Invincible - Michael Jackson
Invincible Image
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 104 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The King of Pop's first full album of new material since 1992's 'Dangerous' features 16 tracks.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 19
  2. Negative: 4 out of 19
  1. At 78 minutes this is too long, and especially given his history, "The Lost Children" is offensive. But the first three tracks are the Rodney Jerkins of the year, "2000 Watts" is the Teddy Riley of the past five years, and even the prunables offer small surprises.
  2. The mix is such that the saccharine ("You Are My Life" and "Heaven Can Wait") is outweighed by the brilliant ("Whatever Happens" and "The Lost Children"), creating a record that is quite relevant while at the same time being experimental and fresh.
  3. Ultimately, the record runs too long, losing steam halfway through.... Fortunately, Jackson was clever enough to front-load this record, loading the first seven songs with really good, edgy dance numbers.
  4. It does at least manage to include several of the things we hold dearest about Michael Jackson the singer, and it also steers clear of anything as laugh-out-loud as 'Earth Song'.
  5. For all of the energy and money that went into it, ''Invincible'' is curiously lacking in excitement or thrills, cheap or otherwise.
  6. 'Invincible' is an album almost unbearably mired in schmaltz.
  7. 20
    Tired, frightened-sounding and hopelessly misjudged.... Hugely disappointing. [Dec 2001, p.116]

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 44
  2. Negative: 5 out of 44
  1. Nov 16, 2010
    10
    Michael Jackson is a legend. And this is an amazing album. From the vocals of the /breaking Dawn to the beat of you rock my world, Michael has rocked my ears in this album. It is amazing and mindblowing. Expand
  2. Holly
    Jul 13, 2007
    10
    I thought it was one of his best albums ever. We have to remember...we are no longer living in the 80's. If he were to release another Billie Jean or something, no one would buy it people would think he was crazy. The guy has to adapt to the current time, and I think he did that very well. I thought it was a little long though and to many ballads. But, i still loved it! I'm a huge fan! long live michael jackson1 Expand
  3. MarlinB.
    Nov 16, 2001
    10
    I fell in love with this album from the begining to the end. it has something for every pop cultured, r&b, Rap wanna be out there. the man is amazing to do what he can do. to keep his legacy. you dont lose something that you are trapped in. this is michael and his music where talking about here. get into the groove,"sigh", slow people catch up. Expand
  4. Nov 5, 2010
    10
    These negative reviews are based on what used to be, not what currently is. The bottom line, it was very different, very entertaining. As a side note, on billboard it got the "album of the decade" award. Shove it critic "professionals", you don't know what you're talking about. Expand
  5. Max
    Nov 6, 2001
    9
    Despite most of the critics, I consider this album very good. I am a great R&B fanatic and Michael Jackson satisfies most of my needs with this cd. His voice is simply fantastic. They way it's recorded is amazing -- if you play it loud, seems like MJ is at home! Break od Dawn, Butterflies, Speechless: they are all very good ballads. Break of Dawn is currently my preference on the album. Unbreakable rhythm is incredible. They only tracks i did not like, like the rest, are "Heartbreaker" and "Threatened", the rest, is magic! Expand
  6. RiteshN
    Jun 22, 2009
    7
    If the album was kept limited to only 10 songs and if the last 5 songs had been kept off the final album , this would have been an album better than Thriller. The initial 10 songs are AMAZING ! Best songs are - Heaven can wait, Heartbreaker, Break of dawn, 2000 watts. Expand
  7. mattt
    Jul 7, 2007
    0
    Can't stand it. Biggest MJ fan up until this point. R & B? Where's the soul and funk, disco and rock? MJ used to lift me up, now he's just trying to fit in with his contemporary compadre's that he used to stand so far out in front of all those years ago. If that is what makes him happy then so be it. But 15 years on from Dangerous and I still haven't come to terms with the loss of the magical Michael Jackson of the 80's and 90's. It is the true tragedy of our lifetime. RIP Michael Jackson. *cries* Expand

See all 44 User Reviews