogun and that put me off a bit, because I love that album, but it can be said that 'In Waves' is almost a continuation of 'Ascendancy', or the logical evolution would have had this at the time. Musically have
    Expected a lot of this album, come to think that exceed their previous epic Shogun work, sadly it was not, but fortunately we were not disappointed.
    It has a powerful sound as Shogun and that put me off a bit, because I love that album, but it can be said that 'In Waves' is almost a continuation of 'Ascendancy', or the logical evolution would have had this at the time. Musically have always been at a fairly high level despite his youth and here we have shown again, but with the passage of time can understand better the changes that have taken. At least I see it in a simple way: Heafy has learned to sing. After 'Ascendancy' the group began to vary their songs live, focusing them towards melodic land; Corey Beaulieu was responsible for some parts guttural, but not sounded the same themes. And all it shows to hear 'In Waves'.
    This paper returns to a step TRIVIUM quite high in the current metal scene. To deny it would be absurd, and have plenty of time to prove their quality, either as is the case study, as in his concerts, we hope to pass on my land before too long.
    Expand
  7. Dec 5, 2011
    8
    Trivium are out to set the world ablaze with their fourth offering, In Waves. In my opinion, Trivium have crafted their heaviest collection to date without sacrificing quality or accessibility. The heavy debt to prog-metal on Shogun is less prevalent this time around, making this feel more like a true metal album instead of a melting pot of genres. Not to say that's a good or bad thing,Trivium are out to set the world ablaze with their fourth offering, In Waves. In my opinion, Trivium have crafted their heaviest collection to date without sacrificing quality or accessibility. The heavy debt to prog-metal on Shogun is less prevalent this time around, making this feel more like a true metal album instead of a melting pot of genres. Not to say that's a good or bad thing, but it makes In Waves feel more unique and fresh. Some of the start-stop and punch delivered in several tracks create an intensity almost unparalleled by previous work (see "In Waves", "Watch The World Burn", "Black", "A Grey So Dark"). Altogether, you're listening to a well crafted album by a very talented group of musicians that seem to do themselves a solid by keeping to how Trivium does things and not so much of what others would have them do. Kudos to the group for keeping their identity intact through the years. Expand
  8. Aug 10, 2011
    8
    Dusk Dismantleddd!!!!
    If you're a diehard Trivium fan you'll just consider this another essential album in their impressive collection. Its no better or worse than anything they've released previously, but nether the less has some glorious moments: crunching guitars, impressive drumwork, beautiful vocals and delicious melodies. A couple of forgettable songs e.g A grey so Dark and possibly
    Dusk Dismantleddd!!!!
    If you're a diehard Trivium fan you'll just consider this another essential album in their impressive collection. Its no better or worse than anything they've released previously, but nether the less has some glorious moments: crunching guitars, impressive drumwork, beautiful vocals and delicious melodies. A couple of forgettable songs e.g A grey so Dark and possibly Black, but still a great new chapter in the Trivium story. The best tracks for me are undoubtedly Dusk Dismanlted and Caustic are the Ties that Bind. One can only hope that next time they can filter out the more mediocre aspects and occasional corny lyrics and have make every single song memorable; touch up on lyrics here and there and maybe chill with making it sound so produced. Excited to hear what they'll come up with next,; it looks like a bright future for Trivium. Buy it!!!
    Expand
  9. Aug 20, 2011
    8
    Evolving and changing their core sound has always been natural for Trivium, with every new record we've been given a new experience, whether bad or good. Thankfully In Waves is a step forward for the band, the songs do not posses the shredding guitar work of previous records but the songs themselves are crafted with such care that the their quality really shines through. Just listen toEvolving and changing their core sound has always been natural for Trivium, with every new record we've been given a new experience, whether bad or good. Thankfully In Waves is a step forward for the band, the songs do not posses the shredding guitar work of previous records but the songs themselves are crafted with such care that the their quality really shines through. Just listen to songs such as "watch the world burn" or "Inception of the end" using YouTube and it becomes apparent. Overall a strong effort which will satisfy most fans of Trivium but will also alienate some as the new sound continues to push Trivium further and further away from their roots, which for some, will be a big disappointment. A good record that deserves to be added to your collection. Expand
  10. Aug 9, 2011
    7
    Hi Guys, my First Review..little nervous don't no what to right well i am a fan of trivium i do have some of there songs in my library..well for this album u should check out the songs called
    In waves
    Built To Fall these are my favorites ones..here u can by the album from amazon
    http://www.amazon.com/Waves-Trivium/dp/B0055EDCGU/
    give it a try..thx...
  11. Aug 9, 2011
    6
    It's Trivium. And as a fan of their music since Ember To Inferno, I think it's a decent album. They haven't been able to top themselves at all though, and it's probably their worst album yet, but I still like it, at least a little.
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Aug 24, 2011
    80
    In Waves draws from the band's entire repertoire and shapes what it finds into a defining and definitive set. [6 Aug 2011, p.50]
  2. Aug 22, 2011
    80
    Blunt, focused and inventive, it's as near to classic metal as Trivium have been. [Sep 2011, p.110]
  3. Aug 22, 2011
    80
    Blunt, focused and inventive, it's as near to classic metal as Trivium have been. [Sep 2011, p.110]