• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Libra Scale Image
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 20 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Ne-Yo's latest effort takes on the influence of themes and character archetypes found in sci-fi fantasies and comic books and structures them around a musical plot to create a daring concept album.
Buy On
  • Record Label: Def Jam
  • Genre(s): Pop, Rap, R&B, Soul, Urban, Pop/Rock, Adult Contemporary R&B, Contemporary R&B
  • More Details and Credits »

Top Track

One in a Million
[Intro] Jet setter, go getter Nothing better Call me Mr. Been There, Done That Top model chick to your every day hood rat Less than all but more than... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. 83
    For the most part, it's easiest to enjoy Ne-Yo's fourth set of well-built love songs on their own merits.
  2. Dec 8, 2010
    83
    With nearly as many producers as songs, Libra Scale, Ne-Yo's fourth album, nevertheless hangs together sonically-these tracks move more fully into the synth-drenched Europop sheen that typified the first half of Year.
  3. Dec 8, 2010
    80
    The real "concept" here is: Michael Jackson tribute album. And a damn good one.
  4. 70
    Ne-Yo's best songs--like "So Sick" from 2006 or "Closer" from 2008, which he doesn't outdo on Libra Scale--are driven by obsessive longing, not self-satisfaction. And halfway through the album the tone changes.
  5. Dec 8, 2010
    70
    Libra Scale is a tighter, more sophisticated and compelling album that borrows not just MJ's swoony-smooth melodies, but also his taste for roleplay.
  6. 63
    Ultimately, it's admirable that Ne-Yo felt the need to take listeners on an out-of-this-world ride, but he's at his best when sticking closer to home.
  7. Dec 8, 2010
    60
    Despite Ne-Yo being absolutely serious about this--apparently, he spent three months alone developing the backstory--it doesn't feel markedly different from his first three albums. His strength remains his fluid melody-writing.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Nov 23, 2010
    9
    Ne-Yo is definitely experimenting with a new sound on "Libra Scale", but his attempt is successful. With production help from Chuck Harmony,Ne-Yo is definitely experimenting with a new sound on "Libra Scale", but his attempt is successful. With production help from Chuck Harmony, Ryan Leslie, D. DoRohn Gough, etc, Ne-Yo presented a sexy sound. The album presents itself as an album for those living the fancy nightlife, those living the "Champagne Life" Collapse
  2. Nov 23, 2010
    8
    The album is somewhat experimental, Ne-Yo has added versatility to his original limited topic range. Vocally, it isn't an improvement, but itThe album is somewhat experimental, Ne-Yo has added versatility to his original limited topic range. Vocally, it isn't an improvement, but it certainly does fit together well. Expand
  3. Apr 2, 2011
    8
    As DoctorKilla said, this is definitely an experimental album. The whole point of it is for each song to work almost like a sequence to tellAs DoctorKilla said, this is definitely an experimental album. The whole point of it is for each song to work almost like a sequence to tell a story. And Ne-Yo definitely achieved this. His goal was to make this track thought engaging, and in that front I think he succeeded. Pros: There are plenty of fantastic songs in this album that continue to show off Ne-Yo's talent as a singer and songwriter. My personal favourites are "Champagne Life", "One in A Million", "Telekinesis" and "What Have I Done". They're either electrifying, emotional or a careful mixture of both. Cons: Unfortunately, a couple of the songs are a bit of a let down and I think it was because of the fact that he was trying to be experimental. Songs like "Cause I Said So" to me were kind of lacking, especially compared to songs from his other albums like Year of the Gentlemen. Also, it's a shame there are only 10 songs. I feel that the story could've been conveyed more if there were a few more songs. But overall, this is a triumph for Ne-Yo. Expand
  4. Dec 2, 2010
    7
    Good effort from Neyo. i didn't this it was as great as his previous albums but still very enjoyable and a great album and worth listening toGood effort from Neyo. i didn't this it was as great as his previous albums but still very enjoyable and a great album and worth listening to for any r&b fans. This albums stand out tracks are also the 2 singles beautiful monster and one in a million which are both great songs. Expand
  5. Jan 7, 2011
    6
    No. I Expected something better listening to Beautiful Monster.I didn't enjoyed this album. By the way i recognize that Ne-Yo is a realNo. I Expected something better listening to Beautiful Monster.I didn't enjoyed this album. By the way i recognize that Ne-Yo is a real artist. I hope for something better the next time Expand
  6. Jan 7, 2016
    6
    this album isn't too good, i am disappointed from this album, it has 3 good songs in 10 tracks, "One in a Million", a beautiful R&B track,this album isn't too good, i am disappointed from this album, it has 3 good songs in 10 tracks, "One in a Million", a beautiful R&B track, "Cause I Said So", a europop track that has the MJ vibe, and "Beautiful Monster", a lovely dance track. The others aren't good, and some tracks like "Telekinesis" and "Makin' a Movie" are very bad. This album isn't bad, but it's also distant to be a good album Expand
  7. Dec 17, 2010
    4
    I really dont understand how this album can get above a 5. I wasnt impressed with the album, Ne-yo has definitely done much better. I mayI really dont understand how this album can get above a 5. I wasnt impressed with the album, Ne-yo has definitely done much better. I may listen to one or two tracks on the album but definitely not from start to finish. Next album needs to be considerably better than this. Expand

See all 8 User Reviews