Kelis Was Here Image
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 34 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The singer's fourth album features production from will.i.am, Cee-Lo, Linda Perry, Max Martin and Raphael Saadiq (but, for the first time, not the Neptunes). Husband Nas also guests.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Few artists could line up an ode to bondage right next to a love song so sweet that it could be played at a wedding or invoke Joan Jett right after sharing a cosmic trip with Cee-Lo. That's what Kelis does here. [20 Aug 2006]
  2. The songs are individually good, but don't really sound like they should have been grouped together on an album.
  3. Kelis is blessed with a unique voice. [Nov 2006, p.143]
  4. Kelis... raps, rants and successfully maintains her spacey freakiness while sailing out into even radio-friendlier waters.
  5. The result? An album that could just as easily bear the name of any other pop singer working the charts today.
  6. 60
    A typical case of slack self-editing... Kelis was here too long, frankly. [Nov 2006, p.101]
  7. A bloated 77-minute collection that badly mistakes quantity for quality.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 19
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 19
  3. Negative: 2 out of 19
  1. Lisa
    Nov 26, 2006
    10
    This is one of the best albums that I have bought in a long time. This album may not be pure genius, but her hooks are captivating and so are her beats. But what I really like is Kelis' smooth voice. It's just so smooth and easy over whatever she sings. I can't get her songs out of my head. I find myself listening to the album over and over again. My Favorites: Like You, Awww $hit, Living Proof, Till the Wheels Fall Off, Handful, Lil Star, Handful, I Don't Think So, Circus, Trilogy, Goodbyes, Blindfold Me, & What's That Right There. & no you guys I did not just name the whole album. Collapse
  2. angiebe
    Sep 30, 2006
    10
    love this album not as good as tasty but absolutly worth buying and listening to.
  3. JamalB
    Aug 23, 2006
    10
    This CD is AMAZING! This is by far her best CD. Her lyrics, beats, and live band sounds make me look forward to seeing her live. Put this CD in your player and push the repeat button. You'll find another treasure after each liston like I did... Expand
  4. Ryan
    Nov 7, 2006
    10
    I have all her albums and this is definitely my favourite. It's young fresh 'n new. So many good songs and it really brings it in all the genres Kelis rocks on this album. Expand
  5. [Anonymous]
    Aug 23, 2006
    9
    This is her best album. Tasty was her most consistent before this, while Wanderland and Kaleidoscope, while they boasted several highlights, were very spotty. Kelis was Here finds the singer proving she can sing (as on the intro) rap (Circus), and can write songs like no one's business. The production is great on every track. Admittedly, this release could've been more stronger (a 10) had the album been cut a few songs. Nonetheless, this is a great R&B, hip-hop, and soul CD. Expand
  6. Aug 15, 2013
    9
    This is Kelis' best album yet! Kelis will always be the best R&B singer. The best tracks are "I Don't Think So", "Circus", "What's That Right There", and, of course, "Bossy". Expand
  7. keishad
    Sep 17, 2006
    1
    She can do so much better then this garbage.

See all 19 User Reviews