User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 140 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 140

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. [Anonymous]
    Aug 17, 2005
    10
    When compared to other albums neing released nowadays, this album really is excellent. Don't judge it by anything but it's own merits as an album. The upbeat songs really rock!!!
  2. PepaS
    Jan 10, 2006
    10
    The only reason people gave this cd bad ratings is because mike was in trouble during that time
  3. JexyG
    Feb 1, 2006
    10
    GREAT ALBUM MJ's greatest album yet.
  4. MuhdS
    Sep 5, 2006
    10
    MJ's best album yet!!! Can't wait for the next!!!!!!
  5. SuperN.
    Oct 2, 2007
    10
    I vehemently disagree with the majority of the critic's estimations on the supposed mediocrity of this album. It is not only excellent, it sounds even better 6 years on. Michael Jackson's inward perspective, that the critics interpret as self-pity, seems more like a revelation to his public of the feelings inside the most famous living human being on earth. I think that is quite I vehemently disagree with the majority of the critic's estimations on the supposed mediocrity of this album. It is not only excellent, it sounds even better 6 years on. Michael Jackson's inward perspective, that the critics interpret as self-pity, seems more like a revelation to his public of the feelings inside the most famous living human being on earth. I think that is quite acceptable. The criteria for music criticism is so cynical as to not be a true reflection of the public's perspective, which is based more on emotional impact than advanced musicology and snide remarks. Expand
  6. Holly
    Jul 13, 2007
    10
    I thought it was one of his best albums ever. We have to remember...we are no longer living in the 80's. If he were to release another Billie Jean or something, no one would buy it people would think he was crazy. The guy has to adapt to the current time, and I think he did that very well. I thought it was a little long though and to many ballads. But, i still loved it! I'm a I thought it was one of his best albums ever. We have to remember...we are no longer living in the 80's. If he were to release another Billie Jean or something, no one would buy it people would think he was crazy. The guy has to adapt to the current time, and I think he did that very well. I thought it was a little long though and to many ballads. But, i still loved it! I'm a huge fan! long live michael jackson1 Expand
  7. JasonM.
    Sep 26, 2007
    10
    Absolutely brilliant album, with an appearence from the late Notorious B.I.G. - genius, 'Unbreakable' just great and inventive plus good opening track, 'You Rock My World' another album highlight, 'Butterflies' awesome ballad, 'Whatever Happens' totally rocks, 'Privacy' - brings truth and reality, 'Cry!' another catchy ballad, Absolutely brilliant album, with an appearence from the late Notorious B.I.G. - genius, 'Unbreakable' just great and inventive plus good opening track, 'You Rock My World' another album highlight, 'Butterflies' awesome ballad, 'Whatever Happens' totally rocks, 'Privacy' - brings truth and reality, 'Cry!' another catchy ballad, 'Heaven Can Wait' - great piece of songwriting, '2000 watts' - futuristic track with a good appearance by Teddy Riley- this shows Michael can adapt to current times, I truly great 10 out of 10 album, people shouldn't review this so bad the album is awesome, can't wait for his next offering. BY the way Michael Jackson fans NEW TRACK OUT - Gangsta (No friend of mine) try and download it now it's brilliant, new and exciting new MJ tack with a rap performance by Temperamental. Can't wait for the BAD 2Oth anniversary Re-Release OUT October 2007' the 15th. Can't wait for the new album!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  8. TebitE.
    Jan 27, 2009
    10
    Invincible album is not a video album but yet listening to the lyrics filled the gap left out.Invincible was not well received by critics but yet it sold very well as compared to albums in 2000s.Micheal is still "alive" and he will still do more "Great works". Just sit back and watch.
  9. Cleetus
    Nov 25, 2001
    10
    The album is good. It is nice to see the King return after such a long absence.
  10. abouzardaman
    Nov 6, 2001
    10
    da man is still da king.. respect..
  11. kents
    Jul 20, 2004
    10
    get your heads together people. do you have to use his personal life as an argument for his work? stay focused and listen to invincible, really listen to it. it is the greatest piece of art ever created. no other artist has ever made anything like this. and stop comparing it to thriller. thriller was made in 1982 and was and is still the best album of all times. but we now live in 2004 get your heads together people. do you have to use his personal life as an argument for his work? stay focused and listen to invincible, really listen to it. it is the greatest piece of art ever created. no other artist has ever made anything like this. and stop comparing it to thriller. thriller was made in 1982 and was and is still the best album of all times. but we now live in 2004 and his music also lives in 2004 and beyond. he knows it and the fans know it. we therefore do not sit around and wait for the next billie jean. we know better. you should to. Expand
  12. HJ.
    Jul 23, 2008
    10
    There key elements in a song that makes it stand shoulder above the rest. The instruments arrangements, vocal tempo and sonic accuracy. Then their are major vendor critics who score their rating +-2 of their industry peers before they have a listen to a single track. We know you haters, There is very few good materials out there to compare with.
  13. MarlinB.
    Nov 16, 2001
    10
    I fell in love with this album from the begining to the end. it has something for every pop cultured, r&b, Rap wanna be out there. the man is amazing to do what he can do. to keep his legacy. you dont lose something that you are trapped in. this is michael and his music where talking about here. get into the groove,"sigh", slow people catch up.
  14. JammyD.
    Nov 28, 2001
    10
    A brilliant and innovative work that some people might not like but it sure delighted me
  15. LeartS.
    Dec 16, 2001
    10
    Say what you want about his nose, but this album is just great. Michael was able to satisfy the pop, as well as th R&B fans with great songs like "Unbreakable", "Threatened", "Break of Dawn", "Heaven can wait", "Butterflies" etc, etc, etc. Big thumbs up to Mike, he proved to be "Invincible"!
  16. MJisAMAZING
    Mar 12, 2005
    10
    Michael Jackson is amazing and i love hm - now and forever. The invincible album is fantastic and the people who critisise him are either rascist or just real losers. This album is great, with real great tracks, like butterflies, cry, invincible, all of them are great actually. MJ is named the King Of Pop fpr a reason and this album proves it. by MJ is Amacing, 14 yrs old.
  17. jjyuu
    Nov 11, 2006
    10
    this cd rox
  18. Nov 5, 2010
    10
    These negative reviews are based on what used to be, not what currently is. The bottom line, it was very different, very entertaining. As a side note, on billboard it got the "album of the decade" award. Shove it critic "professionals", you don't know what you're talking about.
  19. Nov 16, 2010
    10
    Michael Jackson is a legend. And this is an amazing album. From the vocals of the /breaking Dawn to the beat of you rock my world, Michael has rocked my ears in this album. It is amazing and mindblowing.
  20. Aug 16, 2011
    10
    a crítica falou mau, mas o álbum é maravilhoso (tanto que foi eleito o álbum da década). Invincible vai do pop ao rap e vai do rock ao r&b, o álbum é excelente é um dos melhores do MJ.
  21. May 11, 2014
    10
    This album is so underrated... I think it's even better than the previous one, History. Unbreakable and What ever Happens are the best tracks with 2000 Watts. You have to re-discover this if you missed it.
  22. May 15, 2014
    10
    Most underrated album ever. This album is a true work of art, it totally flaws and includes some of THE most amazing songs MJ has ever written (best example: the song "Speechless")
  23. ZachB
    Mar 30, 2007
    9
    Not quite up to par with Dangerous, Bad, or Thriller but still a magnificent comeback album that maintains soulful originality. "Heaven Can Wait" is very reminiscent of his other quality ballads such as "I Just Can't Stop Loving You" and "One More Chance At Love." His new take on R&B is also remarkably fresh with catchy pop tracks such as "Unbreakable," "Privacy," and of course "You Not quite up to par with Dangerous, Bad, or Thriller but still a magnificent comeback album that maintains soulful originality. "Heaven Can Wait" is very reminiscent of his other quality ballads such as "I Just Can't Stop Loving You" and "One More Chance At Love." His new take on R&B is also remarkably fresh with catchy pop tracks such as "Unbreakable," "Privacy," and of course "You Rock My World." Sadly, this album stood little chance with the harsh allegations that tormented his public name at the time but for anyone who is remotely a fan of his music this is another bulls eye album from the King of Pop. Expand
  24. Max
    Nov 6, 2001
    9
    Despite most of the critics, I consider this album very good. I am a great R&B fanatic and Michael Jackson satisfies most of my needs with this cd. His voice is simply fantastic. They way it's recorded is amazing -- if you play it loud, seems like MJ is at home! Break od Dawn, Butterflies, Speechless: they are all very good ballads. Break of Dawn is currently my preference on the Despite most of the critics, I consider this album very good. I am a great R&B fanatic and Michael Jackson satisfies most of my needs with this cd. His voice is simply fantastic. They way it's recorded is amazing -- if you play it loud, seems like MJ is at home! Break od Dawn, Butterflies, Speechless: they are all very good ballads. Break of Dawn is currently my preference on the album. Unbreakable rhythm is incredible. They only tracks i did not like, like the rest, are "Heartbreaker" and "Threatened", the rest, is magic! Expand
  25. JosephA
    Sep 22, 2005
    9
    This is a great album, it really grew on me. Points on it even outshine some early stuff. Long live the king of pop!
  26. Natalie
    Jul 13, 2007
    9
    I love michael jackson!!! i was slightly disappointed with the album, just because I LOVE his old work so much. But, at the same time, I thought it was a lot better than half the stuff out there, and I thought the reviews he got were horrible. I'm really looking forward to his album that comes out in November of 2007.
  27. Dec 25, 2014
    9
    criticism must be musical. there are to much resentment in some valuations even judging his lifestyle. This album has works as 'you rock my world' or 'whatever happens' with innovative sounds very well made. Butterflies, Unbreakable and Break of Dawn were surprisingly good though with similar sound. generally outstanding, excluding The Lost Children and Privacy, a whim. excellent materialcriticism must be musical. there are to much resentment in some valuations even judging his lifestyle. This album has works as 'you rock my world' or 'whatever happens' with innovative sounds very well made. Butterflies, Unbreakable and Break of Dawn were surprisingly good though with similar sound. generally outstanding, excluding The Lost Children and Privacy, a whim. excellent material like almost everything that makes Mr. Jackson. Expand
  28. Jul 11, 2015
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Had it had a normal release with music videos, live performances, commercials and etc. it would've been a huge success. But due to the dispute with Sony the album had no support, no music videos besides You Rock My World and only had one live appereance. Vocally this is perhaps the best album and MJ's as aggressive and intense as ever before. The three first Rodney Jerkins songs are incredible and there's even a Biggie-verse..

    The only negative thing that can be said about is perhaps that it's just a little too long, but I'd never take out any songs. The album starts with fast and aggressive songs, before slowing down later on.

    Personally I love this album. I've been listening to it for many years and sometimes I listen to the whole album from start to stop several times a day during the time in my car.

    Invincible doesn't hold anything back for MJ's other great albums. It could perhaps have been slightly shorter. at 16 songs with several of the songs being over 5 minutes it's a very long album, but I donæt know which song to take out..
    Expand
  29. StevenR
    Jul 10, 2004
    8
    This isn't his best work. But lets face if Thriller (and Off the Wall) was a VERY hard act to follow. He's been trying ever since to recreate the peak of his career. Having said that, this is a very good album, with many very good tracks. It sets him apart as the world class artist he is. I have to say, there's always something new everytime you hear it. The layout of the This isn't his best work. But lets face if Thriller (and Off the Wall) was a VERY hard act to follow. He's been trying ever since to recreate the peak of his career. Having said that, this is a very good album, with many very good tracks. It sets him apart as the world class artist he is. I have to say, there's always something new everytime you hear it. The layout of the tracks maybe a bit iffy, but you don't have to listen in order intended. Long live the innovative nature of MJ's music. There are many an artist who could learn trick or two. Expand
  30. GemmaH.
    Jun 10, 2007
    8
    I Love Michael Jackson so much! This album is HUGE concidering all the trouble that the public has given him. He is so so so strong to get up on his feet and continue doing what he loves best dispite all the false alligations. I love Michael Jackson with all my heart xxxx
  31. LukeI
    Jun 3, 2007
    8
    I love MJ music and this one was probably the worst of HIS albums but compared to any other it will be better. Looking forward to his new album November 2007. MJ will re-shine his crown of King of POP!
  32. Jan 31, 2016
    8
    Its is a more calm approach from Michael because History was lot of anger. So I think he was just switching up his style a little which I think is good. This is an underrated album when looking from a critics view
  33. JennaN
    Jan 10, 2007
    7
    Well I consider myself a great fan of his work. There is no doubt to how skilled this guy truly is. The reason I gave his album a 7 though is because I'm not here to rate his entire career (which would easily be a 10) , only his album, which I thought was lacking the one thing I liked best about his old stuff.. his Michael jackson hee-hees and other random outbursts throughout his Well I consider myself a great fan of his work. There is no doubt to how skilled this guy truly is. The reason I gave his album a 7 though is because I'm not here to rate his entire career (which would easily be a 10) , only his album, which I thought was lacking the one thing I liked best about his old stuff.. his Michael jackson hee-hees and other random outbursts throughout his songs haha! Don't get me wrong though Michael, this is your music and nobody can really tell you how to do it, I just hope your next album is a little more like what you used to make. Expand
  34. RiteshN
    Jun 22, 2009
    7
    If the album was kept limited to only 10 songs and if the last 5 songs had been kept off the final album , this would have been an album better than Thriller. The initial 10 songs are AMAZING ! Best songs are - Heaven can wait, Heartbreaker, Break of dawn, 2000 watts.
  35. MAQ
    Nov 29, 2012
    7
    Not Michael's best album, but neither is it his worst. Simply love the dance tracks, although the record IS a little too long. But anyways, it's much better than the music nowadays. I think critics should see Invincible as an individual album, they shouldn't compare it with his previous works. This album deserves more critical appreciation.
  36. BennyK
    Mar 10, 2005
    6
    Michael Jackson did not even try to make this album great. He laid back and just produced some music. He did not put his best in making the album. The songs were great but some of them did not match the album. There was just too much songs. I would cut out the songs Heartbreaker, Heaven Can Wait, You Are My Life, Don't Walk Away, and The Lost Children and put in songs that fits the Michael Jackson did not even try to make this album great. He laid back and just produced some music. He did not put his best in making the album. The songs were great but some of them did not match the album. There was just too much songs. I would cut out the songs Heartbreaker, Heaven Can Wait, You Are My Life, Don't Walk Away, and The Lost Children and put in songs that fits the album. Take out the weakest songs and leave the strongest songs in the album. The rest of the songs were great but not Michael Jackson exellent. It was not 99.9% perfect. Long live the king. Expand
  37. DanB
    Jan 5, 2008
    6
    Some really well crafted songs like "Unbreakable" "Break Of Dawn" "You Rock My World" "Butterflies" and "Whatever Happens", but for every good song there are 2 that are bad on this album. All of the songs sound virtually the same and are pretty boring. This album seems to only incorporate r&b and doesn't include other great genres that Michael has incorporated into his other albums Some really well crafted songs like "Unbreakable" "Break Of Dawn" "You Rock My World" "Butterflies" and "Whatever Happens", but for every good song there are 2 that are bad on this album. All of the songs sound virtually the same and are pretty boring. This album seems to only incorporate r&b and doesn't include other great genres that Michael has incorporated into his other albums like rock, funk, soul, pop, and gospel. This album doesn't deserve a 10 in any strech of the imagination, but certainly doesn't deserve a 0 either. Since I like Michael Jackson's music so much, I'll give this album a 6. Expand
  38. JeffJ
    Nov 26, 2006
    6
    It's got some great songs, but it's also full of generic dance tracks and overly sappy ballads. I still will never doubt his talent, as there are still some shades of genius on some of the tracks but the album would be better if some of the dead ends were cut off.
  39. Oct 11, 2010
    6
    This is an unsteady album and probably the worst of Jackson's albums. Some highlights include 'You Rock My World', a throw back to Off The Wall and 'Butterflies' a great, mid-tempo song written by Marsha Ambrosius, a neo soul artist. These songs are easily brought down a rung or two by poor compositions like 'All The Lost Children' and 'Don't Walk Away'. I've never been a big JacksonThis is an unsteady album and probably the worst of Jackson's albums. Some highlights include 'You Rock My World', a throw back to Off The Wall and 'Butterflies' a great, mid-tempo song written by Marsha Ambrosius, a neo soul artist. These songs are easily brought down a rung or two by poor compositions like 'All The Lost Children' and 'Don't Walk Away'. I've never been a big Jackson ballad fan and I think on this album he forgets that possibly the best message you can send the world is to make them get down and boogie. The Santana song is a nice moment between two legends but overall this album does not have the feel of any other Jackson album. The highlights are minimal but the genius is still there,if a little flawed. Expand
  40. Dec 11, 2015
    6
    Reviewers and music "experts" started hating everything MJ released after the allegations in 1993. Some of them even changed their mind about some of his then praised album (Bad & Dangerous). They are all hypocrites.
    This is indeed MJs weakest adult solo album but it's far from a crappy album. Unbreakable, Break Of Dawn, Butterflies, You Rock My World, The Lost Children, Whatever Happens
    Reviewers and music "experts" started hating everything MJ released after the allegations in 1993. Some of them even changed their mind about some of his then praised album (Bad & Dangerous). They are all hypocrites.
    This is indeed MJs weakest adult solo album but it's far from a crappy album. Unbreakable, Break Of Dawn, Butterflies, You Rock My World, The Lost Children, Whatever Happens and Speechless are all great songs. Sony kept Michael from being 100% creative in this one, they wanted it to sound as modern as possible and Michael scrapped a lot of better sounding songs (which are issued on The Ultimate Collection and Xscape, some are demos circulating on the internet).
    This album could have been compressed into a shorter songlist and therefor gotten a better rating from me. Still, by comparing this album to HIStory and Dangerous, I think a strong 6 is pretty fair.
    MJ seems a bit uninspired on some tracks. It felt a bit rushed and MJ never had this much unnecessary fillers and I honestly also think that MJ himself would admit (if he lived will say) that this album was a disappointment
    Expand
  41. Aug 8, 2013
    4
    terrible album, i hate it!

    to think its from the same person who previously made dangerous and bad!!!

    shocking that he slipped so far down!!! really really disappointing
  42. Sep 10, 2011
    2
    Michael Jackson's final studio album (while alive, that is) is nothing amazing. It's a big fall from a lot of his older stuff, and even his 90's music. There's very, very little good here. I would not recommend listening to it, and if you decide to buy it, I pity you.
  43. YoriD.
    Nov 19, 2001
    1
    "da man" is no longer a man but i'll stick to the topic of the music... first single was catchy(video was a whole other deal)but nothing more. longest artistic block in the history of music.i guess money really CAN'T buy everything. the rest of the songs just render "him"........INVISIBLE (he's even fading away on the cd cover)
  44. CrashB.
    Nov 7, 2001
    1
    This has to be his worst album ever.... he's lost it.
  45. mattt
    Jul 7, 2007
    0
    Can't stand it. Biggest MJ fan up until this point. R & B? Where's the soul and funk, disco and rock? MJ used to lift me up, now he's just trying to fit in with his contemporary compadre's that he used to stand so far out in front of all those years ago. If that is what makes him happy then so be it. But 15 years on from Dangerous and I still haven't come to terms Can't stand it. Biggest MJ fan up until this point. R & B? Where's the soul and funk, disco and rock? MJ used to lift me up, now he's just trying to fit in with his contemporary compadre's that he used to stand so far out in front of all those years ago. If that is what makes him happy then so be it. But 15 years on from Dangerous and I still haven't come to terms with the loss of the magical Michael Jackson of the 80's and 90's. It is the true tragedy of our lifetime. RIP Michael Jackson. *cries* Expand
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 19
  2. Negative: 4 out of 19
  1. The mix is such that the saccharine ("You Are My Life" and "Heaven Can Wait") is outweighed by the brilliant ("Whatever Happens" and "The Lost Children"), creating a record that is quite relevant while at the same time being experimental and fresh.
  2. Jackson has lived a bizarre train-wreck life of mystery and tragedy, but following such a lengthy absence, Invincible just reeks of desperation and aimlessness.
  3. It does at least manage to include several of the things we hold dearest about Michael Jackson the singer, and it also steers clear of anything as laugh-out-loud as 'Earth Song'.