Infinity On High

  • Record Label: Island
  • Release Date: Feb 6, 2007
User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 190 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 43 out of 190

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jen
    Mar 10, 2007
    6
    Fall Out Boy's songs are undeniably catchy. I'm not sure anyone can deny the power of their hooks. I like to call them pop punk motown. But for me one problem is that their lyrics are so ridiculously convoluted that it's clear they have little to say. It's easy to right a bunch of jabberwocky and claim to be smart (yes, I've heard them claim that they're Fall Out Boy's songs are undeniably catchy. I'm not sure anyone can deny the power of their hooks. I like to call them pop punk motown. But for me one problem is that their lyrics are so ridiculously convoluted that it's clear they have little to say. It's easy to right a bunch of jabberwocky and claim to be smart (yes, I've heard them claim that they're smart). This is not a case of people misunderstanding their genius, they just make no coherent sense. And I must admit I would feel better about defending their music to my elitist friends if Pete Wentz were not such a royal douche. Expand
  2. chameleonp
    May 7, 2007
    6
    I find it quite amusing how a lot of these reviews aren't even about the music, they're about how much people dislike Pete Wentz and how the band "look like fags" cos they wear eyeliner and stuff. Please. I guess you don't like David Bowie, T-Rex or the many other legendary rockstars with effeminate images. Those fags. It is catchy is all hell, and no, it's not I find it quite amusing how a lot of these reviews aren't even about the music, they're about how much people dislike Pete Wentz and how the band "look like fags" cos they wear eyeliner and stuff. Please. I guess you don't like David Bowie, T-Rex or the many other legendary rockstars with effeminate images. Those fags. It is catchy is all hell, and no, it's not credible rock by any stretch of the imagination but if you were expecting that you started off on the wrong bat. The lyrics are an acquired taste, shall we say, but luckily it's pretty easy to ignore them and concentrate on the sing-along tunes. Great music for driving on a sunny day. It does get a little too saccharine sometimes with I'm Like A Lawyer... , After Life of the Party and All This Ringing but the soaring Golden, The Carpal Tunnel Of Love and handclappy The Take Over... & Don't You Know... make up for it. Yeah, this is a pretty fun guilty pleasure. Just don't listen to it too much or your brains will start to melt and pour out your ears. Expand
  3. othos
    Feb 17, 2007
    5
    I know nothing about this band, but I would be inclined to give this record a listen for no other reason than that the absurdly profane, annoyingly unimaginative (Could we say "fuck" and "retarded" a few more times?) Andrew K hates it. Oh, and by the way, Andrew, insult FOB if you must, but let's leave the mentally challenged out of it, shall we?
  4. adsfadsfdafs
    Mar 25, 2007
    5
    this album is not awful, but it's not stunning either. this album works when they're not overproduced. this ain't a scene is bad because it is overproduced. there's nothing stunning, but there's nothing to hate either. it's not like they set out to make crap music like fergie, black eyed peas, and k-fed
  5. KevinK
    Oct 26, 2007
    6
    I was all ready to say how Sell Out Boy sucks here. But then I came to a realization...they already sold out--last record. Since these guys have zero credibilty within the underground/rock scene anymore anyways, why not just judge it as a crappy pop album? As a pop album, it really isn't bad. It will get some time on the radio, and twelve year old girls will love it. Will anyone who I was all ready to say how Sell Out Boy sucks here. But then I came to a realization...they already sold out--last record. Since these guys have zero credibilty within the underground/rock scene anymore anyways, why not just judge it as a crappy pop album? As a pop album, it really isn't bad. It will get some time on the radio, and twelve year old girls will love it. Will anyone who really takes music seriously like their stuff anymore? NO. But in all seriousness, they aren't trying to be cutting-edge, or serious anymore. They care about selling records and making cookie-cutter pop albums. I really can't say I respect this stuff, but it will find an audience, and that's what they're going for. So, all in all, it's just another pop album. Expand
  6. JohnN
    Feb 13, 2007
    6
    Green Day Lite....
  7. Spongeee
    Feb 16, 2007
    6
    Still growing on me- not as memorable as From Under the Cork Tree- they have for sure gone more a mainstream route
  8. JoeJohn
    Feb 26, 2007
    5
    Fall Out Boy is out to prove that they can make good punk songs. They fail miserably.
  9. MitchK.
    Feb 6, 2007
    6
    I'm gonna be the first to admit, this album isn't horrible. All I can say is it's very Fall Out Boy, full of hooks, sexually charged lyrics and some unmatched energy. Yet, through it all, it leaves you with somewhat of a feeling of "that's it?' once the ride is done. It just goes by way, way too fast for me. Also, it essentially sounds like the rest of the Fall I'm gonna be the first to admit, this album isn't horrible. All I can say is it's very Fall Out Boy, full of hooks, sexually charged lyrics and some unmatched energy. Yet, through it all, it leaves you with somewhat of a feeling of "that's it?' once the ride is done. It just goes by way, way too fast for me. Also, it essentially sounds like the rest of the Fall Out Boy works; completely the same. With the exception of maybe Golden, the entire album is the same tone. Those are my two complaints with this one. Otherwise, you can listen to it. Expand
  10. JasonE
    Feb 8, 2007
    6
    Hey, don't let the puppy string you up by the bones on this one: there's a fantastic feast of sound mixes, vast arrays of sharp and punishing poly-dotting-harmonies, and a singular lack of regard in regards to the current lurching state of old new music being toyed out today.
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. For a band that was once so self-assured and able to utilize its talents so compellingly, the album is regrettably haphazard.
  2. Alternative Press
    80
    Some of the band's most gut-wrenching and powerful melodies to date. [Mar 2007, p.133]
  3. Lo and behold, it turns out these pasty emo boys are a pretty great blue-eyed soul band.