Let's Be Still

  • Record Label: Sub Pop
  • Release Date: Oct 15, 2013
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 15, 2013
    9
    The do it again. A very very beautiful album, well organised with more focus than their debut, convincing us that they have what it takes to be more than just a trendy hipster band,
  2. Mar 18, 2014
    9
    Impressive, is real, kind and sincere, by the combined chords along with the 3 voices who carry the album are subtle, and at the same strong.
    It is a tour of the most well done to the indie world.
  3. Jan 8, 2014
    10
    this is one of the most perfect albums I've heard in my life! the sounds and the lyrics make perfect my days all the songs are beautiful and my fav is let's be still.
  4. Nov 19, 2013
    8
    I was wary of this one at first, since it really diverged from the unfinished Americana sound of their first album, and Springtime/Summertime was a jarring interlude with the 80's synth. However, after watching acoustic versions of Josh McBride and other songs, I started to see that the songs were still coming from the same roots. And after going to the concert, I appreciated the level ofI was wary of this one at first, since it really diverged from the unfinished Americana sound of their first album, and Springtime/Summertime was a jarring interlude with the 80's synth. However, after watching acoustic versions of Josh McBride and other songs, I started to see that the songs were still coming from the same roots. And after going to the concert, I appreciated the level of production put into the album, and--even if only a little bit--the strange 80's synth. Since the concert I've been listening to the album nonstop. Let's be Still isn't an expansion-pack for their first album, but it is a well thought-out evolution of their sound. Expand
  5. May 2, 2014
    10
    The Head and The Heart has taken over all country-folk bands, by bringing us a different, yet artistic and beautiful album full of metaphors that take some time to interpret.
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. This is glossy Americana, mixing The Avett Brothers with Edward Sharpe And The Magnetic Zeros, its piano- and violin-led crescendos emulating old-timey grandeur.
  2. Feb 28, 2014
    50
    On Let’s Be Still, they sporadically do a good job of nagging at the heart, but fail to convince the head that this hasn’t been done better elsewhere, plenty of times before.
  3. Q Magazine
    Jan 7, 2014
    80
    It's a beautiful set of sweeping prairie ballads. [Jan 2014, p.122]