User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 64 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 64
  2. Negative: 12 out of 64

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BrianS
    Feb 7, 2006
    2
    Arrogance can make you look an idiot and such is the case with Richard Ashcroft. He seems to believe that if he tells us he is the savious of rock we will believe him. If he writes a decent song again, some might. if he keeps writing boring, MOR, lifeless, soulless rubbish he will become more and more of a laughing stock. Terrible album, like all his solo work
  2. mikela
    Mar 23, 2006
    10
    El puto amo
  3. Mr.S
    Jan 28, 2006
    3
    I walked in expecting a swan song for the ex-Verve one hit wonder, but once again I find out, that after years and years of hiding behind walls of reverb, Ashcroft being left naked out in the open is a pretty sad thing to endure. Disappointing.
  4. gregor
    Jan 30, 2006
    9
    Don't know what some people's problems are, cause this is a great return for him.
  5. james
    Jan 30, 2006
    10
    aw this album is tops!
  6. matta
    Feb 1, 2006
    8
    This is definitely not nearly as bad as the critics are saying it is. The Human Condition was pretty shit, but this has some solid songs on it, including Music is Power, Break the Night With Colour, and Why Do Lovers. Not quite as good as his solo debut, but still good. The only God-awful song on this thing is the title track and that is pretty bad. If I was just rating that song I would This is definitely not nearly as bad as the critics are saying it is. The Human Condition was pretty shit, but this has some solid songs on it, including Music is Power, Break the Night With Colour, and Why Do Lovers. Not quite as good as his solo debut, but still good. The only God-awful song on this thing is the title track and that is pretty bad. If I was just rating that song I would give Pitchfork's rating, but c'mon, a 20!!?? And this coming from the same site that said The Rapture's Echoes was the best album of 2003. Expand
  7. JamesO
    Feb 1, 2006
    9
    Some great tunes and when he's good, he's unbeatable
  8. stant
    Feb 1, 2006
    0
    POOP!
  9. JamesM
    Feb 19, 2006
    7
    Much better than human conditions but he still hasn't discovered how to change key when he plays guitar. His limited guitar playing keeps his voice bound on this earth when it should be exploring the galaxies of the mind. Come on Rich, give Nick a call.
  10. cravenm
    Feb 2, 2006
    1
    Mr. Ashcroft is merely treading water here. And it's dirty, putrid bathwater at that. Sounds like a bad impression of his other albums and those were rubbish to begin with. Boo.
  11. PavelM
    Feb 5, 2006
    8
    Not superb, but some songs remind me the best verve.
  12. MaciejW
    Apr 5, 2006
    8
    Nothing life-changing but he's got some truly pretty tunes here and, despite what others have said, some of the vocals are personal and relative to what many are likely feeling. Great chill-out listen or a nice evening with a date.
  13. dimec
    Feb 12, 2006
    10
    the fact that the user ratings are at either end shows that there is something about this album. personally speaking...'75 degrees' - is it not a creative success at all levels? listen without prejudice. i am not a crazy fan; but i love this album. iti s highly recommended. PS: he is arrogant... so what? cant he be good?
  14. GavinD
    Feb 1, 2006
    2
    Why Not Nothing and Sweet Brother Malcolm aside this is an appalling album. For once the critics have got it right. The fans... Blinkered is a word that comes to mind. Desperate is another. Avoid!!!
  15. Mr.T
    Feb 1, 2006
    0
    What a gigantic turd of a record! Time for this guy to hang it up. I cannot believe this is the same man who used to shout "THIS IS ROCK N ROLL!". It is rock n roll anymore, and it's clearly not any good.
  16. DavidA
    Feb 10, 2006
    8
    This album is better than people are giving it credit for, I think after a few listens others will agree. There is no standout track, but as an entire album it is quite a good listen
  17. BenR
    Feb 2, 2006
    10
    Ignore the critics - this is really, really good!
  18. chrisp
    Feb 2, 2006
    4
    I am a biut unique I think in that I am a huge Verve fan, and also huge solo Ashcroft fan without comparing him to his former band. It seems either people like him solo or don't because they always comapre him to the Verve. He has 2 sides with solo work- 1 darker, edgier and real (Check the Meaning, God in Numbers, etc) but also a more over-produced, cheesy, preachy side with no I am a biut unique I think in that I am a huge Verve fan, and also huge solo Ashcroft fan without comparing him to his former band. It seems either people like him solo or don't because they always comapre him to the Verve. He has 2 sides with solo work- 1 darker, edgier and real (Check the Meaning, God in Numbers, etc) but also a more over-produced, cheesy, preachy side with no edge- and that is exactly what this whole CD is- highyl overproduced, tons of generic coldplay type lyrics with a supposed message- he is so soft bordering much more on Neil Diamond than John Lennon- very dissapointed, was excited for this, especially after the single Break te Night which is by far the darkest and edgiest on the CD Expand
  19. AlexandraM.
    Feb 2, 2006
    10
    The real Richard Ashcroft has arrived!! He brings forth a beautiful mixture of wonderful sounds to his new album "Keys to The World". The album is absolutely without doubt his best work and most astounding.Richard pulls from his deepest depths of his soul and has created a truly wonderful colletion of music. A true musician , writer and dedicated in what he believes in, makes this album a The real Richard Ashcroft has arrived!! He brings forth a beautiful mixture of wonderful sounds to his new album "Keys to The World". The album is absolutely without doubt his best work and most astounding.Richard pulls from his deepest depths of his soul and has created a truly wonderful colletion of music. A true musician , writer and dedicated in what he believes in, makes this album a great. I have followed Mr.Ashcroft long before his hay day with BitterSweet Symphony. A CD worth buying. Expand
  20. MattH
    Feb 7, 2006
    10
    Excellent album, some people have a pre-conceived view of Richard being the "Verve Continued" but this is not what he is trying to do!! The album is full of amazing songs in their own right. People who are expecting a new Verve album should go elsewhere and stop bitching!!
  21. PeterH
    Feb 8, 2006
    7
    it's not for everyone to understand melancholy well done. this is music for those who can see beyond mere technique without being simple and naive emotional listeners.
  22. kowalski
    Feb 9, 2006
    0
    Im waiting for McCabe's stuff!
  23. [Anonymous]
    Mar 1, 2006
    10
    Great work from the best singer and songwriter in a world.
  24. joris
    Mar 14, 2006
    7
    The only hauntingly standout track here is the titletrack Keys To The World, amazing... besides this not what I expected tough definitely not bad
  25. JesusH.Christ
    Mar 18, 2006
    10
    Oh My DAD! Richard Ashcroft is a GENIUS! I bow to him. Makes me want to punch children, in a good way! His songs hit you like a FIRETRUCK of EMOTION!
  26. skipe
    Mar 5, 2006
    1
    Absolutely terrible... I can't believe how full of shit King Richard is. Who is this guy kidding? He may have been the frontman for the Verve, but what's becoming increasingly apparent with each solo release is that former magic came from someone/somewhere else.. give it up Richard... I'll mail ya some razors.
  27. MikeK
    Apr 12, 2006
    10
    Great singer and nice songs with creative arangements. A little eccentric but thats what music needs.
  28. JackT
    Jun 6, 2006
    8
    Since anybody can be a critic, i decided to write one of my one. And i just wanna say Richard Ashcroft is a genius. Three solo albums prove it plus his The Verve time. He has the voice, the lyrics and the melodies. Critics just don't like him because he lost the name "The Verve". But, Ashcroft is and walwys will be The Verve. Anyway, remember the critics from Rolling Stone gave Since anybody can be a critic, i decided to write one of my one. And i just wanna say Richard Ashcroft is a genius. Three solo albums prove it plus his The Verve time. He has the voice, the lyrics and the melodies. Critics just don't like him because he lost the name "The Verve". But, Ashcroft is and walwys will be The Verve. Anyway, remember the critics from Rolling Stone gave Eminem 5 stars. Expand
  29. MarcA
    Jul 27, 2006
    9
    A great and simple album from Richard Ashcroft.
  30. Radiolab?
    Dec 7, 2009
    4
    The single "Music is Power" and title track "Keys to the World" are both fantastic and remind you of the heights Ashcroft is capable of. However, the rest of the album falls far short. It's hard to listen to without thinking how much better this could've been were it made by The Verve.
  31. JoshR
    Jan 27, 2006
    5
    an average album from a guy with an average solo career. bring back the verve.
  32. dugb
    Jan 31, 2006
    9
    by far, ashcroft's best solo outing. Typically strong ballads (why do lovers, cry til the morning, break the night with colour) as well as a rollicking jab at the religious right (why not nothing). Thoroughly satisfying record, easily distancing itself from the first two solo efforts.
  33. Carlos
    Feb 1, 2006
    4
    Not the worst I have listened to, but certainly a word defines it: boring! Agree that Ashcroft´s carrer is quite disappointing, especially after the superb last Verve´s album.
  34. cruj
    Feb 11, 2006
    7
    not a bad album, but who cares? IT'S NOT THE VERVE, which is all any of us want anyway. damn Nick McCabe for losing his shit and breaking up one of the finest songwriting duos of the nineties!
  35. JohnF
    Feb 11, 2006
    5
    It's not bad; it's just bland. Ashcroft has simply lost touch with what it takes to feel excited about something. Keys to the World only expresses how much he wants to remember the emotions that drove him to write the quality songs that the Verve albums prove he is capable of. Maybe someday he'll remember.....
  36. emilyw
    Feb 16, 2006
    8
    I still don't get why he is getting marks taken off for being arrogant. By that same logic, Kanye West's new album should get worst album of 2005. A bit of an exaggeration I know, but still, not only is this vastly superior to his last solo album (which was pretty bad), it's holds up against at least two verve albums and his first solo album. Yea, alot of the songs are I still don't get why he is getting marks taken off for being arrogant. By that same logic, Kanye West's new album should get worst album of 2005. A bit of an exaggeration I know, but still, not only is this vastly superior to his last solo album (which was pretty bad), it's holds up against at least two verve albums and his first solo album. Yea, alot of the songs are cheesy, but Coldplay's new album doens't have a 49. Worth a listen. Expand
  37. MichaelC
    Feb 21, 2006
    8
    Some of the lyrics are clichés, but the music is great.
  38. fishwithnoballs
    Feb 20, 2006
    1
    this album is a fish with no legs. piss poor.
  39. DebbieH
    Feb 6, 2006
    1
    It's time for Richie to hang it up. And it's well past time for me to shut up. I am a senseless twit and this record is still beneath me. That's how bad it is. Putrid.
  40. sally
    Mar 6, 2006
    5
    Starts off strong and totally loses me after the 4th song. So much whining and unoriginal lyrics..I turn the cd off about 10 minutes into it..I love him, but his first 2 cds have been the strongest..this is just dull, dull, dull.
  41. DavidW
    Mar 8, 2006
    9
    Excellent, good to have another dose - and good to take Human Condition out of my CD player for a change...
  42. DelroyF
    Apr 26, 2006
    2
    less than average attempt saviour of rock...haha yeah right
  43. abacus
    May 12, 2006
    8
    It's odd that people in America haven't heard Ashcroft since Bittersweet Symphony. They should. Very good album overall.
  44. JimR
    Feb 19, 2006
    8
    Best of his solo efforts, this album is more focused than the previous two, worth checking out!!
  45. bruces
    Mar 13, 2006
    5
    oh how the mighty have fallen...
  46. mrsdemos
    Mar 22, 2006
    10
    this album is amazing i love it
  47. BinhP
    Mar 29, 2006
    7
    Still one of the best vocalists of our generation, not his best work but there are some gems... look for the b-sides...
  48. davidc
    May 25, 2006
    10
    fantasic. brilliant laid back enjoyable music
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 19
  2. Negative: 3 out of 19
  1. His voice sounds better than ever, and while nothing here recaptures the glory years of The Verve, his songs are more focused than ever before.
  2. Too much is sodden with his overbearing ego.
  3. How the mighty have truly fallen.