Kiss

User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 180 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 45 out of 180
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 24, 2012
    6
    "Now, let me say, this album is far from bad. It has the cute-cheesy fun-themes with "Call Me Maybe", "Good Time" and "Hurt So Good", and that's pretty cool. But, with Carly being a 27-year-old (yes... 27-year-old), I believe she's being flying with the fairies to much. It drives repetition and general pop music off the rails with her debut. Its not a great release, but... ehh not near a"Now, let me say, this album is far from bad. It has the cute-cheesy fun-themes with "Call Me Maybe", "Good Time" and "Hurt So Good", and that's pretty cool. But, with Carly being a 27-year-old (yes... 27-year-old), I believe she's being flying with the fairies to much. It drives repetition and general pop music off the rails with her debut. Its not a great release, but... ehh not near a bad release either, just another teen-pop album." Expand
  2. Apr 26, 2013
    6
    Carly Rae Jepsen's album Kiss is not the worst i've heard but is also not the best I believe she as a lot of skills to be a great artist. The album is the tipical teen sweet pop kind with catchy dancing songs althought i was very surprised with her nominations for the 13' Grammy Awards i just don't think she did a job that was worth Grammy nominations
  3. Nov 21, 2016
    6
    A happy "pop" album. "Kiss" is an easy listen album that has elements of dance music,bubblegum pop and teen pop. She can be really great if she wants to. Nice Vocals too.
  4. Sep 18, 2012
    5
    The album is an okay album. Some of the songs are a bit repetitive. some of the production is not as clean and finesse as I initially wanted it to be. I like the album but not enough to give it a 6 or higher score. Some of the best tracks are "This Kiss", "Beautiful" and "Guitar String/Wedding Ring"
  5. Sep 30, 2012
    5
    Carly Rae Jepsen New Album , should focus on her voice more than catchy hooks. She sounds very good with her voice , but not using it for her album. Also most of her album just sounds like Good Time.
  6. Oct 6, 2012
    5
    By listen the songs, i just have one thing to say about it: "awwww she's so cute...but...wait, she's 27 ! I saw it ten years ago when Avril Lavigne arrives on the scene and don't liked it. So Carly just have to put shame on her face and come back with a mature album. Give blowjobs is the best thing she can do, because in music she turns into a disaster.
  7. Aug 14, 2013
    5
    "Kiss" is just average. There are no really good songs, or no really bad songs. But Carly Rae Jepsen has a lot of potential that will probably show on her next album.
  8. Sep 6, 2014
    5
    Kiss é um álbum bom na primeira vez que escutamos. Viciamos em todas as músicas. Depois de um tempo todas elas enjoam. Todas as músicas do álbum são praticamente iguais, e as letras chegam a ser infantis.
  9. Sep 28, 2012
    4
    Carly Rae Jepsen seems to dominate the chart these days, and while her single 'Call Me Maybe' is infectious, the rest of the album is a repetitive mess. Missing the attitude or distinct pop 'persona' of her contemporaries such as Ke$ha or Katy Perry, or the talent of 'artists' such as Adele, I'm not really sure whey Americans like her very much. The songs sounded the same, her vocal rangeCarly Rae Jepsen seems to dominate the chart these days, and while her single 'Call Me Maybe' is infectious, the rest of the album is a repetitive mess. Missing the attitude or distinct pop 'persona' of her contemporaries such as Ke$ha or Katy Perry, or the talent of 'artists' such as Adele, I'm not really sure whey Americans like her very much. The songs sounded the same, her vocal range limited; buy the album if you really need to hear 'Call Me Maybe' again and again. Expand
  10. Oct 18, 2012
    4
    Does Carly Rae Jepsen really have superstar potential? Yes, she does. Multi-platinum hit single "Call Me Maybe" was an oh so simple yet oh so catchy and slyly clever pop song that's still poisoning the radio, and Jepsen's soft, often scratchy vocals are delightful at times. But for fans that were looking for a singer-songwriter-esque album might as well wait. Kiss is one of the most overlyDoes Carly Rae Jepsen really have superstar potential? Yes, she does. Multi-platinum hit single "Call Me Maybe" was an oh so simple yet oh so catchy and slyly clever pop song that's still poisoning the radio, and Jepsen's soft, often scratchy vocals are delightful at times. But for fans that were looking for a singer-songwriter-esque album might as well wait. Kiss is one of the most overly produced, overly polished, and overwhelmingly formulaic pop albums of the year. Aside from "This Kiss", a lovely 1980's-esque electro-rock song about forbidden love, everything on Kiss takes away from Jepsen's natural charisma and turns it into wannabe dance-pop singles. Whoever opined to remix "Curiosity", an already catchy dance-pop song that had a heartwrenching story behind it, into a underwhelming dance-pop song wrongfully stacked with Auto Tune, Vocoders, and more "Call Me Maybe"-esque synth strings should be fired from production. Kiss is also way behind Jepsen's years (the ballad with teen heart throb Justin Bieber is cheesy tween-pop fare). It'd have been lovely to hear a more natural side to Jepsen, while still hearing those catchy bubblegum pop moments that surrounded her number-one single. And maybe we'll see that one day, AFTER Jepsen earns her already deserved creative control. Expand
  11. Nov 24, 2016
    4
    porq nomejor me mandas un kissito en la qk hermosa
    a y el album ni pena ni glory avaliable now on aitun
    gueno el album estuvo una pokita aburrida y como a una le gusta estar emosionada es mejor escuchar emosion de carlegend
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Dec 3, 2012
    40
    Perhaps the global impact of the massive Call Me Maybe is what makes the album as a whole feel like a damp squib, but with or without US Marine parody videos, the rest of the album fizzles out into synth-pop oblivion.
  2. 67
    On Kiss, her U.S. debut, Jepsen makes a mad dash for good-enoughness.
  3. Sep 20, 2012
    40
    On this album, her voice is still her Achilles heel; she's a 26-year-old who sounds 16, and a colourless 16 at that.