LCD Soundsystem

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 119 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 98 out of 119
  2. Negative: 14 out of 119

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 23, 2015
    8
    Excellent debut from the dance rock James Murphy vehicle. One of the most striking things about the record is the range of styles present - dance, punk rock, White Album psychedelic rock, all present and accounted for. Opener "Daft Punk.." is a fitting tribute to the masked dance outfit, up tempo, quirky and essentially catchy. "Tribulations" has a clubbing feel to it - its a sound hardExcellent debut from the dance rock James Murphy vehicle. One of the most striking things about the record is the range of styles present - dance, punk rock, White Album psychedelic rock, all present and accounted for. Opener "Daft Punk.." is a fitting tribute to the masked dance outfit, up tempo, quirky and essentially catchy. "Tribulations" has a clubbing feel to it - its a sound hard to pin down but is definitely familiar - for some reason Primal Scream pops into my head. "Movement" sees LCD Soundsystem go for a thumping trash punk feel before the band essentially cover The Beatles "Dear Prudence" with "I'm Never As Tired As When I'm Waking Up". The second half of the album is very much set in EDM mode, with the tracks gradually built up around grooves and beats over reasonably long stretches. A great introduction to the band who would go from strength to strength over the course of their studio career and following albums. Expand
  2. Mar 1, 2011
    8
    LCD Soundsystem is a great album. Each track sounds great. It's a mix between punk to electro to funk to just down-right rock. It's a perfect blend of all those genre's. "Yeah (Crass Version)" is the standout track. All In All, LCD Soundsystem is not as good as Sound Of Silver, but it's a good early stuff by one of the best indie bands out there. B+
  3. Feb 21, 2011
    8
    Stretching over 2 discs and containing a solid 100 minutes of music, you can expect a few shortfalls, especially considering that it's a debut. What makes LCD Soundsystem's self-titled debut so special thought that it doesn't tread the middle ground - it goes for excellent or bust, and mostly succeeds.
  4. MarkJ
    May 11, 2007
    10
    Even better than the first album, every song is worth of a single release
  5. bobr
    May 5, 2007
    10
    daft punk is playing at my house... my house! woot
  6. EduardoO
    Apr 1, 2007
    10
    This is the testament (and beginning) of the Murphy's era. James will be remembered for his take on Dance/Rock as anybody else has done it. Get it, listen and be part of history.
  7. TaniaR
    Dec 19, 2006
    9
    this is a great album i love lisening to it
  8. SamH
    Sep 24, 2006
    9
    Premier Punk-funk that is simply too much fun to ignore. There's more than a little nostalgia with referfences to New Order, Talking Heads, Gang of Four, and many, many more.
  9. AprilC
    May 26, 2006
    10
    Tribulations is simply the best dance track I have ever heard. It is the reason I bought this stellar album, and I just knew the rest would kick! It does! BUY THIS ALBUM. It is unique, clever, catchy, and ROCKS!
  10. Ian
    May 16, 2006
    9
    This album still sounds strong a year down the line.
  11. SeanP.
    Apr 4, 2006
    9
    It isnt perfect, like absolute classics out there, but man, the best songs are really, really great. And it contains the best electronica single of last year: "Yeah". I could listen to that song (all 9 minutes of it) all day for a week.
  12. EmilyB
    Feb 9, 2006
    9
    The second disc easily catapaults this record from a tribute to James Murphy's favorite bands to something much more interesting.
  13. GaryM.
    Feb 1, 2006
    10
    I wish I were as cool as their music. I'd be beating girls off with a stick. Seriously.
  14. KevB
    Jan 12, 2006
    8
    Quality album. Fresh & Funky. Saw them live last year and they blew the house down, and that was on a Sunday morning after 2 days of utter maddness. Takes some band to get a crowd going like that.
  15. RosalynT
    Jan 11, 2006
    9
    I like the free flow thinking
  16. KJ
    Dec 21, 2005
    7
    There are two things that I definitely know about this album. 1. Between the two discs, there is enough really good music to fill a one disc LP. 2. Clearly, every music critic out there is being bullied by James Murphy. Music critics, almost by definition, are music nerds, and James Murphy is quickly becoming known as the Godfather of music nerds. With all of the references to the There are two things that I definitely know about this album. 1. Between the two discs, there is enough really good music to fill a one disc LP. 2. Clearly, every music critic out there is being bullied by James Murphy. Music critics, almost by definition, are music nerds, and James Murphy is quickly becoming known as the Godfather of music nerds. With all of the references to the cool-kids' music of the past, for a critic to give LCD Soundsystem a bad review would be akin to admitting that he or she doesn't know the history of hip music. Of course, just because critics are afraid of being outed by Murphy doesn't make the record any stronger. Just look at the user reviews. Typically, user reviews are biased and rate higher than critics' reviews. No surprise that users rated this disc lower than critics did. With all of that said, this is a pretty good record, and I'm not afraid to admit it. I still don't like Daft Punk, though, unless they're being referenced in a song that they didn't make. Expand
  17. steph
    Sep 29, 2005
    9
    this album rocks. especially beat connection... there's such a strong rythm and the whole album just keeps you rocking....
  18. derrekj
    Sep 24, 2005
    10
    are you insane? seriously? i can't even get into how well this record is made--how it works in so many ways. the songs rule independently, and as an album (short and sweet) it actually flows! that's completely disregarding the ridiculously detailed and amazing tracks on the bonus disc. give it 5 years... the bands that went balls out for the glory will be dead and gone, or so are you insane? seriously? i can't even get into how well this record is made--how it works in so many ways. the songs rule independently, and as an album (short and sweet) it actually flows! that's completely disregarding the ridiculously detailed and amazing tracks on the bonus disc. give it 5 years... the bands that went balls out for the glory will be dead and gone, or so horrible and pop that you'll be ashamed you ever went to see them. lcd and dfa will be left standing, getting better and better. Expand
  19. ScottE.
    Sep 14, 2005
    9
    Wow! I love this 2-CD set, and I'm not even into trance or house party music! I ended up mixing my favorite songs from both CDs into an 80-minute jam of my favorite songs (Tribulation, Yeah, Movement & Disco Infiltrator) and it gets me up and moving every morning. In fact, I burned several CDs of my mix and have gotten rave reviews from all of the party animals at my work. Highly Wow! I love this 2-CD set, and I'm not even into trance or house party music! I ended up mixing my favorite songs from both CDs into an 80-minute jam of my favorite songs (Tribulation, Yeah, Movement & Disco Infiltrator) and it gets me up and moving every morning. In fact, I burned several CDs of my mix and have gotten rave reviews from all of the party animals at my work. Highly recommended to anyone with an open mind and a curious heart. I just can't stop grooving to this music. One song sounds like David Bowie before he went androgenous and the next reminds me of Depeche Mode meets Devo meets The Cure. I can't even describe the amount of fun that it adds to my work when I slap a discopunk CD into the boombox and the ladies rock out as we work grueling 12-hour shifts. For those who are looking for something refreshingly new that reminds you of the good times back in the '80s, these songs are tight! Expand
  20. RobbieP
    Aug 24, 2005
    8
    quirky, funky, bass driven party music for those who turned their backs on trance long ago looking for something edgier.
  21. jp
    Jul 10, 2005
    10
    james murphy is a true visionary. he marries the old with the new, taking influences and creating something truly original. he's not trying to be cool, i think that's why some people don't get it.
  22. KoolKeith
    Jul 8, 2005
    10
    This album rules. For me it's the best in 2005 until. Best tracks are "Tribulations" and "Yeah (Crass)".
  23. jarryd
    Apr 4, 2005
    10
    This album is excellent. Great songs with plenty of variety. worth buyin as well double cd
  24. PhilPhil
    Mar 20, 2005
    7
    Good, not a classic, feels.....like you should be liking it a lot more than you are. Another overrated, overhyped dance album pumped up by hipsters who are just begging indie kids to break out into synth inspired dance moves. But definetly worth a listen, there are highlights, just dont expect it to change your life, as the indie press would have you believe it does.
  25. MathieuR
    Mar 17, 2005
    9
    One gets the feeling Murphy's sound might get old pretty quickly, but right now, as last year, his music is just plain fun. You'll shake your waist and feel clever about it.
  26. PaulPaul
    Mar 14, 2005
    7
    It sounds cool, but it doesn't feel like sex, u know?
  27. joeyk
    Mar 10, 2005
    10
    There's no doubt this is good stuff, and hopefully it will find its way into many ears.
  28. ericf
    Mar 5, 2005
    10
    it's real music. it pays you back for your effort. not much does that.
  29. MichaelK
    Mar 3, 2005
    9
    "Daft Punk" is one of the funnest tracks in years and definitely the album's highlight, but the rest is quite good, too, ranging from slow and druggy to post-punk and trashy, with some Talking Heads motifs thrown in for good measure. Some might find this album inconsistent, but I happen to like every style explored here, so, for me, it's just wonderuflly eclectic.
  30. Decepticon_Pom
    Mar 2, 2005
    8
    Sheer scope is the order of the day. Rekon this is one dance album that won't lose its sheen 12 or 24 months from now but will actually get better with age.
  31. [Anonymous]
    Feb 21, 2005
    10
    I don't really listen to electronica at all - and usually I think of it as disposable candy - but this cd is actually pretty good!
  32. aland
    Feb 20, 2005
    9
    ok guys... having an album of "yeah"s and "losing my edge"s would be seriously annoying wouldnt it? yes it would. murphy knows the difference between a single and an album, and he's not making an album of singles, that's the first thing you're going to have to get over before you start to appreciate how awesome these songs are. the album is party as hell with stupidly ok guys... having an album of "yeah"s and "losing my edge"s would be seriously annoying wouldnt it? yes it would. murphy knows the difference between a single and an album, and he's not making an album of singles, that's the first thing you're going to have to get over before you start to appreciate how awesome these songs are. the album is party as hell with stupidly addictive songs (daft punk is playing at my house, movement, tribulations) to crazy fun (on repeat) and to songs that make you dance like the cult-movie dumbass character with the fro (disco infiltratior). definately satisfying. Expand
  33. ManuelA
    Feb 18, 2005
    9
    Exciting sound, the right influences in the right moment -but making music which will survive.
  34. ChrisC
    Feb 17, 2005
    7
    There are some really good things about this album. The band has a really good musical sense of what they're trying to accomplish, but the music is just really lacking in emotion, and that keeps it from being an A album.
Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. LCD Soundsystem is mostly too afraid to be balls-out fun, but too unambitious to make for a really rewarding artistic experience. Essentially, it sits awkwardly in a no-man’s land between artistry and actual dancing fun, like guess-what-demographic.
  2. Built on a repetitious platform of bass, drums and guitar, what starts off as a genuinely thrilling journey tends to conclude in a cul-de-sac.
  3. A disparate yet cohesive collection of songs.