Let's Be Still - The Head and the Heart
Let's Be Still Image
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 14 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The second full-length release for the Seattle folk rock group was produced with Shawn Simmons and mixed by Peter Katis.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. 91
    There's enough head and heart here to carry these guys long after the folk-rock fad fades. [25 Oct/1 Nov 2013, p.100]
  2. 80
    There is a hardy amount of sweet material on Let’s Be Still and it is a perfect accompaniment to a morning sunrise or a low-key soirée in the woods.
  3. Jan 7, 2014
    80
    It's a beautiful set of sweeping prairie ballads. [Jan 2014, p.122]
  4. Oct 14, 2013
    70
    Let’s Be Still engages the most when it tiptoes outside of its comfort zone.
  5. 70
    Let’s Be Still is wholesome and sincere, in the way those words were intended, and without any pretense or airs and graces.
  6. Oct 14, 2013
    70
    While founders Jonathan Russell and Josiah Johnson do seem to come from the Simon & Garfunkel school of songcraft, an appreciation of California pop also comes out.
  7. Oct 15, 2013
    50
    Let’s Be Still falters in its lethargy.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Jan 8, 2014
    10
    this is one of the most perfect albums I've heard in my life! the sounds and the lyrics make perfect my days all the songs are beautiful and my fav is let's be still. Expand
  2. May 2, 2014
    10
    The Head and The Heart has taken over all country-folk bands, by bringing us a different, yet artistic and beautiful album full of metaphors that take some time to interpret. Expand
  3. Mar 18, 2014
    9
    Impressive, is real, kind and sincere, by the combined chords along with the 3 voices who carry the album are subtle, and at the same strong.
    It is a tour of the most well done to the indie world.
    Expand
  4. Oct 15, 2013
    9
    The do it again. A very very beautiful album, well organised with more focus than their debut, convincing us that they have what it takes to be more than just a trendy hipster band, Expand
  5. Nov 19, 2013
    8
    I was wary of this one at first, since it really diverged from the unfinished Americana sound of their first album, and Springtime/Summertime was a jarring interlude with the 80's synth. However, after watching acoustic versions of Josh McBride and other songs, I started to see that the songs were still coming from the same roots. And after going to the concert, I appreciated the level of production put into the album, and--even if only a little bit--the strange 80's synth. Since the concert I've been listening to the album nonstop. Let's be Still isn't an expansion-pack for their first album, but it is a well thought-out evolution of their sound. Collapse