Innocents

  • Record Label: Mute
  • Release Date: Sep 30, 2013
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 19
  2. Negative: 2 out of 19
Buy On
  1. Oct 7, 2013
    80
    From its funereal ballads to its hook-infused jams, Innocents is uniformly satisfying and catchy as hell, suggesting a fascinating possibility--if this is the album that he has waited his entire life to make, then at the grizzled age of forty-seven, Moby is only now entering his prime.
  2. Oct 4, 2013
    70
    The collaborations are interesting, and at times fascinating, but there is little doubt that the destiny of most tracks here will be, once again, as sonic accompaniments to visual productions.
  3. Oct 3, 2013
    70
    There’s a huge range of styles on display, but Innocents remains a remarkably cohesive and creative record, thanks both to Moby’s instrumentation and to the album’s conceptual feel.
  4. Oct 1, 2013
    86
    The results are expectedly familiar, fantastic and welcome.
  5. Oct 1, 2013
    80
    There's a hypnotic purity to Innocents.
  6. Sep 30, 2013
    70
    Mark Lanegan's deep, weathered voice is relatively (rightfully) unornamented and dissipates amid soft drones after "Here come the lonely night…can't escape my mind." It helps make Innocents Moby's most powerful work in several years.
  7. Uncut
    Sep 25, 2013
    80
    [Moby] draws on a long list of collaborators to bring character and depth to his distinct brand of ambient techno, with frequently haunting results. [Oct 2013, p.71]
  8. Sep 25, 2013
    70
    Closing track The Dogs (featuring Moby himself on vocals) does stretch things out somewhat, it doesn’t spoil the notion that Innocents, while maybe not the creative renaissaince hinted at, is Moby’s best album for some time.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Apr 29, 2015
    5
    It sounds like a moby album, which I guess is enough for a lot of people, but its hard to escape the feeling that his albums are providingIt sounds like a moby album, which I guess is enough for a lot of people, but its hard to escape the feeling that his albums are providing diminishing returns at this point. Destroyed was boring and this album similarly just drifts by with no great moments really. It is disappointing because Wait for me I found excellent, it was kind of sombre but was a bit of a departure and seemed a bit more experimental, but was the right album for the right time, typically a late night after the party kind of vibe. Hopefully Moby will come back with something new that breaks out of the bad run he seems to be on at the moment. Full Review »
  2. Oct 2, 2013
    9
    I am very much enjoying listening to this album. Its really laid back and filled with a diverse range of vocals. This is exactly what II am very much enjoying listening to this album. Its really laid back and filled with a diverse range of vocals. This is exactly what I wanted. These are some real soulful tracks. Excellent.

    While I have heard a few Moby songs here and there, and I really like them, I have never really sat down and listened to any of his previous albums. After listening to this album i'll definitely check out his previous stuff.
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 1, 2013
    9
    I think it's like "Destroyed II", but that is awesome. The album sounds like Destroyed and a bit like Wait for Me, it's like if he's creatingI think it's like "Destroyed II", but that is awesome. The album sounds like Destroyed and a bit like Wait for Me, it's like if he's creating a Long Triple Album, but, it's a huge album full of sounds that can make you dream awake. Full Review »