Late Registration

Late Registration Image
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 818 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Grammy-winner returns with a highly-anticpated follow-up to 'The College Dropout,' marking the second installment in a planned four-part series of albums. Jon Brion co-produced, and Brandy, Common, Nas, The Game, Jamie Foxx and Maroon 5's Adam Levine guest.

Top Track

Bittersweet
Bittersweet You're gonna be the death of me I don't want you but I need you I love you and hate you at the very same time Bittersweet See what I... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Late Registration is an undeniable triumph, packed front to back, so expansive it makes the debut sound like a rough draft.
  2. Jan 3, 2011
    90
    Each of these songs offers more exquisite details than I could earmark in twice this space, many of them literary, which the English prof's dropout son rightly claims as his calling. But secret brilliance is more likely to emerge from the sops to his hip-hop base.
  3. Vibe
    80
    There are still too many touchy-feely songs. [Oct 2005, p.161]
  4. By freshening up his style without entirely abandoning it, West still has the rest of the rap world playing catch-up.
  5. Late Registration really wants to be an album album, which makes all the more frustrating and undermining the fact that it mirrors the flaws of its predecessor: the glut and the stilted sequencing.
  6. Not a dud, certainly not a work of cosmic art. It’s meekly above-average.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 248
  1. Oct 17, 2011
    10
    Wake up Mr. West cause you gave a an incredible album to enjoy for days to come. The amount of effort that was put into this album shines inWake up Mr. West cause you gave a an incredible album to enjoy for days to come. The amount of effort that was put into this album shines in the best tracks of the LP.
    Best Tracks:
    Heard 'Em Say (Feat. Adam Levine)
    Gold Digger (Feat. Jamie Foxx)
    Hey Mama
    Drive Slow (Feat. Paul Wall & GLC)
    We Major (Feat Nas & Really Doe)
    Diamonds From Sierra Leone (Feat Jay-Z)
    And all the Skits.
    Expand
  2. JamieA
    Sep 14, 2005
    10
    No immediate sellers like Dropout has but balanced quality through tracks, hit again Kanye!
  3. KateL
    Aug 28, 2005
    10
    Yeah, Kanye samples a lot. So do a lot of hip-hop producers. What I find so brilliant about this album is how much the way he uses his Yeah, Kanye samples a lot. So do a lot of hip-hop producers. What I find so brilliant about this album is how much the way he uses his samples has changed. On College Dropout, he built a collage with samples; on Late Registration, they are instruments in his orchestra. And come on, previous commenters. As if it even makes sense to compare Sufjan and Kanye on a linear integer scale! Expand
  4. KyleighH
    Feb 11, 2006
    10
    This is a very good album. Kanye West does absolutely excellent with this album. I love the songs "Gold Digger" and "Heard 'Em Say". This is a very good album. Kanye West does absolutely excellent with this album. I love the songs "Gold Digger" and "Heard 'Em Say". They are both really, really, extremely good songs. Congrats to Kanye West at the Grammys. You go, Kanye! Keep on making the music that we all love! Expand
  5. NickH
    Aug 27, 2005
    9
    Brilliant. It could have done without all those skits, however... maybe one, but not five.
  6. JustinD
    Dec 4, 2005
    9
    All of the tracks on this album are good. he should of gotten 5 mics.
  7. BradyD
    Aug 31, 2005
    0
    weak corny rap. the fact that this trendy crap is considered rap album of the year makes me sick. ya'll ain't lookin in the right weak corny rap. the fact that this trendy crap is considered rap album of the year makes me sick. ya'll ain't lookin in the right place. peep edan, one be lo, or dangerdoom for best album. peace Collapse

See all 248 User Reviews