Kisses on the Bottom - Paul McCartney
Kisses on the Bottom Image
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 17 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Eric Clapton, Stevie Wonder, and Diana Krall contributed to Paul McCartney's collection of classic vocal standards produced by Tommy LiPuma.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 26
  2. Negative: 2 out of 26
  1. Feb 3, 2012
    80
    It's beautifully done, with palpable affection for the songs, airy whimsy and perhaps a hint of mischief.
  2. Feb 3, 2012
    80
    This album is made with care, love and expertise and it shows on every song. [Mar 2012, p.80]
  3. Feb 7, 2012
    60
    As a vocalist, this may not be his natural forte, but he takes great care with the songs, and that palpable love is enough to make Kisses on the Bottom worth a spin or two.
  4. Feb 7, 2012
    58
    Here they sound like preludes to a nice cup of tea and an afternoon nap.
  5. 50
    Gentle on the ears and soft on the heart, Kisses might be of no greater or lesser consequence than an easygoing golf outing among friends or a weekend spent digging a garden near the back fence, but its pleasures, though small and sleepy, can be gratifying.
  6. Suggests that McCartney lacks anyone to tell him when he's had a terrible idea.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Jul 27, 2012
    9
    I, being a huge Beatles and Paul McCartney fan, naturally showed curiosity for this album. I was shocked to hear that it was all jazz style songs. At first I was disappointed but I got used to these songs and have learned to like them. All in all, it was pretty good. Expand
  2. Feb 10, 2012
    8
    This is a really strong album from McCartney. O.K, it's not going to pull up any trees for originality and, yes, this road has been trodden before, but the treatment given to the songs is minimal yet warm and the whole thing comes across as a really strong collection.

    The significance might be perhaps for McCartney himself as this feels like an acceptance of age and style in a way that he hasn't done for a while. Put simply, it doesn't seem as if Paul is trying too hard and, because of this, he is able to deliver a really strong performance throughout.

    I would say that this looks to be his most enjoyable and re-playable album for some time (and that is saying something as he has been undergoing a late-career renaissance.)

    I would love him to record in this style in the future, but with new, self-penned compositions. The style suits him, as it always has done. He no-longer needs to deny the fact that he does this sort of thing very, very well.
    Expand
  3. Apr 26, 2012
    8
    The Beatles is history, the world's rushing forward and so does Paul McCartney, who decided to release an album in the strictly jazz style, covering such hits as " It's Only a Paper Moon" originally performed by Ella Fitzgerald and Nat King Cole, or "Always" by Frank Sinatra. McCartney wanted with this album to return to the country of his childhood and you have to admit - he succeed. It is true - the artist does not have a voice that could compete with the original performers, but in this case it works in favor for the album. Nothing is done by force - McCartney casually and gently leads the melodic line, which with the stirring accompaniment of artists like Diana Krall, Eric Clapton or Stevie Wonder speaks for itself. Expand
  4. Feb 8, 2012
    8
    This album is something very special for me, and I didn't know it would be until I listened to it. It made me remember my early years spent running around my grandparentsâ Collapse
  5. Mar 11, 2012
    4
    Please choose 3: Somnolent. Insipid. Tedious. Uninspired. Inexplicable. Interminable. Colorless. Pedestrian. Monotonous. Disappointing. Save the other 7 for later. You may need them.

    The hour spent listening to Sir Paul's latest seemed to last a week. The songs are fine, the arrangements tasteful to a fault. An album of "standards"? Everybody is entitled to one. But why sing these in his sleep?
    Expand