• Record Label: Island
  • Release Date: Feb 6, 2007
User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 177 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 43 out of 177

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. mikes.
    Feb 6, 2007
    2
    oh one of the worse albums of the year by far. Although track 2 is a guilty pleasure the rest of the album is so bad that it is absolutely appalling. Everything from the production to the song writing is horrid.
  2. MissyM
    Feb 7, 2007
    0
    Backstreet Boys meets Bon Jovi is a perfect description of this band. I would also like to throw in a Sammy Hagar fronted Van Halen for good measure with some Good Charlotte influences on the last 2 tracks. Keep up the good work, slaves.
  3. Jen
    Mar 10, 2007
    6
    Fall Out Boy's songs are undeniably catchy. I'm not sure anyone can deny the power of their hooks. I like to call them pop punk motown. But for me one problem is that their lyrics are so ridiculously convoluted that it's clear they have little to say. It's easy to right a bunch of jabberwocky and claim to be smart (yes, I've heard them claim that they're Fall Out Boy's songs are undeniably catchy. I'm not sure anyone can deny the power of their hooks. I like to call them pop punk motown. But for me one problem is that their lyrics are so ridiculously convoluted that it's clear they have little to say. It's easy to right a bunch of jabberwocky and claim to be smart (yes, I've heard them claim that they're smart). This is not a case of people misunderstanding their genius, they just make no coherent sense. And I must admit I would feel better about defending their music to my elitist friends if Pete Wentz were not such a royal douche. Expand
  4. ericr
    Feb 19, 2007
    10
    One of the catchiest cd ever made.
  5. mariad
    Feb 20, 2007
    10
    mind blowing lyrics and a much more melodious sound than the other albums. it's perfect and well worth listening to
  6. SteveB
    Feb 7, 2007
    7
    Stump can still write catchy hooks, Wentz still pens navel-gazing lyrics. Some very infectious songs on yet another moderately strong FOB album.
  7. rrr
    Feb 9, 2007
    1
    yuck!- i can't believe i got suckered into this. it makes me wonder what junk people listen to that gave this a higher rating.
  8. MandiH
    Mar 5, 2007
    0
    After their first album Fall Out Boy took a turn for the worst. They went from being a new and out coming band with catchy beats and lyrics to a sell out, and this album only proves that even more. It's not even worth buying.
  9. Logan
    Mar 6, 2007
    9
    This is, by far, the best Fall Out Boy album out there! The songs are excellent, both the ones that you hear every day on the raio and the ones on there that you don't hear so often.
  10. PRay
    Mar 8, 2007
    2
    What is this! I though I was listening to Maroon 5 for at least half of this disk. 'This Aint A Scene' best it gets. Its so cheesy and not cool, and not punk and not clever. Its not nice to your ears, not catchy, not funky and Id leave the room if this came on. I came in with an open mind too.
  11. Forx
    Mar 9, 2007
    10
    An Awesome album. The best your going to get this year, most probably. Definitely full marks.
  12. panda
    Mar 9, 2007
    10
    Any one who is ignorant enough to not get the the fact the band grew up and oh well if they might sound slightly familiar grow the fuck up because this bands sound hasnt really changed since evening out... yea they matured a little bit but get over it. overall i though this cd was amazing it was everything i expected and more from this band
  13. ZoeeS.
    Apr 1, 2007
    10
    you guys rock !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  14. chameleonp
    May 7, 2007
    6
    I find it quite amusing how a lot of these reviews aren't even about the music, they're about how much people dislike Pete Wentz and how the band "look like fags" cos they wear eyeliner and stuff. Please. I guess you don't like David Bowie, T-Rex or the many other legendary rockstars with effeminate images. Those fags. It is catchy is all hell, and no, it's not I find it quite amusing how a lot of these reviews aren't even about the music, they're about how much people dislike Pete Wentz and how the band "look like fags" cos they wear eyeliner and stuff. Please. I guess you don't like David Bowie, T-Rex or the many other legendary rockstars with effeminate images. Those fags. It is catchy is all hell, and no, it's not credible rock by any stretch of the imagination but if you were expecting that you started off on the wrong bat. The lyrics are an acquired taste, shall we say, but luckily it's pretty easy to ignore them and concentrate on the sing-along tunes. Great music for driving on a sunny day. It does get a little too saccharine sometimes with I'm Like A Lawyer... , After Life of the Party and All This Ringing but the soaring Golden, The Carpal Tunnel Of Love and handclappy The Take Over... & Don't You Know... make up for it. Yeah, this is a pretty fun guilty pleasure. Just don't listen to it too much or your brains will start to melt and pour out your ears. Expand
  15. patrickD
    Jun 7, 2007
    9
    i'velistened to this album and i'mm still not bored every song on this album rockz (even though this album is mostly pop) except your crashing but you're no wave that song sucks must listen songs= thriller, the take over the brake's over this ain't a scene its an arms rae,i'mlike a lawyer, hum hallelujah, don't you know who i think i am,thnks fr th mmrs, i'velistened to this album and i'mm still not bored every song on this album rockz (even though this album is mostly pop) except your crashing but you're no wave that song sucks must listen songs= thriller, the take over the brake's over this ain't a scene its an arms rae,i'mlike a lawyer, hum hallelujah, don't you know who i think i am,thnks fr th mmrs, carpal tunnel of love Expand
  16. SamW
    Oct 1, 2008
    10
    The Best Album Ever Made So Far!....But that might change when Folie A Deux is released.
  17. CharlotteJ.
    Aug 4, 2008
    10
    This is my favourite album ever. Each song is great in its own way. They haven't "sold out". They have experience and the confidence that their fans give them, so have stepped it up.
  18. EmilyR
    Sep 10, 2008
    7
    Definitely not their best, but has some catchy tunes.
  19. MauricioB.
    Oct 27, 2007
    1
    It sounds like a Hanna Montana sound if she very a men, also the songs are very similar, there aren´t hard work.
  20. AndrewK
    Feb 10, 2007
    1
    Well, at least this album starts off okay. The Jay-Z introduction is, admittedly, pretty cool. But the first dozen or so seconds of non-suckage are easily the high point of the entire album; a fucking smorgasbord of stupid lyrics, boring instrumentals, and completely worthless singing. Look at the cover, it's fucking retarded. Read the song titles, they're fucking retarded. Do Well, at least this album starts off okay. The Jay-Z introduction is, admittedly, pretty cool. But the first dozen or so seconds of non-suckage are easily the high point of the entire album; a fucking smorgasbord of stupid lyrics, boring instrumentals, and completely worthless singing. Look at the cover, it's fucking retarded. Read the song titles, they're fucking retarded. Do you own this album? Fuck you. And fuck you Mr. Wentz. Your screaming sounds fucking retarded. Please die. Expand
  21. CarlosM
    Feb 13, 2007
    2
    I dont know what happend with this album but for me is like when Good Charlotte came up with "Chronicles Of Life And Death" after the success album young and hopeless it was a boring and empty album, is almost the same with the new FOB, maybe one good song and the rest is just crap
  22. othos
    Feb 17, 2007
    5
    I know nothing about this band, but I would be inclined to give this record a listen for no other reason than that the absurdly profane, annoyingly unimaginative (Could we say "fuck" and "retarded" a few more times?) Andrew K hates it. Oh, and by the way, Andrew, insult FOB if you must, but let's leave the mentally challenged out of it, shall we?
  23. ChrisS
    Feb 19, 2007
    9
    Fall Out Boy are more talented than most pop/punk/emo acts out there today. To give them a lot of credit is shakey at this point, but Infinity On High proves that hooks and hard rock can coincide peacefully and with great appeal. The Jay-Z cameo on the opening "Thriller" is just a riot. Infinity trumps the band's previous From Under The Cork Tree by far. "I'm Like A Lawyer" and Fall Out Boy are more talented than most pop/punk/emo acts out there today. To give them a lot of credit is shakey at this point, but Infinity On High proves that hooks and hard rock can coincide peacefully and with great appeal. The Jay-Z cameo on the opening "Thriller" is just a riot. Infinity trumps the band's previous From Under The Cork Tree by far. "I'm Like A Lawyer" and "THNKS Fr THE MMRS" are explosive hits waiting to shatter the charts, and really shine the creativity and craftiness of Fall Out Boy. Expand
  24. BorisG
    Feb 22, 2007
    9
    Two of the songs get annoying, and one has 15 seconds of unnecessary screaming. But the rest of the CD is amazing, i can listen to it over and over and not get tired of it, theres variety but without it being too out there. The CD title fits, as the CD will have you energized on high.
  25. CrenshawB
    Feb 23, 2007
    0
    No matter how old you are, it's not okay to own this CD. Andrew W.K. is right on the money with how hilariously bad the artwork and the song titles are. Another flash in the pan band that will flicker away and become The Partridge Family of the 2000s. Their lead singer already looks like a fat Danny Bonaduce as it is.
  26. CinloyKko
    Feb 25, 2007
    10
    I
  27. MCOtaku
    Feb 6, 2007
    10
    Emo delight!
  28. tomj
    Feb 6, 2007
    10
    this cd is the baaaw of the sheep!
  29. king
    Feb 7, 2007
    0
    utter rubbish
  30. JohnP
    Feb 7, 2007
    3
    Did anyone really expect a masterpiece from last year's flavor-of-the-month? Get real. This band is going right in the same garbage pile as every other Emo band. It's over. This sound is tired.
  31. LauriL
    Feb 7, 2007
    9
    Good album that gets better after every listen. Vocal melodies just nail it all. I can't wait to see FOB and party out live. I feel that the band is doing it's own thing. Comparisons to My Chemical Romance boggle me, MCR is quite overrated by critics.
  32. ShawnM
    Feb 7, 2007
    10
    I think Pete Wentz and Patrick Stump might be geniuses, or a genius collectively. This album is amazing from start to finish - the best album this year, so far. I know, I know, we're only a month in, but c'mon. OK, best album since MCR for me. Best tracks: Thriller, This Ain't a Scene, It's an Arms Race, I'm Like a Lawyer With the Way I'm Always Trying To Get I think Pete Wentz and Patrick Stump might be geniuses, or a genius collectively. This album is amazing from start to finish - the best album this year, so far. I know, I know, we're only a month in, but c'mon. OK, best album since MCR for me. Best tracks: Thriller, This Ain't a Scene, It's an Arms Race, I'm Like a Lawyer With the Way I'm Always Trying To Get You Off, Thnks Fr Th Mmrs, and I've Got All This Ringing In My Ears And None On My Fingers (which sounds mostly like it was ripped right out of the seventies). But they're all excellent. It's good to see a band that was so successful (especially financially) willing to adjust their music to what they want to write, rather than write for the mindless masses. I commend them all. Expand
  33. AnOnymous
    Feb 8, 2007
    3
    FOB, much like MCR, are merely the flavor of the moment and are highly touted by the mainstream media primarily because they're so popular with the kids. This isn't terrible music, for sure, but it hues so close to the bland pop punk formula that it barely makes an impression. FOB is not a musical abomination, but they surely don't deserve all the critical acclaim. And now FOB, much like MCR, are merely the flavor of the moment and are highly touted by the mainstream media primarily because they're so popular with the kids. This isn't terrible music, for sure, but it hues so close to the bland pop punk formula that it barely makes an impression. FOB is not a musical abomination, but they surely don't deserve all the critical acclaim. And now I'll stop calling them Shirley. Expand
  34. ChristianV
    Feb 8, 2007
    9
    Its ok, ive just got it yesterday and i havent heard it very well, but its ok.
  35. pg
    Feb 9, 2007
    2
    only when i was 12 did i listen to such junk. a completely worthless album.
  36. ChadD
    Feb 9, 2007
    9
    I was surprised with this album, and luckily I don't listen to the radio. FOB continues to evolve but keep it's core fan base along with them. I'm happy to continue the ride.
  37. MartinL
    Mar 1, 2007
    1
    Fall Out Boy is awful. Go take some showers and learn how to control your mouth so that your singing doesnt sound like a desperate wail
  38. adsfadsfdafs
    Mar 25, 2007
    5
    this album is not awful, but it's not stunning either. this album works when they're not overproduced. this ain't a scene is bad because it is overproduced. there's nothing stunning, but there's nothing to hate either. it's not like they set out to make crap music like fergie, black eyed peas, and k-fed
  39. ChelseaR
    Mar 30, 2007
    9
    I love the new album, and i support FOB completely. Poor Patrick has some weak points in the CD, but you have to give him credit. With all of the high standards in music now, you have to work your ass off to work to a satisfactory point. This can make you or break you. Unfortunately, they didn't do too well this time around. Everyones being a critic, bashing them for a bad round. I love the new album, and i support FOB completely. Poor Patrick has some weak points in the CD, but you have to give him credit. With all of the high standards in music now, you have to work your ass off to work to a satisfactory point. This can make you or break you. Unfortunately, they didn't do too well this time around. Everyones being a critic, bashing them for a bad round. Suck it up, take what you get. Not every hit's gonna be a fuckin' homerun. In my opinion, they got an easy double. Expand
  40. indiyadaddy
    Mar 5, 2007
    8
    i'm an african american & i frikkin love fall out boy. last album was amazing (still listen to it to this day) & infinity on high matches up. pretty good cd. i enjoy it & listen just about everyday. i hate the frikkin single, but everything else is pretty good. you MUST GO & GET INFINITY ON HIGH! i got 2 copies. haha :)
  41. BrannonM
    Apr 6, 2007
    0
    A peice of emo shit. Who listens to this garbage. I'll tell you who. Emo losers.
  42. SauloP
    Apr 9, 2007
    7
    the album is catchy, with good tracks, but the addicting style and guitar beats are gone, wich leaves the band with nothing but the great voice of Patrick Stump
  43. BobE
    May 10, 2007
    0
    They are just purlyturdin a jar face it allYou F.O.B Fans they are crap you wantto listen to realmusic like slipknot,Tenacious D, Greenday, rammstein etc.
  44. ToddW
    May 3, 2007
    2
    I consider myself a fan of music and I just don't get these guys. My kids love them; I wish a tree would fall on these boys. It's fine as far as half-wit post punk pop goes, and if that's your nirvana, then by all means play these guys ad infinitum. I just think that with all of the bands out there who are actually saying something and doing something different in their I consider myself a fan of music and I just don't get these guys. My kids love them; I wish a tree would fall on these boys. It's fine as far as half-wit post punk pop goes, and if that's your nirvana, then by all means play these guys ad infinitum. I just think that with all of the bands out there who are actually saying something and doing something different in their music, and will never deign to take a whiff of the Sewerstream, bands like this that wallow in it demean our intelligence. Isn't there enough of that going on out there people? Why would one want to continue to be a stereotype? But if that's your goal, fall in. Just don't be an idiot and give these guys a perfect score. Have some pride. I mean, come on, you're showing how vacuous you truly are in doing that. Expand
  45. joanthans.
    Jun 20, 2007
    9
    I agree with chameleon p-- most people who are insulting the album are either giving it bad marks because they just don't like the people in the band, or aren't fans of this style of music, so if you don't like the style of music, of course you aren't going to like the album. And all you people who think they sold out since "Evening Out With Your Girlfriend", I agree with chameleon p-- most people who are insulting the album are either giving it bad marks because they just don't like the people in the band, or aren't fans of this style of music, so if you don't like the style of music, of course you aren't going to like the album. And all you people who think they sold out since "Evening Out With Your Girlfriend", you're wrong, because for one, everyone changes, it's absolutely inevitable, and they're still making music that they like and still pertains similar sounds to their other records, just less so as you compare it to "Evening" and "Take This...". And I think it's rather shallow for people to say anyone who likes this music to have no tastes whatsoever, or have a vapid mind. Everyone has different music tastes, and you have to respect that. I don't like bands like Slipknot or bands that don't do anything but scream and have indistinguishable guitar, but I'm not going to bash someone for liking that kind of music. Honestly, grow up. The other thing behind most people's low marks seems to be a misunderstanding of FOB's genre. They began as pop-punk, and now they're pop-rock. Which basically means this album has enough guitar to keep it from being completely pop, but not enough to make it fully rock. They're not emo either-- the lyrics are written with clever angst, but are not what defines emo. AND, they are not punk, or trying to be-- punk died long ago in the 90s, with the exception of punk bands FROM the 90s making music in the 00s. Now, and I do have to admit it's highly disappointing, we have a society infested with pop-punk scenesters, but that does not mean some of those bands don't make good music. It's the ones jumping on the bandwagon that are annoying. And the reason people in the reviews call these guys rock most likely comes from most of these people probably being those Top 40 listeners, who never get doses of what real rock is. All being said, I do like the album, though it took a few listens through to get adjusted to the poppier sound that had been introduced in "FUTCT". I don't give it a 10 because I recoginize they are not perfect, and most bands aren't. And taking into account that the technical music talent in the band isn't very good (why did Pete Wentz need a sub guitarist for the "solo" in "The Take Overs...", especially when it was only a few notes with (probably) some whammy bar work in there). But I also tend to like most music I listen to if I give it a chance, and I don't care what others say, I love the music in the album. Some lyrics are vapid, and appear in nonsensical order, but other lyrics are oft clever in the subtle conveyence of angst without being generic-- Pete Wentz IS a good lyricist people-- such as "you know the best way to get through with hearts and wrists intact", and in addressing their love for the hardcore fans, not the poseurs, "Make us poster boys for your scene but we are not making an acceptance speech", "Crowds are won and lost and won again but our hearts beat for the diehards", and "This bandwagon's full please, catch another". So whatever opinion you may have, you are welcome to it, but keep in mind that everyone has different tastes, and that people aren't always going to agree about things such as music. But I also think that they deseerve some respect for the fact that they make it clear they don't give a f*ck about the fans who are just jumping on the bandwagon, and that even if their sound changes some, they live for the die hard fans, and there are very few bands out there who you can say do that in their songs. Listen, then judje, and just know everyone is different, respect it and grow up. Expand
  46. JeffeyL.
    Jun 6, 2007
    10
    This album is great...while on first listen I didn't like it as much as "Cork Tree," upon second and third helpings it has become THE album to listen to at this moment. Although FOB will never match the amazing album that "Take This To Your Grave" was (I doubt any one else will either), "Infinity On High" has become my record of the year. If you don't like this kind of music, This album is great...while on first listen I didn't like it as much as "Cork Tree," upon second and third helpings it has become THE album to listen to at this moment. Although FOB will never match the amazing album that "Take This To Your Grave" was (I doubt any one else will either), "Infinity On High" has become my record of the year. If you don't like this kind of music, don't bother posting your "0" score...The thing about Fall Out Boy is, you either love them or hate them...but one thing that you cannot contest, the music is catchy as all hell. Expand
  47. alig
    Jul 11, 2007
    10
    Fall out boy is definitely one of my favorite bands, if not my favorite, and their album Infinity on High really impressed me. I love these guys! This albums a hit!
  48. SuleimanM
    Apr 5, 2008
    8
    Very nice album, Catchy tunes, and great voice by the lead singer. Overall, if you like rock, pop punk, give it a shot. Those who gave it a zero clearly haven't listened to it.
  49. KevinK
    Oct 26, 2007
    6
    I was all ready to say how Sell Out Boy sucks here. But then I came to a realization...they already sold out--last record. Since these guys have zero credibilty within the underground/rock scene anymore anyways, why not just judge it as a crappy pop album? As a pop album, it really isn't bad. It will get some time on the radio, and twelve year old girls will love it. Will anyone who I was all ready to say how Sell Out Boy sucks here. But then I came to a realization...they already sold out--last record. Since these guys have zero credibilty within the underground/rock scene anymore anyways, why not just judge it as a crappy pop album? As a pop album, it really isn't bad. It will get some time on the radio, and twelve year old girls will love it. Will anyone who really takes music seriously like their stuff anymore? NO. But in all seriousness, they aren't trying to be cutting-edge, or serious anymore. They care about selling records and making cookie-cutter pop albums. I really can't say I respect this stuff, but it will find an audience, and that's what they're going for. So, all in all, it's just another pop album. Expand
  50. AdamG
    Feb 11, 2007
    8
    not bad
  51. mikeo
    Feb 12, 2007
    10
    Awesome Album By A Brilliant Band, all the songs have merit and are individually great!
  52. JohnN
    Feb 13, 2007
    6
    Green Day Lite....
  53. PaddyW
    Feb 14, 2007
    9
    Wow so much hatred! I don't have enough energy to get wound up about an album. Myself I liked it, music is catchy and the lyrics of the same style as ucwt. More of the same but is that a bad thing?
  54. Spongeee
    Feb 16, 2007
    6
    Still growing on me- not as memorable as From Under the Cork Tree- they have for sure gone more a mainstream route
  55. DickCheaneyWeanie
    Feb 22, 2007
    0
    sounds like the noises that comes from my butt after a meal of like raviolli or something like matza ball soup because it has like huge lumps and its really thick and thats like poopie... anyway, besides that, why is a rapper doing a rock cd? shouldnt he be like with the rest of the homies like smokin bad things and shootin people? ya dats wat i thought! so anyway the singer stinks and i sounds like the noises that comes from my butt after a meal of like raviolli or something like matza ball soup because it has like huge lumps and its really thick and thats like poopie... anyway, besides that, why is a rapper doing a rock cd? shouldnt he be like with the rest of the homies like smokin bad things and shootin people? ya dats wat i thought! so anyway the singer stinks and i hate his voice it sounds like a chipmunk being shot, or being tortured in some kind of way like pulling and stretching its legs and arms, or pulling its intestines out of its guts. anyway as i was saying, the music is directed for 13 year old punks and emos who think they are all so cool cause they listen to fall out boy,,,, what a dumb name, what did they fall out of??? did they like poop? wait let me guess...ice cream! Expand
  56. JoeJohn
    Feb 26, 2007
    5
    Fall Out Boy is out to prove that they can make good punk songs. They fail miserably.
  57. JamalR
    Feb 6, 2007
    2
    Garbage
  58. JeffN.
    Feb 6, 2007
    8
    Phemenomal growth and transformation in music style are what make "Infinity on High" a must-listen...Go get it now!!
  59. e
    Feb 6, 2007
    9
    A lot of people hate this bad solely b/c they are really popular and the same songs are on the radio 20 times a day. However, this CD proves once again that FOB is able to make a solid album, not just a few catchy singles. Very good album.
  60. MitchK.
    Feb 6, 2007
    6
    I'm gonna be the first to admit, this album isn't horrible. All I can say is it's very Fall Out Boy, full of hooks, sexually charged lyrics and some unmatched energy. Yet, through it all, it leaves you with somewhat of a feeling of "that's it?' once the ride is done. It just goes by way, way too fast for me. Also, it essentially sounds like the rest of the Fall I'm gonna be the first to admit, this album isn't horrible. All I can say is it's very Fall Out Boy, full of hooks, sexually charged lyrics and some unmatched energy. Yet, through it all, it leaves you with somewhat of a feeling of "that's it?' once the ride is done. It just goes by way, way too fast for me. Also, it essentially sounds like the rest of the Fall Out Boy works; completely the same. With the exception of maybe Golden, the entire album is the same tone. Those are my two complaints with this one. Otherwise, you can listen to it. Collapse
  61. matta
    Feb 6, 2007
    3
    C'mon, the new bloc party has a lower score than this tripe?! That's just ridiculous. Rolling Stone, Spin, Blender, Entertainment Weekly, and Alternative Press always give shit albums good reviews. Their weight in the metascore should be much lower than other publications. Anyway, I have actually listened to this, hence the 3 and not a 0 (see, I'm not completely C'mon, the new bloc party has a lower score than this tripe?! That's just ridiculous. Rolling Stone, Spin, Blender, Entertainment Weekly, and Alternative Press always give shit albums good reviews. Their weight in the metascore should be much lower than other publications. Anyway, I have actually listened to this, hence the 3 and not a 0 (see, I'm not completely unreasonable). Honestly, a few okay songs; the only problem is that after the first few, they all sound the exact same. Really these publications that gave this a better score than Bloc Party and Of Montreal must be employing a bunch of 14-year-old girls as their music critics. There really is no other explanation. Expand
  62. BillyG.
    Feb 6, 2007
    0
    Ewwwww, no.
  63. Andrew
    Feb 6, 2007
    10
    It's amazing. they revamped their sound from their first 2 albums and they didnt lose anything.
  64. ColbyS
    Feb 7, 2007
    1
    I never really have liked Fall Out Boy, as they've spawned a train of even more terrible imitators and sissified followers at my high school. Could it get any worse than the last CD? Well, yes, if you blended in a little bit of the Backstreet Boys, as evidenced by "This Ain't a Scene, It's an Arms Race," quite possibly the most annoying single released this year, not to I never really have liked Fall Out Boy, as they've spawned a train of even more terrible imitators and sissified followers at my high school. Could it get any worse than the last CD? Well, yes, if you blended in a little bit of the Backstreet Boys, as evidenced by "This Ain't a Scene, It's an Arms Race," quite possibly the most annoying single released this year, not to mention the gayest evocation of the phrase "goddamn." Honestly, Bloc Party gets nailed by reviewers, but this shit gets hailed as greatness? Give me a break. I guess when you're on a big label like this, it'd be easy to pay some reviewers... Expand
  65. JasonE
    Feb 8, 2007
    6
    Hey, don't let the puppy string you up by the bones on this one: there's a fantastic feast of sound mixes, vast arrays of sharp and punishing poly-dotting-harmonies, and a singular lack of regard in regards to the current lurching state of old new music being toyed out today.
  66. Jon
    Mar 11, 2007
    0
    This blows dogs for quarters. FOB is an awful band.
  67. songX
    Mar 15, 2007
    0
    it is such a shame to see music like this get praised (at all) . apparently the critics are tuned in to top-20 radio all day long. oh well everybody can't have good taste right?
  68. DaveM.
    Mar 26, 2007
    1
    Fall Out Boy is somewhat similar to crack cocaine when it was first became mainstream. It's addicting, horrible, and spreads like wildfire. The band is an absolute joke and are showing hopeful musicians around the world that you don't need to be skilled (or talented) to be famous.
  69. marleeb
    Mar 26, 2007
    10
    I love the album it rocks
  70. SamD
    Mar 28, 2007
    0
    how awful, just awful.
  71. JarredH
    Mar 4, 2007
    9
    Fall Out Boy brought change to the table, an element that could go great or fall right on its face, and the passed with flying colors. From the first of the album to the last song, Infinity on High brings the rock and delivers the witty lyrics in style. There are a couple of bad songs, but thankfully, these are the forgettable ones. Fall Out Boy continues to do what they do right, and Fall Out Boy brought change to the table, an element that could go great or fall right on its face, and the passed with flying colors. From the first of the album to the last song, Infinity on High brings the rock and delivers the witty lyrics in style. There are a couple of bad songs, but thankfully, these are the forgettable ones. Fall Out Boy continues to do what they do right, and this album is no exception. Expand
  72. RobC
    Mar 4, 2007
    3
    Huge let down
  73. MichaelR
    Mar 9, 2007
    9
    I would have givebn this CD a 10 but I always leave that number open just in case they might make a better one!XD
  74. Mr.Review
    Apr 12, 2007
    7
    The ridiculously generic and cheesy radio-friendly tunes flood the album; the fanbase is established; and all Fall Out Boy is to do now is focus on continuing consistency. A few shortcomings and a horrible ballad make this a listen for a few weeks, and soon after, it is reasonable forgettable. 12 year old girls abound, Fallout Boy is a master at the catchy single.
  75. Michellek
    Apr 13, 2007
    9
    I hated Fallout Boy when they had that crap out (Dance Dance) But this album is so cool. I reckon if people stopped looking at them as a rock band (whic is probably what they think they are but they aren't...sorry) but as a pop/pop-punk band then they would get more respect. Best Tracks: Thnks Fr Th Mmrs, This ain't a scene, The Take Over, The Breaks Over and The Carpal Tunnel I hated Fallout Boy when they had that crap out (Dance Dance) But this album is so cool. I reckon if people stopped looking at them as a rock band (whic is probably what they think they are but they aren't...sorry) but as a pop/pop-punk band then they would get more respect. Best Tracks: Thnks Fr Th Mmrs, This ain't a scene, The Take Over, The Breaks Over and The Carpal Tunnel Of Love. All they have to do now is SHORTEN THEIR SONG TITLES!!!! Expand
  76. JasonS
    Apr 20, 2007
    0
    Fall out boy WAS good before they made Infinity on high...why do they had to put the soft satan worship in their music. I speak for myself and a lot of other people when I say that fallout boy is just heading down hill. They need to make an album that doesnt have any of the dissing god stuff.
  77. xxhopingtearsxx
    Apr 29, 2007
    3
    I can't believe I'm saying this, but this album makes Fall Out Boy.. very boring.
  78. ClintonL
    Apr 7, 2007
    7
    this album has it's merits. there's a lot of variety, and im worried about how many of these comments have scores based on how FOB are a shit band =.= the music they come up with is good, and although i agree they have become self centred pricks like panic! at the disco have, doesn't meant their music ain't good.
  79. TheCritic
    Apr 8, 2007
    0
    ok... 1. Emo rock sucks 2. These guys look gay 3. They absolutely stink live 4. These guys sound gay 5. If you are a guy and you get this cd, you will be made fun of, beaten, gagged, shot, burned, electricuited, thrown in an oven and killed... because THESE GUYS SUCK!!!!!!!!!!
  80. AlexR
    May 1, 2007
    1
    I like what Entertainment Weekly's review of Infinity says, "Lo and behold, it turns out these pasty emo boys are a pretty great blue-eyed soul band. ". Funny, I bet it's soulful as the crap coming out of my deriere. Hell, if any thing in this album is remotely soulful, I guarantee it that the producers or Jay-Z made it happen. Cleverly manufactured estrogen pop has seem to find I like what Entertainment Weekly's review of Infinity says, "Lo and behold, it turns out these pasty emo boys are a pretty great blue-eyed soul band. ". Funny, I bet it's soulful as the crap coming out of my deriere. Hell, if any thing in this album is remotely soulful, I guarantee it that the producers or Jay-Z made it happen. Cleverly manufactured estrogen pop has seem to find a comfortable spot in music these days. The lead singer can't sing for his life and the only thing keeping this band alive is their drummer, who is barely par. Nothing new here, which means it's exactly like Cork Tree, therefore, nothing good. Expand
  81. nebb
    May 15, 2007
    0
    I'm surprised this isn't a hit with the fans, it's got everything the like, annoying lyrics, annoying guitarmanship, annoying vocals, and music so simple to play a monkey could pass them up. Please, do yourself, and humanity as a race, a favor and don't buy this or listen to it.
  82. chynas.
    Jun 17, 2007
    10
    i absolutely love these guys music. even before they became real famous their music was awesome. anyone who likes good music,should listen to this cd.and patrick has a great voice.
  83. BernS
    Jul 16, 2007
    7
    The previous one was certainly better, but there are still some very good songs in there. I like it. Still wish I could have liked it more though.
  84. FarranC
    Mar 15, 2008
    0
    i used to love fall out boy, i have all their albums, and i must say the first 3 are amazing, but it's clear in this record that they have sold out. in 1 word this album is shit!, what ever happened to make a band that used to rock hard into whiny little turds? this album is poor at best
  85. WesM.
    Jul 8, 2008
    8
    Considering most pop is infinitely better than the majority of self-righteous "underground" punk, metal, emo etc. acts, "selling out" (read: making tunes with hooks) is hardly a crime. That said; I'm less a FOB fan than I am an FOB apologist.
  86. OrlandoM
    Aug 17, 2009
    10
    I liked this album simply because nobody but Fall Out Boy can create this awesomeness.
  87. NaviJ
    Feb 13, 2007
    10
    youre are Messed Up if you dislike even a single line from the album!
  88. MattD.
    Feb 22, 2007
    9
    Wow - MUCH better this time! They have grown from an irritating pop-punk band into a more straightforward rock band with great hooks and various influences.
  89. robertp
    Feb 22, 2007
    2
    ok anyone who gave this album anything above a 4 or 5 have no sense of music. but instead of trying to find a band worth listening to they listen to that catchy emo band they heard on the radio. yes i said emo band and at most a sad excuse for alternitive. saying woah oh oh in a high pitched voice does not make you a punk band. and while honestly trying to listen and see how anyone could ok anyone who gave this album anything above a 4 or 5 have no sense of music. but instead of trying to find a band worth listening to they listen to that catchy emo band they heard on the radio. yes i said emo band and at most a sad excuse for alternitive. saying woah oh oh in a high pitched voice does not make you a punk band. and while honestly trying to listen and see how anyone could possibly like them i laughed at the incredibly stupid lyrics and their failed attempt to slow things down in golden. this new album is as sorry as the last two considering its exactly the same. Expand
  90. RachelM
    Feb 26, 2007
    9
    At first I was disappointed, but it grows on you after a few plays. So many emotions into one CD, you can cry and dance. Worth a listen and not a wasted tenner. Daring and delicious!
  91. josephr
    Feb 26, 2007
    10
    finally!, another album for my collection. still the best punk pop group ever keep it up.
  92. namarb
    Mar 11, 2007
    9
    i really enjoyed listening to the album...
  93. NickC
    Mar 11, 2007
    0
    We have entered a new era of musical degradation. I thought NSync and the Backstreet Boys were bad, but fucking hell, at least they didn't make any bones about being homos. These pfruit-cakes in glitter and women's pants masqeurading as "rockers" is enough to make any individual with an appreciation for musical integrity, or rock music, vomit. Pop music, once one of the most We have entered a new era of musical degradation. I thought NSync and the Backstreet Boys were bad, but fucking hell, at least they didn't make any bones about being homos. These pfruit-cakes in glitter and women's pants masqeurading as "rockers" is enough to make any individual with an appreciation for musical integrity, or rock music, vomit. Pop music, once one of the most moving, intelligent and satisfying forms of art has completely degenerated into a host of empty, shallow, hypocritical, stupid, assinine, unlistenable collections of affeminate, prima-donna scenesters, who happen to have played instruments for a couple of years. Music cannot be more predictable, forulaic, unoriginal, shallow and empty than this--except for their contemporaries, who are equally as worthless. Fuck Fall Out Boy. Fuck You. Listen to the Beatles. Expand
  94. SamualS
    Mar 25, 2007
    0
    Fall Out Boy, what happen? you guys we're emo now your just posers for girls, trying not to act gay, buy Im starting to think you guys are, Rest In Peace: OLD Fall Out Boy.
  95. TimC
    Apr 11, 2007
    10
    The kids who badmouth Fall Out Boy don't really make any sense in their insults. Chances are that they haven't even heard the album, are in middle school, and don't understand music. Here's something sensical: "Infinity on High" is one of the best pop rock albums I've heard. It takes the catchiness of Blink-182 and adds a ton of creativity and another ton of The kids who badmouth Fall Out Boy don't really make any sense in their insults. Chances are that they haven't even heard the album, are in middle school, and don't understand music. Here's something sensical: "Infinity on High" is one of the best pop rock albums I've heard. It takes the catchiness of Blink-182 and adds a ton of creativity and another ton of heart. I've probably listened to the record twenty times now, and I still really enjoy it. Expand
  96. Kat
    Apr 13, 2007
    10
    this album is amazing and maybe some people should actually listen to it before they rate it. once you listen to it, it will be very hard to talk crap about fall out boy. and they are not shit or at least- the lead singer can actually sing so they have talent.
  97. TomS
    Apr 17, 2007
    10
    Fall Out Boy just seem to get better with every album they release, but with 'Take This To Your Grave' bordering on perfection, there's little room for improvement; just variety. 'Infinity On High' is by far their most varied album, and every song is instantly definable. From the first play through to the last you won't get that sense of 'Well It's Fall Out Boy just seem to get better with every album they release, but with 'Take This To Your Grave' bordering on perfection, there's little room for improvement; just variety. 'Infinity On High' is by far their most varied album, and every song is instantly definable. From the first play through to the last you won't get that sense of 'Well It's All Good, But It's All The Same' you got with 'From Under The Corktree' on your first listen of it. A fine album, and a much reccomended one. Expand
  98. RobL
    Apr 19, 2007
    0
    When will i ever stop hearing crappy manufactured pop music on the television and radio. this album shows little sign of any intelligent song writing except the occasional catchy beat that i have heard from Blink 182 and other indistinguishable major label pop bands. Once Fallout Boy is gone i am convinced that music will be temporarily saved and will spark the catalyst to change the When will i ever stop hearing crappy manufactured pop music on the television and radio. this album shows little sign of any intelligent song writing except the occasional catchy beat that i have heard from Blink 182 and other indistinguishable major label pop bands. Once Fallout Boy is gone i am convinced that music will be temporarily saved and will spark the catalyst to change the popular music trends. Expand
  99. Jamesa
    Apr 21, 2007
    8
    Forget the crap surrounding the term Emo, if you're a fan of music get it...believe me.
  100. alysha
    Apr 24, 2007
    10
    fall out boy amazes me with each new song they write.infinity on high was an amazind cd and there just awesome.
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. For a band that was once so self-assured and able to utilize its talents so compellingly, the album is regrettably haphazard.
  2. Some of the band's most gut-wrenching and powerful melodies to date. [Mar 2007, p.133]
  3. Lo and behold, it turns out these pasty emo boys are a pretty great blue-eyed soul band.