Instinct - Niki and the Dove
Instinct Image
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 40 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This is the debut full-length release for Swedish electro-pop duo of Malin Dahlström and Gustaf Karlöf.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Jun 8, 2012
    90
    One of the essential debuts of the year so far.
  2. Jun 8, 2012
    90
    Overall, this is a daring, dynamic and dramatic debut.
  3. Aug 7, 2012
    82
    Warmhearted and epic, Instinct aims for the moon--and sticks the landing.
  4. Jun 8, 2012
    70
    The music they make is frequently stunning.
  5. Aug 9, 2012
    70
    Instinct is an electro-pop album, but it's got that New Order-style darkness that gives it a comforting weight; this is that kind of bummer music that will make you dance.
  6. 70
    Instinct plays as an open love letter to all forms of pop, while subverting those same objects of affection.
  7. Oct 12, 2012
    40
    Beneath the distractingly high-pitched, multi-tracked vocals and tastefully tribal drama, there's nothing more threatening than a synthesized Florence + The Machine. [Jul 2012, p.107]

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 2
  2. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Dec 17, 2012
    8
    The Knife meets Kate Bush, this album is full to the brim with infectious hooks and off-kilter melodies. It's nothing overly unique or ambitious and it can be seen as playing it a bit safe but I'd be lying if I said the hooks weren't stuck in my head for the entire summer break. Collapse
  2. Oct 7, 2012
    5
    If Cirque de Solei married the stepchild of Price and Enya. I don't have anything else to say about this album, yet I need to hit the minimum of 150 characters. Expand