Late Registration

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 805 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 37 out of 805

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 17, 2011
    10
    Wake up Mr. West cause you gave a an incredible album to enjoy for days to come. The amount of effort that was put into this album shines in the best tracks of the LP.
    Best Tracks:
    Heard 'Em Say (Feat. Adam Levine)
    Gold Digger (Feat. Jamie Foxx)
    Hey Mama
    Drive Slow (Feat. Paul Wall & GLC)
    We Major (Feat Nas & Really Doe)
    Diamonds From Sierra Leone (Feat Jay-Z)
    And all the Skits.
  2. JJTeda
    Aug 30, 2005
    10
    "Kanye is killing the game very bad" Excellence, brilliance and genius are some words that come to mind when listening to Late Registration. Production, top class and lyrics shaped perfectly to the tracks with meaning to spar. Whether you want to "Touch The Sky" or just call you mom and say "Hey Mama" Late Registration has it all, and does it well.
  3. onelove
    Nov 2, 2005
    10
    Is Kanye West arrogant?--Yes. But, it Late Registration a classic?---Hell, emphatically yes! Although, he is arrogant Ii applaud and respect him as a musician because Kanye is extremely creative and fearless--when it comes to expressing his thoughts in his music. Jesus Walks!!!! Come on, how many rappers would have the courage and aptitude to express themselves about such a sensitive Is Kanye West arrogant?--Yes. But, it Late Registration a classic?---Hell, emphatically yes! Although, he is arrogant Ii applaud and respect him as a musician because Kanye is extremely creative and fearless--when it comes to expressing his thoughts in his music. Jesus Walks!!!! Come on, how many rappers would have the courage and aptitude to express themselves about such a sensitive topic. We Major (featuring Nas) is absolutely flawless! H Expand
  4. Kev
    Aug 28, 2005
    9
    College Dropout was probably better, but this is more listenable in the long run. Selected tracks: Heard Em Say, Touch The Sky, Drive Slow, Addiction, Diamonds (remix and bonus), and Gone.
  5. KanyeFan
    Aug 28, 2005
    10
    This amount of effort deserves as much praise as possible. This is a perfect album.
  6. TheLove
    Aug 29, 2005
    10
    great album...so more sublime and mature then the first one and well thats what hip-hop needs instead of club bangers and talking about beefs between artist and drugs.
  7. ryant
    Aug 30, 2005
    10
    Pure genous. I dont get why people dont like his lyrics, they are still so much better than a lot of other rappers. Not to mention the production,which is amazing.Great album
  8. CaitM
    Sep 1, 2005
    10
    This album continues to revolutionize the hip-hop world. the instrumental aspect is amazing and includes instruments that have never been found on a hip-hop album. and with kanye's lyrics... easily the best hip-hop album of this year and probably for a real long time. multiple grammy winner? i believe so
  9. delond
    Sep 12, 2005
    9
    I like this album for the different beats and lyrics. Kanyes delivery in roses and celebration show that he has gotten better as an artist. I love the beats for there uniqueness and originality. The instruments in heard em say and touch the sky are great and slow down and we major are two of the best songs ive heard this year...Kanye may have got passed the sophmore jinx and made a better I like this album for the different beats and lyrics. Kanyes delivery in roses and celebration show that he has gotten better as an artist. I love the beats for there uniqueness and originality. The instruments in heard em say and touch the sky are great and slow down and we major are two of the best songs ive heard this year...Kanye may have got passed the sophmore jinx and made a better album then his first Expand
  10. MBerner
    Jan 9, 2006
    10
    "10" doesn't even put into perspective the quality of the album...The best album of the year and one of the best over the past decade in any genre...A true album that you can pop in the cd player and just let it play through without having to keep hitting skip after every other song...The best production possibly ever on a hip-hop cd and the lyrical content isn't far "10" doesn't even put into perspective the quality of the album...The best album of the year and one of the best over the past decade in any genre...A true album that you can pop in the cd player and just let it play through without having to keep hitting skip after every other song...The best production possibly ever on a hip-hop cd and the lyrical content isn't far behind...The first time i heard it i almost couldn't believe this music was created for rap because it almost sounds like a piece of classical music...Each song flows from one to the next but has its own identity as well as they each touch on a different topic...The only small piece i didn't feel on this album i did on College Dropout was the pure originality as this seemed more carefully crafted and in some ways almost too good if that's possible...Nevertheless definitly deserves all the hype and a grammy for album of the year!!! A piece of work that you will be able to play 20 years from now and still appreciate the music...Cant wait for "Graduation" and the song with John Mayer "Bittersweet"...A true gift of art that i will cherish for ever...God Bless Expand
  11. johnniem
    Aug 28, 2005
    9
    This cd is hot but it's not better than his first cd
  12. alice
    Sep 13, 2005
    10
    amazin album
  13. lewanl
    Nov 16, 2005
    9
    these songs were really god maybe because im a big fan lol so yeh its pretty good hope you get it its good
  14. dave
    Aug 28, 2005
    10
    HADDOOOOOOOOGET
  15. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    From one of rap's best debuts to one of it's greatest follow-ups, not to mention, one of the best albums to ever spawn from the genre. Stylistically and sonically a step-up from it's predecessor, undoubtedly from the help of "Jon Brion on the keys". "Touch The Sky", "Celebration", "We Major", "Gone", an album all about showing off and livin' it up, in all it's glory and in all it's folly,From one of rap's best debuts to one of it's greatest follow-ups, not to mention, one of the best albums to ever spawn from the genre. Stylistically and sonically a step-up from it's predecessor, undoubtedly from the help of "Jon Brion on the keys". "Touch The Sky", "Celebration", "We Major", "Gone", an album all about showing off and livin' it up, in all it's glory and in all it's folly, it's jealously and it's unintended victims, "Gold Digger", "Addiction", "Bring Me Down", "Diamonds From Sierra Leone". From "putting those hazard lights on" picking up girls with "Drive Slow", to realizing and understanding that "Nothing lasts forever" and even though "it hurts", that "it may be the only way" on the street-poet-spilling-his-heart "Heard Em Say", to the soft, sweet, love-filled ode to his Mom "Hey Mama", this album found me really appreciating all the tracks not just for them in themselves, but what they added to the whole. Classic Album. 9.5/10 Expand
  16. Oct 11, 2013
    10
    Late Reg is Kanye's greatest work.
    Best songs:
    Heard Em Say
    Touch the Sky
    Drive Slow
    Roses
    Addiction
    We Major
    Hey Mama
    GONE
    Diamonds from Sierra Leone
    But the whole album is incredible.
  17. Matt
    Oct 23, 2005
    7
    Overall it's good, but disappointing and somewhat boring. It's the best mainstream hip-hop you can get.
  18. CabeM
    Jan 20, 2006
    7
    For the most part it's a good album until you get to Crack Music. What the hell is that it's the worst song i've ever heard in my life. This should not be a Universal Acclaim.
  19. Kenny
    Sep 3, 2005
    7
    Kanye's back! When listening, I thought a lot of the beats were really great: new and not overdone. But, compared to his first album, The College Dropout, Kanye West fails to deliver the same lyrical impact and the 'all-star cast' that make appearances on Late Registration only lowers the album. Still it's a great album... and Rolling Stone is really messed up. Kanye's back! When listening, I thought a lot of the beats were really great: new and not overdone. But, compared to his first album, The College Dropout, Kanye West fails to deliver the same lyrical impact and the 'all-star cast' that make appearances on Late Registration only lowers the album. Still it's a great album... and Rolling Stone is really messed up. (College Dropout 3 1/2 stars; Late Registration 5 stars!!) They can't recognize true talent and rely completely on hype. Expand
  20. mikes
    Aug 30, 2005
    10
    this is incredible!!
  21. pepef
    Apr 16, 2008
    10
    a classic!
  22. JakobH
    Oct 5, 2005
    10
    Theres not a single track on this cd that you just skip by... All tracks are superb!
  23. JoeBlowJob
    Aug 30, 2005
    10
    HOW CAN YOU ANYONE GIVE THIS LOWER THAN A NINE!!!!!! this is sure to be a classic album like his first album college dropout!!!! Can't wait for the next one
  24. GregM
    Aug 31, 2005
    10
    Unbelievable Hip Hop Album. A new standard in Hip Hop excellence.
  25. antonl
    Aug 30, 2005
    10
    amazing. musical genious
  26. FHarris
    Aug 30, 2005
    8
    Kanye gives a solid approach at greatness but falls short. Many of the tracks are great, but a few too many are just blah.
  27. pepef
    Aug 30, 2005
    10
    a classic!
  28. GLENDAM
    Sep 20, 2005
    10
    In a class by himself!
  29. daniels
    Sep 4, 2005
    10
    listen to this now, because once it hits the radio it will be played so much you might get tired of it.
  30. seanb
    Sep 4, 2005
    10
    almost better than the first wich is about a 15 on my scale but sitl no one can touch him.
  31. s&b
    Sep 6, 2005
    9
    this album surpasses what rap is to most people, and for that he deserves the high score
  32. JustinW
    Apr 8, 2006
    8
    Kanye is back with a bang. This is a satisfying album, and a good follow-up to College Dropout. Most of the songs are written well. The only down point I can think of is that West's giant ego is evident in a few songs.
  33. pepef
    May 20, 2007
    10
    a classic!
  34. GregB
    Jun 25, 2007
    10
    The production alone makes this the best album of 2005. Definitely better than College Dropout, and a lot more fun. Can't wait for Graduation!
  35. M.Adames
    Oct 4, 2005
    10
    This is hottness at it's best! Kay Dub is on FIRE!!!!
  36. jaym
    Aug 26, 2005
    10
    C L A S S I C
  37. JohnK
    Aug 27, 2005
    10
    Sufjan = good, but rehashed, purposely trendy, and obviously gimmicky (50 states, 50 albums, my ass! At the current rate, it'll take him 80 years) Kanye = relevant, different, possibly the most important mainstream rapper yet Don't let genre influence you. Free your mind; this album's better.
  38. obiokpo
    Aug 28, 2005
    10
    most musically advanced cd to come out in a while..blows any other Cd that came out in the past 5 years out the water..including common's be! can i say album of the year!!
  39. kmoney
    Aug 28, 2005
    10
    kanye delivers with this album.
  40. DannyV
    Aug 29, 2005
    10
    This album is so much more then I expected it to be. It was so literally life-affirming listening to the first couple of tracks on my headphones walking home from the CD store I took a detour so I could take it all in while I strolled around my town. Holland may have had a terrible summer but damn did the sunshine that Friday afternoon...
  41. stephenl
    Aug 30, 2005
    10
    simply amazing
  42. JayB
    Aug 30, 2005
    10
    WOW, Simply Amazing !
  43. bundyb
    Sep 11, 2005
    9
    old school instrumentals are glorious. the mc tries to imitate 2pac, but it's definitely a good album.
  44. AshleyP
    Sep 10, 2005
    10
    I LoVe KanYE's new CD its just as good as College Drop out and the instumentals are even better and if u dont think so then u nuthin but a true hatter !! halla
  45. Stan
    Sep 15, 2005
    9
    The first album for 2005 that I can't take out of my car CD player. Different songs grab me each play...another sign of a rock-solid work. This is very close to The College Dropout and that's more than anyone could ask.
  46. John
    Sep 1, 2005
    10
    Only people who are not true fans of music will consider this to be a poor album. Influenced by what others consider popular, they can't appreciate the talent portrayed on Late registration. Analyzing one aspect you may find flaws, but listening to again you will find overall this is a great CD. It's uniqueness is what "rap" fans don't like. In my opinion it's a Only people who are not true fans of music will consider this to be a poor album. Influenced by what others consider popular, they can't appreciate the talent portrayed on Late registration. Analyzing one aspect you may find flaws, but listening to again you will find overall this is a great CD. It's uniqueness is what "rap" fans don't like. In my opinion it's a classic and probably best album of the year. Expand
  47. tonyr
    Sep 2, 2005
    10
    The best album of the year!!!
  48. Ta-KuanF
    Sep 2, 2005
    10
    Kanye has pushed the boundaries of hip hop again with "Late Registration." It's brilliant top to bottom, with only the skits being skippable. The sounds are so much different than what you hear in rap nowadays, hooking up with Jon Brion was definitely a smart move. Roses, Diamonds remix, Touch The Sky, Bring Me Down, Hey Mama are the standout tracks from this album. Just brilliant.
  49. TJRodriguez
    Sep 2, 2005
    10
    One of my most favorite albums of all time! Kanye West improves on every aspect of his first album. The only thing wrong with this album are the skits. By taking the skits out, you probably have one of the best hip hop albums ever made.
  50. CaptainRob
    Sep 2, 2005
    10
    Another classic? Hell yes.
  51. Martin
    Sep 2, 2005
    10
    Kanye West joins Common as one of the best hip hop cds of the year. whoever gives it lower than a 10 doesn't know what they are talking about. this isn't just good rap, this is good music.
  52. DJWhoa
    Sep 2, 2005
    10
    Kanye is the scarily cool.
  53. adamd
    Sep 3, 2005
    10
    Outstanding!
  54. BrianD
    Sep 5, 2005
    10
    This is probably one of the best albums of 2005. It expands West's ear for socially concious hip-hop and powerful instrumentals. "Gone," "Heard 'Em Say" and "Roses" are three of the most powerful songs I've ever heard and the rest of the album holds true to West's excessive bravado. Again, if you haven't heard Late Registration yet, you're missing out on This is probably one of the best albums of 2005. It expands West's ear for socially concious hip-hop and powerful instrumentals. "Gone," "Heard 'Em Say" and "Roses" are three of the most powerful songs I've ever heard and the rest of the album holds true to West's excessive bravado. Again, if you haven't heard Late Registration yet, you're missing out on something huge. Expand
  55. GSJ
    Sep 5, 2005
    10
    Kanye west is what hip hop needs on both and MC and producer
  56. TomM
    Sep 5, 2005
    10
    Brilliant Brilliant Brilliant other great album from kanye west. Every song is different but great
  57. VictorB
    Sep 6, 2005
    9
    Hip Hop has been the embarrasment of the radio waves for the better part of the last decade, this is saying alot when Lindsay Lohan has a platnum CD. This record though is the first hip hop CD that I can honestly say has been worth the money since...well ever! I gave a 9 because the skits are irritating (who's arent?) and his lrycism isn't quite on par with his brilliant Hip Hop has been the embarrasment of the radio waves for the better part of the last decade, this is saying alot when Lindsay Lohan has a platnum CD. This record though is the first hip hop CD that I can honestly say has been worth the money since...well ever! I gave a 9 because the skits are irritating (who's arent?) and his lrycism isn't quite on par with his brilliant production, but all in all get this one folks!!! Expand
  58. ChrisW
    Sep 6, 2005
    10
    What can be said other than...excellent album. Best rap/hip hop/album of the year by far. Definate must listen.
  59. AddyD
    Sep 6, 2005
    9
    This album is REAL music, good music!!! Unlike the artist who made "Candy Shop" and "Just A Little Bit." I mean Mr. West had a whole ochestra through-out the album. lol Im soo glad we still have positive artist within Hip -Hop who are not afraid to discuss ANY topic. Kanye did not only skillfully rap, but he poetically pursued to grab the attention of his fans. In my opinon he is a This album is REAL music, good music!!! Unlike the artist who made "Candy Shop" and "Just A Little Bit." I mean Mr. West had a whole ochestra through-out the album. lol Im soo glad we still have positive artist within Hip -Hop who are not afraid to discuss ANY topic. Kanye did not only skillfully rap, but he poetically pursued to grab the attention of his fans. In my opinon he is a ledgend in the Hip-Hop Renaissance. P.S Rick F, "Did you listen to the album at all? Maybe you should change the battery in your hearing aid." Expand
  60. jerzyd
    Sep 6, 2005
    9
    Grrrrrrrrrreat Cd!!!!
  61. jesuso
    Sep 7, 2005
    10
    it is the best rap album in years
  62. kennyp
    Sep 8, 2005
    10
    this Cd is off tha hooK!!! i LikE tha messages he sends out to tha listnerz his is tha SiKest Rapper.
  63. SeanC
    Sep 8, 2005
    10
    Lets be realistic here. Kanye West is RIGHT when he says he is carrying all of hip hop. He is RIGHT when he says that he is the best thing rap has right now. You can tell how his sophistication quintuples that of the guests on his album (Paul Wall). Who cares if he's cocky? How many times has he threatened to kill someone? Sufjan Stevens's mindless droning doesn't even compare.
  64. JDWilliams
    Jan 25, 2006
    10
    A RAP CLASSIC. im not a rap fan at all but i loved college dropout. but late registration is a art rap album that makes his debut sound like a demo sometimes. its a classic and goes good with a rock fan(like me) CD collection. BUT IT
  65. aa
    Jan 7, 2006
    10
    Its simply the best
  66. ThomasFromCompton
    Jan 8, 2006
    10
    Like what S Latrelle said, don't bother to vote if you aren't givin it 10 because that is the only score it deserves. Marvelous, Brilliant, Fabulous, 10/10
  67. Anon-ymous
    Mar 19, 2006
    10
    This albums non hits are not really that good but the hits are superb. I would recommend this to friends (if I had any) !
  68. JeremyE
    Apr 27, 2006
    10
    This album is amazing!!!!! There isn't even one bad song! Best Hip-hop album ever made. You can tell he put a lot of work into his songs
  69. SeanP
    Jul 30, 2006
    10
    Excellent album, and even though it's great artistically and lyrically, and all that high stuff, what puts this album over into "classic" is how purely ENJOYABLE it is. It's a cd i don't just have to listen to with headphones and all my close attention, but also one i can pop into my car. As good as College Dropout was, and after two great albums, kanye's rep should be Excellent album, and even though it's great artistically and lyrically, and all that high stuff, what puts this album over into "classic" is how purely ENJOYABLE it is. It's a cd i don't just have to listen to with headphones and all my close attention, but also one i can pop into my car. As good as College Dropout was, and after two great albums, kanye's rep should be established for now, regardless of his "ego". ALSO, i don't know why, but my favorite song on the album is Gone, a track which doesnt seem to get much attention. I personally think that song is genius, especially production-wise. Anyone else think Gone is one of the best songs? Expand
  70. CarlyQ
    Apr 2, 2007
    8
    Not worthy of Rolling stones extremely rare 5 star rating but a very good album with great production. His rhymes are not worthy of a classic rating.
  71. HeyManManManMan
    Jun 24, 2007
    9
    I do agree this album is musically superior to The College Dropout. But there are still too many filler skits taking up time, and some lyrics (like on Roses) are lacking. Still top notch though. Such a creative force.
  72. mikejoe
    Oct 11, 2005
    10
    Yeah this off the heeeezeeey!
  73. XV
    Oct 11, 2005
    10
    The ROC is still alive!
  74. RyanM
    Oct 1, 2005
    7
    Late registration is a fairly good album. Not quite as well put together as college dropout. I think this album lacks the same sence of urgency that college dropout had, however it is still pretty good and worth the purchase.
  75. ReyP
    Nov 4, 2005
    9
    Best rap album in years. Kanye West seemingly could care less about doing what everyone else is doing. On Late Registration, he does his own thing and it is a masterpiece.
  76. Mrs.West
    Oct 21, 2005
    10
    I give Late Registration a 10!!! There is not a single bad song on this CD, it includes original beats, ill rhymes, and creative concepts, what more is needed? He is the only hip hop artist who is not talking about how many ho's he f**ked, and how many brothas he killed, Kan' deserves many props for such a album. He even talks about stuff that people need to hear and stuff that I give Late Registration a 10!!! There is not a single bad song on this CD, it includes original beats, ill rhymes, and creative concepts, what more is needed? He is the only hip hop artist who is not talking about how many ho's he f**ked, and how many brothas he killed, Kan' deserves many props for such a album. He even talks about stuff that people need to hear and stuff that other artists are to afraid to approach, scared for their reputation, such as in the song "Roses", Kan' says " You know the best medicine go to people thats paid, If Magic Johnson got a cure for A.I.D.'s And all the broke muthafu**as past away You tellin me if my grandma was in the N.B.A. Right now she'd be ok? But since she was just a secretary Working for the church For thirty five years Things sposed to stop right here." Do you know of any other artists who would sing about that? I think not.....Kanye gets a well deserved 10! Expand
  77. LDot
    Dec 17, 2005
    10
    Brilliant.
  78. SLatrelle
    Dec 18, 2005
    10
    Man you've got to be either stupid or the un-informed percentage of people who don't understand hip hop. Man I've strived my entire life to write, record, and perform music; and I am very good. This guy, Kanye West, is a genius and a living legend in our midst and all people can say is that he's ARROGANT!!!!!! Ever heard of Mozart; I'm sure you have...and by the Man you've got to be either stupid or the un-informed percentage of people who don't understand hip hop. Man I've strived my entire life to write, record, and perform music; and I am very good. This guy, Kanye West, is a genius and a living legend in our midst and all people can say is that he's ARROGANT!!!!!! Ever heard of Mozart; I'm sure you have...and by the way....he was stubborn and arrogant. But guess what....it doesn't negate the fact that he was a d_mn genius. If you want to know what hip hop really is BUY THIS ALBUM!!!!! This gentleman, West, has lyrics that are street and conscious but hip and still clever--Amazing! And Honestly, I don't know if his beats are better than his lyrics....and you KNOW he's a hip hop beat guru. I'll say this and put every thing on it......Right now this man represents the highest level of evolution for Rap Music. He single handedly changed the SOUND of Hip Hop. He managed to muscle in that so so familiar college-boy dress code. Dude got a mascot. Again, lyrics are premium. Plus he's got persiverence like no other....remember THROUGH THE WIRE. People......if you ain't gon' give this album a 10, don't bother to vote. Go review some plain Rap like Baby a.k.a. Birdman, or Master P, or some other shallow-content music. Finally, let me say this. I'm growing as a Christian day after day. So, I don't agree with everything West says in his music. But I believe that his music is shaping and foreshadowing music to come; and not just Rap. Music will become more positive and conscious and and at the same time it'll be hip. Or at least I'm hoping. God Bless everyone. P.S. If you're reviewing an album DON'T say that a song is not good b/c of a chorus or a particular melody; that's being presumptuous. These songs are works of art so you just have to listen an learn to enjoy them for what they are. That's like looking at a van Gogh and saying...."Huh, its a pity that he didn't use more green in this picture." An artist can do what he wants to do its his art, you just have to appreciate his artistic expression. Artists aren't interested in making songs the way you like to hear them, they're expressing THEIR gifts not yours. Peace!!! For real this time. Expand
  79. James>>>
    Dec 27, 2005
    10
    It is just great
  80. MarshallM
    Oct 22, 2005
    8
    some reallly good songs, but not better then his other album. " bush doesn't care about black people!" pshh, idiot.
  81. RichardJ
    Dec 31, 2005
    10
    First up I'm old school. But my kids are big hip hop fans. And when something is good it does get my attention too. I try to relate to them to have a good ear and develop good tastes in every aspect of their lives. I remind them of the disco age and how some of that music is so ignorable now, (they wonder how could you have listened to THAT) but the same the is true for so much of First up I'm old school. But my kids are big hip hop fans. And when something is good it does get my attention too. I try to relate to them to have a good ear and develop good tastes in every aspect of their lives. I remind them of the disco age and how some of that music is so ignorable now, (they wonder how could you have listened to THAT) but the same the is true for so much of the music that's rammed down their throats today. Toxic waste ain't good for the body or the mind. Industies have profitted off people for generations by dumping pure trash on people. And such is the state of the entertainment industry also. As long as I'm getting paid, is the motto, I guess. Sooner or later, in time I knew a great musician would come along for thier generation and have something to offer them, that wasn't destrucion of them (body & soul) for profit. Upon first listening of first John Legend's first CD, then later Kanye's own Late Registration, over and over..... and over. I just got around to listening to the College Dropout CD, so I'm definitely not comparing one to the other.I think that the musician and the next wave of conscious and creative thought provoking and concerned musicians may have arrived. I think sometimes music critics, like movie critics have subjected themselves to far too much of inferior product to know the real thing when they see it sometime. Yeah, I been waiting for "THE ONE". Expand
  82. TomYeC
    Dec 6, 2005
    10
    Yes..."what more could you ask for?...the international a**hole..."....Kanye West backed up College Dropout with a BANG!!!! 10.5/10 A must in any CD collection....Definitely a classic....Kanye the best thing that ever happened to Soul/Hip Hop since Baby Face...
  83. ChristopherA
    Oct 27, 2005
    10
    Great. Fantastic beats, and brilliant production/string arrangements from Jon Brion. Kanye deserves all the acclaim he receives. "Gone" shines as a daring accomplishment.
  84. adriano
    Oct 5, 2005
    8
    Top Stuff, so laid back and what real hip hop is about. Rather than hearing about artists continously blabbering on about cars, bitches, and money Kanye adreeses some real issues Even with a mainstream tune like Golddigger man still gets his word across. 'My way home' could have been such a better tune if common and kanye himself had done another 2 verses, such a tease!
  85. AndreW
    Oct 9, 2005
    10
    I have a masters in music (majoring in popular music) and I have listening to hip-hop for over 15 years, so I am more than qualified to review this album. To say it is the best album this year is an understatment.
  86. RaulJ
    Aug 26, 2005
    10
    Awesome
  87. RossA
    Aug 26, 2005
    8
    Kanye doesn't belong above Sufjan Stevens. Seriously.
  88. [Anonymous]
    Aug 26, 2005
    8
    not as good as the college dropout, but still sits above most hip-hop records, a slower record than the colege dropout, not as fun or as gripping, but very thoughtful, I hope the next one is more lively and fun
  89. JoeL
    Aug 26, 2005
    10
    Kanye you did it again!!!Album of the year.Jay-Z handed the torch to Kanye and he is running away with it!!!!
  90. phill
    Aug 27, 2005
    9
    I don't understand how anyone can say this album is not as good as his debut. The production is crisper and the samples are better. In the first album, the guest stars often seemed out of place (i.e. Never let me Down, Breathe In, Breathe Out), where as now Kanye can even take the bland vocals of Levine and make them fit into his style. Kanye is doing things with rap music that have I don't understand how anyone can say this album is not as good as his debut. The production is crisper and the samples are better. In the first album, the guest stars often seemed out of place (i.e. Never let me Down, Breathe In, Breathe Out), where as now Kanye can even take the bland vocals of Levine and make them fit into his style. Kanye is doing things with rap music that have never been done before. Listen to the piano and strings breakdown around 3:30 in Gone (when was the last time a rap song had a piano and string breakdown). All in all, this is one of the best albums of the year, up there with Arular and yes, Sufjan Stevens' Illinois. Expand
  91. SamL
    Aug 27, 2005
    7
    Solid album, but nowhere near being a classic.
  92. TomK
    Aug 27, 2005
    10
    Best Rap album of the year
  93. NickH
    Aug 27, 2005
    9
    Brilliant. It could have done without all those skits, however... maybe one, but not five.
  94. KateL
    Aug 28, 2005
    10
    Yeah, Kanye samples a lot. So do a lot of hip-hop producers. What I find so brilliant about this album is how much the way he uses his samples has changed. On College Dropout, he built a collage with samples; on Late Registration, they are instruments in his orchestra. And come on, previous commenters. As if it even makes sense to compare Sufjan and Kanye on a linear integer scale!
  95. ColinT
    Aug 28, 2005
    9
    Considering all the buzz about this album, there would be much to be disappointed from. But like any reasonably good album, you just need to hear it for what it is, which is a rather good follow up to an excellent (if not flawed) album. Its clear that Kanye has noticed the criticism about his rapping ability and anyone that has heard one of his freestyles as of late knows this cat can Considering all the buzz about this album, there would be much to be disappointed from. But like any reasonably good album, you just need to hear it for what it is, which is a rather good follow up to an excellent (if not flawed) album. Its clear that Kanye has noticed the criticism about his rapping ability and anyone that has heard one of his freestyles as of late knows this cat can rap. As for production its refreshing to see sampling on such a mainstream record. Perhaps its the confidence he justifiable has after Collage Dropout, but Kanye's beats have become much more simplified then the often overly produced songs on the previous (See: We Don't Care). Also refreshing is the absence of boring Rims and Ice rap, though it has been replaced with a more Pop attitude. The only truly disappointing tracks are Bring Me Down, where the washed up diva Brandy sings over 2/3rds of the song, and the orginal Diamonds which is easily surpassed by the remix. Overall this might just be the best billboard rap cd of the year, and yes thats an empty compliment, but with acts like Dangerdoom coming up its one worth accepting. Expand
  96. Scooby
    Aug 28, 2005
    10
    gave it a 10...this album is musically light years ahead of CD. Lyrically kanye will NEVER be able to match his production talent, but the latter half makes up for the former. And as for "Ross", please tell me why Kanye cant be higher than Sufjen...do hint a bit of bias?
  97. ss
    Aug 28, 2005
    10
    this album flows smoothly from start 2 finish kanyes juss killin the rap game right now Best tracks:diamonds, crack music, touch the sky
  98. StuT
    Aug 28, 2005
    10
    This is way better than Sufjan could ever hope to be, unless Kanye produces their next album. The hype is not doing the album justice. It is the best album of the year bar none.
  99. ByronM
    Aug 28, 2005
    9
    Well if 10=100. Well I have to give this album a 9 which is a 90 on metacritic which is still AMAZING for an hip-hop album out now. This album is AMAZING. I think its slightly better than The College Dropout. His lyrical content has gotten a lot better and I think he uses his samples better with this album. I do agree though by next week...the album will probably drop to like an 88 but Well if 10=100. Well I have to give this album a 9 which is a 90 on metacritic which is still AMAZING for an hip-hop album out now. This album is AMAZING. I think its slightly better than The College Dropout. His lyrical content has gotten a lot better and I think he uses his samples better with this album. I do agree though by next week...the album will probably drop to like an 88 but like I said...still AMAZING for an hip-hop album. Kanye is a legend in the making. Expand
  100. whb
    Aug 29, 2005
    7
    This generation's Bob Dylan? Is someone smoking Crack Music? Jon Brion's production is great, but Kanye's is all over the place. One minute he's socially conscious in "Diamonds" and the next minute he lets Jay-Z come on to rap about how great he is. Kanye is way to pretentious and arrogant. But he makes a good record.
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Feb 17, 2011
    70
    Late Registration's salvation (and, undoubtedly, Kanye's own) are when it basks in the sunshine after the rain.
  2. Jan 3, 2011
    90
    Each of these songs offers more exquisite details than I could earmark in twice this space, many of them literary, which the English prof's dropout son rightly claims as his calling. But secret brilliance is more likely to emerge from the sops to his hip-hop base.
  3. Late Registration can't replicate the novelty of last year's College Dropout, but otherwise, this is an impressively more mature and labored-over album.