Invincible

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 135 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 135

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 16, 2011
    10
    a crítica falou mau, mas o álbum é maravilhoso (tanto que foi eleito o álbum da década). Invincible vai do pop ao rap e vai do rock ao r&b, o álbum é excelente é um dos melhores do MJ.
  2. MAQ
    Nov 29, 2012
    7
    Not Michael's best album, but neither is it his worst. Simply love the dance tracks, although the record IS a little too long. But anyways, it's much better than the music nowadays. I think critics should see Invincible as an individual album, they shouldn't compare it with his previous works. This album deserves more critical appreciation.
  3. Mar 12, 2013
    10
    This is the best R&B album in the history of the music. Only a fool would give Michael Jackson less than 10/10. With his name comes greatness,awesomeness and coolness
  4. Nov 16, 2010
    10
    Michael Jackson is a legend. And this is an amazing album. From the vocals of the /breaking Dawn to the beat of you rock my world, Michael has rocked my ears in this album. It is amazing and mindblowing.
  5. Nov 5, 2010
    10
    These negative reviews are based on what used to be, not what currently is. The bottom line, it was very different, very entertaining. As a side note, on billboard it got the "album of the decade" award. Shove it critic "professionals", you don't know what you're talking about.
  6. [Anonymous]
    Aug 17, 2005
    10
    When compared to other albums neing released nowadays, this album really is excellent. Don't judge it by anything but it's own merits as an album. The upbeat songs really rock!!!
  7. PepaS
    Jan 10, 2006
    10
    The only reason people gave this cd bad ratings is because mike was in trouble during that time
  8. StevenR
    Jul 10, 2004
    8
    This isn't his best work. But lets face if Thriller (and Off the Wall) was a VERY hard act to follow. He's been trying ever since to recreate the peak of his career. Having said that, this is a very good album, with many very good tracks. It sets him apart as the world class artist he is. I have to say, there's always something new everytime you hear it. The layout of the This isn't his best work. But lets face if Thriller (and Off the Wall) was a VERY hard act to follow. He's been trying ever since to recreate the peak of his career. Having said that, this is a very good album, with many very good tracks. It sets him apart as the world class artist he is. I have to say, there's always something new everytime you hear it. The layout of the tracks maybe a bit iffy, but you don't have to listen in order intended. Long live the innovative nature of MJ's music. There are many an artist who could learn trick or two. Expand
  9. JexyG
    Feb 1, 2006
    10
    GREAT ALBUM MJ's greatest album yet.
  10. MuhdS
    Sep 5, 2006
    10
    MJ's best album yet!!! Can't wait for the next!!!!!!
  11. JennaN
    Jan 10, 2007
    7
    Well I consider myself a great fan of his work. There is no doubt to how skilled this guy truly is. The reason I gave his album a 7 though is because I'm not here to rate his entire career (which would easily be a 10) , only his album, which I thought was lacking the one thing I liked best about his old stuff.. his Michael jackson hee-hees and other random outbursts throughout his Well I consider myself a great fan of his work. There is no doubt to how skilled this guy truly is. The reason I gave his album a 7 though is because I'm not here to rate his entire career (which would easily be a 10) , only his album, which I thought was lacking the one thing I liked best about his old stuff.. his Michael jackson hee-hees and other random outbursts throughout his songs haha! Don't get me wrong though Michael, this is your music and nobody can really tell you how to do it, I just hope your next album is a little more like what you used to make. Expand
  12. SuperN.
    Oct 2, 2007
    10
    I vehemently disagree with the majority of the critic's estimations on the supposed mediocrity of this album. It is not only excellent, it sounds even better 6 years on. Michael Jackson's inward perspective, that the critics interpret as self-pity, seems more like a revelation to his public of the feelings inside the most famous living human being on earth. I think that is quite I vehemently disagree with the majority of the critic's estimations on the supposed mediocrity of this album. It is not only excellent, it sounds even better 6 years on. Michael Jackson's inward perspective, that the critics interpret as self-pity, seems more like a revelation to his public of the feelings inside the most famous living human being on earth. I think that is quite acceptable. The criteria for music criticism is so cynical as to not be a true reflection of the public's perspective, which is based more on emotional impact than advanced musicology and snide remarks. Expand
  13. ZachB
    Mar 30, 2007
    9
    Not quite up to par with Dangerous, Bad, or Thriller but still a magnificent comeback album that maintains soulful originality. "Heaven Can Wait" is very reminiscent of his other quality ballads such as "I Just Can't Stop Loving You" and "One More Chance At Love." His new take on R&B is also remarkably fresh with catchy pop tracks such as "Unbreakable," "Privacy," and of course "You Not quite up to par with Dangerous, Bad, or Thriller but still a magnificent comeback album that maintains soulful originality. "Heaven Can Wait" is very reminiscent of his other quality ballads such as "I Just Can't Stop Loving You" and "One More Chance At Love." His new take on R&B is also remarkably fresh with catchy pop tracks such as "Unbreakable," "Privacy," and of course "You Rock My World." Sadly, this album stood little chance with the harsh allegations that tormented his public name at the time but for anyone who is remotely a fan of his music this is another bulls eye album from the King of Pop. Expand
  14. GemmaH.
    Jun 10, 2007
    8
    I Love Michael Jackson so much! This album is HUGE concidering all the trouble that the public has given him. He is so so so strong to get up on his feet and continue doing what he loves best dispite all the false alligations. I love Michael Jackson with all my heart xxxx
  15. Holly
    Jul 13, 2007
    10
    I thought it was one of his best albums ever. We have to remember...we are no longer living in the 80's. If he were to release another Billie Jean or something, no one would buy it people would think he was crazy. The guy has to adapt to the current time, and I think he did that very well. I thought it was a little long though and to many ballads. But, i still loved it! I'm a I thought it was one of his best albums ever. We have to remember...we are no longer living in the 80's. If he were to release another Billie Jean or something, no one would buy it people would think he was crazy. The guy has to adapt to the current time, and I think he did that very well. I thought it was a little long though and to many ballads. But, i still loved it! I'm a huge fan! long live michael jackson1 Expand
  16. JasonM.
    Sep 26, 2007
    10
    Absolutely brilliant album, with an appearence from the late Notorious B.I.G. - genius, 'Unbreakable' just great and inventive plus good opening track, 'You Rock My World' another album highlight, 'Butterflies' awesome ballad, 'Whatever Happens' totally rocks, 'Privacy' - brings truth and reality, 'Cry!' another catchy ballad, Absolutely brilliant album, with an appearence from the late Notorious B.I.G. - genius, 'Unbreakable' just great and inventive plus good opening track, 'You Rock My World' another album highlight, 'Butterflies' awesome ballad, 'Whatever Happens' totally rocks, 'Privacy' - brings truth and reality, 'Cry!' another catchy ballad, 'Heaven Can Wait' - great piece of songwriting, '2000 watts' - futuristic track with a good appearance by Teddy Riley- this shows Michael can adapt to current times, I truly great 10 out of 10 album, people shouldn't review this so bad the album is awesome, can't wait for his next offering. BY the way Michael Jackson fans NEW TRACK OUT - Gangsta (No friend of mine) try and download it now it's brilliant, new and exciting new MJ tack with a rap performance by Temperamental. Can't wait for the BAD 2Oth anniversary Re-Release OUT October 2007' the 15th. Can't wait for the new album!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  17. TebitE.
    Jan 27, 2009
    10
    Invincible album is not a video album but yet listening to the lyrics filled the gap left out.Invincible was not well received by critics but yet it sold very well as compared to albums in 2000s.Micheal is still "alive" and he will still do more "Great works". Just sit back and watch.
  18. Cleetus
    Nov 25, 2001
    10
    The album is good. It is nice to see the King return after such a long absence.
  19. abouzardaman
    Nov 6, 2001
    10
    da man is still da king.. respect..
  20. Max
    Nov 6, 2001
    9
    Despite most of the critics, I consider this album very good. I am a great R&B fanatic and Michael Jackson satisfies most of my needs with this cd. His voice is simply fantastic. They way it's recorded is amazing -- if you play it loud, seems like MJ is at home! Break od Dawn, Butterflies, Speechless: they are all very good ballads. Break of Dawn is currently my preference on the Despite most of the critics, I consider this album very good. I am a great R&B fanatic and Michael Jackson satisfies most of my needs with this cd. His voice is simply fantastic. They way it's recorded is amazing -- if you play it loud, seems like MJ is at home! Break od Dawn, Butterflies, Speechless: they are all very good ballads. Break of Dawn is currently my preference on the album. Unbreakable rhythm is incredible. They only tracks i did not like, like the rest, are "Heartbreaker" and "Threatened", the rest, is magic! Expand
  21. kents
    Jul 20, 2004
    10
    get your heads together people. do you have to use his personal life as an argument for his work? stay focused and listen to invincible, really listen to it. it is the greatest piece of art ever created. no other artist has ever made anything like this. and stop comparing it to thriller. thriller was made in 1982 and was and is still the best album of all times. but we now live in 2004 get your heads together people. do you have to use his personal life as an argument for his work? stay focused and listen to invincible, really listen to it. it is the greatest piece of art ever created. no other artist has ever made anything like this. and stop comparing it to thriller. thriller was made in 1982 and was and is still the best album of all times. but we now live in 2004 and his music also lives in 2004 and beyond. he knows it and the fans know it. we therefore do not sit around and wait for the next billie jean. we know better. you should to. Expand
  22. JosephA
    Sep 22, 2005
    9
    This is a great album, it really grew on me. Points on it even outshine some early stuff. Long live the king of pop!
  23. LukeI
    Jun 3, 2007
    8
    I love MJ music and this one was probably the worst of HIS albums but compared to any other it will be better. Looking forward to his new album November 2007. MJ will re-shine his crown of King of POP!
  24. Natalie
    Jul 13, 2007
    9
    I love michael jackson!!! i was slightly disappointed with the album, just because I LOVE his old work so much. But, at the same time, I thought it was a lot better than half the stuff out there, and I thought the reviews he got were horrible. I'm really looking forward to his album that comes out in November of 2007.
  25. HJ.
    Jul 23, 2008
    10
    There key elements in a song that makes it stand shoulder above the rest. The instruments arrangements, vocal tempo and sonic accuracy. Then their are major vendor critics who score their rating +-2 of their industry peers before they have a listen to a single track. We know you haters, There is very few good materials out there to compare with.
  26. RiteshN
    Jun 22, 2009
    7
    If the album was kept limited to only 10 songs and if the last 5 songs had been kept off the final album , this would have been an album better than Thriller. The initial 10 songs are AMAZING ! Best songs are - Heaven can wait, Heartbreaker, Break of dawn, 2000 watts.
  27. MarlinB.
    Nov 16, 2001
    10
    I fell in love with this album from the begining to the end. it has something for every pop cultured, r&b, Rap wanna be out there. the man is amazing to do what he can do. to keep his legacy. you dont lose something that you are trapped in. this is michael and his music where talking about here. get into the groove,"sigh", slow people catch up.
  28. JammyD.
    Nov 28, 2001
    10
    A brilliant and innovative work that some people might not like but it sure delighted me
  29. LeartS.
    Dec 16, 2001
    10
    Say what you want about his nose, but this album is just great. Michael was able to satisfy the pop, as well as th R&B fans with great songs like "Unbreakable", "Threatened", "Break of Dawn", "Heaven can wait", "Butterflies" etc, etc, etc. Big thumbs up to Mike, he proved to be "Invincible"!
  30. MJisAMAZING
    Mar 12, 2005
    10
    Michael Jackson is amazing and i love hm - now and forever. The invincible album is fantastic and the people who critisise him are either rascist or just real losers. This album is great, with real great tracks, like butterflies, cry, invincible, all of them are great actually. MJ is named the King Of Pop fpr a reason and this album proves it. by MJ is Amacing, 14 yrs old.
  31. jjyuu
    Nov 11, 2006
    10
    this cd rox
  32. May 11, 2014
    10
    This album is so underrated... I think it's even better than the previous one, History. Unbreakable and What ever Happens are the best tracks with 2000 Watts. You have to re-discover this if you missed it.
  33. May 15, 2014
    10
    Most underrated album ever. This album is a true work of art, it totally flaws and includes some of THE most amazing songs MJ has ever written (best example: the song "Speechless")
  34. Dec 25, 2014
    9
    criticism must be musical. there are to much resentment in some valuations even judging his lifestyle. This album has works as 'you rock my world' or 'whatever happens' with innovative sounds very well made. Butterflies, Unbreakable and Break of Dawn were surprisingly good though with similar sound. generally outstanding, excluding The Lost Children and Privacy, a whim. excellent materialcriticism must be musical. there are to much resentment in some valuations even judging his lifestyle. This album has works as 'you rock my world' or 'whatever happens' with innovative sounds very well made. Butterflies, Unbreakable and Break of Dawn were surprisingly good though with similar sound. generally outstanding, excluding The Lost Children and Privacy, a whim. excellent material like almost everything that makes Mr. Jackson. Expand
  35. Jul 11, 2015
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Had it had a normal release with music videos, live performances, commercials and etc. it would've been a huge success. But due to the dispute with Sony the album had no support, no music videos besides You Rock My World and only had one live appereance. Vocally this is perhaps the best album and MJ's as aggressive and intense as ever before. The three first Rodney Jerkins songs are incredible and there's even a Biggie-verse..

    The only negative thing that can be said about is perhaps that it's just a little too long, but I'd never take out any songs. The album starts with fast and aggressive songs, before slowing down later on.

    Personally I love this album. I've been listening to it for many years and sometimes I listen to the whole album from start to stop several times a day during the time in my car.

    Invincible doesn't hold anything back for MJ's other great albums. It could perhaps have been slightly shorter. at 16 songs with several of the songs being over 5 minutes it's a very long album, but I donæt know which song to take out..
    Expand
  36. Jan 31, 2016
    8
    Its is a more calm approach from Michael because History was lot of anger. So I think he was just switching up his style a little which I think is good. This is an underrated album when looking from a critics view
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 19
  2. Negative: 4 out of 19
  1. The mix is such that the saccharine ("You Are My Life" and "Heaven Can Wait") is outweighed by the brilliant ("Whatever Happens" and "The Lost Children"), creating a record that is quite relevant while at the same time being experimental and fresh.
  2. Jackson has lived a bizarre train-wreck life of mystery and tragedy, but following such a lengthy absence, Invincible just reeks of desperation and aimlessness.
  3. It does at least manage to include several of the things we hold dearest about Michael Jackson the singer, and it also steers clear of anything as laugh-out-loud as 'Earth Song'.