Junip

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Junip Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 11 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This is the second full-length release for the Swedish indie rock trio.
Buy On
  • Record Label: Mute
  • Genre(s): Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Indie Pop, Alternative Singer/Songwriter
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Apr 25, 2013
    80
    Gonzalez's intricate, mellifluous guitar playing is not front and center, but committed followers of this side of his artistry will certainly be satisfied.
  2. It can be plodding and takes a while to get going, but also occasionally reaches soaring, festival-fields-at-dusk heights.
  3. Apr 22, 2013
    80
    A fuller, more focused version of the sound they introduced on Fields, this set of songs is worthy of being Junip's namesake album.
  4. Apr 23, 2013
    70
    Ultimately, Junip keep their distance, offering a comforting hand on your shoulder rather than a full and unreserved embrace.
  5. 70
    More often than not, Junip can essentially be heard as an instrumental pop album with the music feeding and building off itself. After seeing parts of three separate decades together, Junip have finally worked up to what they can be at their best.
  6. Oct 4, 2013
    67
    The band pulls its emotional punches with all the opaque atmospherics, but ultimately, Junip takes the listener where they want to go as long as they surrender to the ride.
  7. May 2, 2013
    40
    The second half of the album finds the foursome relenting and mostly mellowing out.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Apr 24, 2013
    9
    Fields was a defining debut, but in this self-titled they build off of that sound and introduce things like catchy hooks like "Your Life,Fields was a defining debut, but in this self-titled they build off of that sound and introduce things like catchy hooks like "Your Life, Your Call", or subtle yet intriguing aspects such as the bass line on "Baton". Junip manages to keep you listening while they soothe you with their mellow but badass sound Expand
  2. Apr 24, 2013
    8
    It's my first time to listen Junip and simply love this. It's not a rock at all and not an indie thing. They combined everything that theyIt's my first time to listen Junip and simply love this. It's not a rock at all and not an indie thing. They combined everything that they need to combine. Tune, voice and lyrics... I really love this album. Expand
  3. May 28, 2013
    8
    Junip a three piece psychedelic indie rock band that released their debut EP "Black Refuge" back in 2005 later releasing their debut fullJunip a three piece psychedelic indie rock band that released their debut EP "Black Refuge" back in 2005 later releasing their debut full length "Fields" in 2010. On April 23, 2013 their self titled sophomore album was released. Junip is known for their lovely acoustic patterns their laid back but still very cool synthesized effects and their soothing vocals. Well if you like all of that you will not be disappointed. Junip manages to release beautiful music and has yet to release something i don't like. After listening to the new album from start to finish about a hundred times i can say that i really enjoy this record it's great and i suggest it to anyone who simply likes music because Junip is a band that almost anyone can enjoy. However after listening to the new album i took some time to go back and listen to "Fields" i realized how much i liked their previous album more then the new self titled. Please don't get me wrong i love the new album i just think the debut album was better.I give this album a solid 8 out of 10 Collapse
  4. Oct 23, 2015
    6
    After several years of absence, Junip (a three-piece indie folk rock band from Sweden) debuted their eponymous sophomore album. Blending theAfter several years of absence, Junip (a three-piece indie folk rock band from Sweden) debuted their eponymous sophomore album. Blending the psychedelic rock of the 60's and 70's with modern synths and empathetic vocals, José González and his pals come out swinging but wind up just short of a home run.
    Junip was founded in 1998 and released their first EP two years later, titled Straight Lines. The band was put on hold in 2003 when González's own career took off, they then got back together again in 2005 to release their second EP Black Refuge. Once again González took off on his own path and was solo until 2010 when the band got back together and released their first full-length album known as Fields. The release of Fields gave the trio some momentum and three years later, they're back and still maintaining the same hypnotic rhythm they originally had 15 years ago.
    The album opens up with “Line of Fire”, an uptempo and ethereal-sounding jam. Preceding this is “Suddenly”, a more somber chill-out song that still maintains a hypnotic vibe for which Junip is known. Coming up in the No. 3 spot is “So Clear,” another propulsive song that makes you want to rock out just as “Line of Fire” did. This is where the trio hits their first speed bump: consistency. While Junip's originality and use of varying instruments (such as the Moog synthesizer) is much appreciated, they lack consistency which is important for a more enjoyable listening experience. The album seems to jump between buoyant indie rock to downtempo mellow folk that makes you want to close your eyes and relax. The constant variances between songs prove difficult to get totally immersed in the group's album and take away from the truly great experience that could've been if they had simply stuck with a single trajectory. If Junip were to release these songs as singles there's no doubt they'd be highly praised but compiled into one album the talented trio's latest feels like a swing and a miss.
    Expand