Last Train to Paris Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 22 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The rapper and producer's fifth album is Diddy's attempt at fashioning an alter ego and creating a conceptual album. The release features collaborations with Felix da Housecat, the Neptunes, and The-Dream.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. 80
    It's easily the best work Diddy's been involved with in his entire career.
  2. 80
    The chilly Euro-house stylings may be a mite predictable but Diddy proves a generous curator, laying on blockbuster exhibits and atmospheric slow jamz alike in the greatest cast-of-millions hip-hop joint since, well, Kanye's latest.
  3. Dec 13, 2010
    80
    No doubt, Diddy injects so much of his unfiltered self into the album that no hater can be swayed, but it's his unique attitude that makes Last Train such a delight.
  4. Jan 27, 2011
    80
    Despite the array of producers lined up--Including Danja, Darkchild, Polow da Don and Swizz Beatz--Diddy has corralled their work into a tight, coherent whole that's absolutely packed with ideas and creativity.
  5. It's both the sleaziest album of the year and Diddy's intricate fantasy world of mistreatment and vindication presented as a bizarre mass.
  6. Jan 31, 2011
    70
    Crucially though, what Diddy lacks in eloquence he makes up for in pop sensibility, which here keeps edgier elements the right side of radio friendly.
  7. Jan 13, 2011
    50
    Overall, it feels like Last Train to Paris will be an album more tailored to the Pop scene, rather than the Hip Hop audience.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Duu
    Feb 5, 2013
    10
    This album is one of my favorite of all time. It may one day be looked back on a classic and a revolutionary merger of hip-hop music with european techno/house elements, but for now it is the most unpopular and overlooked album ever released by a major musical act (I dare say, Diddy's name might have hurt the performance of this album). There is not one song on here that is not good and there are only 5 songs out of 15 that are not EXCELLENT. Even the bonus Itunes tracks (16 and 17) are EXCELLENT (whereas most bonus tracks on albums are needless additions/marketing ploys).

    The audience for this album didn't exist at the time it was released and might still be nascent. There are some INCREDIBLE performances on this album by EVERYONE on it (and this was a star studded album). This is way ahead of its time. Just listen to all hip-hop/r&b as well as dance music released that year and before: there is NOTHING like this album on the market in 2010. If it is remembered years down the line, then this review will be a testament to the fact that is was a relative flop and no one except the most out there people really got this album when it was released.
    Expand
  2. Dec 17, 2010
    9
    Allot of people hate on Diddy. I am not a huge Diddy fan, as in him as a person, my thoughts on him and his lyrical credibility are pretty neutral. But, you cannot deny his musical talent. This album's production is fantastic. He does not follow radio trends. He carves his own sound out that still fits in with popular music today. To me, this album tramples Kanye's album in terms of production and listenability and overall actual enjoyment of listening to the music. Press Play was also an amazing album, this one is a great follow up. Thanks for this Diddy and Dirty Money! Great work! Expand
  3. Mar 10, 2011
    9
    This is a great album that I fear will not get the recognition it deserves. Diddy doesn't skimp on any part of this album. Tons of great original productions and lyrics will make your drive to the clubs pretty fun. Expand
  4. Dec 20, 2010
    8
    Last Train To Paris!!! I suppose Diddy shows his musical talent yet again. Admittedly hes not the best lyrical rapper but the music he produces or puts together is second to none. His stature within the music industry allowed him to get major artists on the album. Some of the beats are some of the beats of the year including Hello Good Morning and Hate That You Love Me. Would definitely recommend this album to anyone. Currently with this album i would rate it 7/10 but its got better each time after listening to it, so 8/10. Expand
  5. Jan 4, 2011
    7
    I had no intentions of even looking on Diddy's album cover. I must say though, that this is a solid album, with extremely strong production value. Great listen. The biggest problem with Diddy's album is... well... Diddy. He's always been a poor rapper, and that hasn't changed. "Coming Home" is such a beutiful song, but his amateur delivery really brings the song down. Thankfully, the album is not drowned in Diddy raps. In fact, at points you'll forget he's on it. The two Dirty Money ladies are solid, and the guest artists are generally good. Great listen overall. 7.5. Expand
  6. Dec 28, 2010
    6
    Last Train To Paris: I'm glad that Diddy did this album, the production is great, his songs are an evolved form of what we are used to hearing from him, and the album cover seems to capture the mood of the project. The downside for me was the similarity in sound between each tracks. Even though some people like albums to all have a common thread of emotion, for me I prefer a wider range of mood than just the flow of consistency. Track arrangement was okay, I really like track 2 'yeah yeah you would' because it starts off the album with such a bang, but unfortunately it doesn't keep the energy throughout. The song 'Angels' F. Biggie started off great, awesome verses by Biggie, but the auto-tune hook is so weak, and drug out. I wish someone with a great voice would of actually sung it instead. The disappointed seemed to be in the song with Lil Wayne and Justin Timberlake, 'Shades' it had nothing remember-able to it at all. Overall I don't feel that 'Last Train To Paris' was as futuristic and game changing as Diddy had intended. Expand
  7. Dec 19, 2010
    2
    With his latest release Diddy proves the fact that his work is forgetable. "Last Train To Paris" is an hour long mess of an album which showcases Diddy's inconsistency. Collapse

See all 9 User Reviews