...Like Clockwork

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
...Like Clockwork Image
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 308 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The sixth full-length studio release for the Josh Homme-led rock band includes Dave Grohl on drums as well as guest vocals from Brody Dalle, Alain Johannes, Elton John, Mark Lanegan, Trent Reznor, Jake Shears, Alex Turner, and former bassist Nick Oliveri.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 46
  2. Negative: 1 out of 46
  1. Mojo
    Jun 17, 2013
    100
    An album truly fit to do battle with the rock classics of any age. [Jul 2013, p.80]
  2. Jun 10, 2013
    90
    ...Like Clockwork is easily the best release from the band since Songs for the Deaf.
  3. Jul 3, 2013
    89
    Like Clockwork: great for rock & roll, great for culture, great for the world.
  4. May 30, 2013
    80
    Song for song, however, this is the best QOTSA album in a decade, delivering all the swagger and skew of their greatest work without rehashing it.
  5. The band return to the slow-and-low, sinister alt-boogie that made their name, with Homme's satisfying dirty badass guitar sound in full effect.
  6. Jun 3, 2013
    73
    Fittingly for a band that’s spent the past few years retooling itself, it takes some time for Queens to shake off the cobwebs and get back to full strength.
  7. Magnet
    Jul 17, 2013
    35
    Queens Of The Stone Age lumbers its way through a series of increasingly skronky, sludge-by-numbers jams and sound. [No. 100, p.57]

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 78
  2. Negative: 1 out of 78
  1. Jun 4, 2013
    10
    While it may be a well worn platitude, "good things come to those who wait" has never been more true. And "good things" on ...Like ClockworkWhile it may be a well worn platitude, "good things come to those who wait" has never been more true. And "good things" on ...Like Clockwork abound. From the haunted house monster stomp of the album's opener "Keep Your Eyes Peeled", the arena rock bravado of "Fairweather Friends", to the melodic melancholy of the eponymous album closer, it is some of JHo and Company's most adventurous work to date. And yet, never at any point did I wonder if it was QOTSA. A triumph. Expand
  2. Oct 31, 2013
    10
    This is QOTSA's finest album, and is superior even to Songs for the Deaf. Some of the songs on this record ("I Appear Missing" in particular)This is QOTSA's finest album, and is superior even to Songs for the Deaf. Some of the songs on this record ("I Appear Missing" in particular) border on true genius, and I do not use that word lightly. On this focused, cohesive and brilliant record, QOTSA musters all their strengths, rallies all their most talented friends (Trent Reznor, Mark Lanegan, Dave Grohl etc.), and taps into a deeper well of emotion than they ever have before. Although the record is vital and powerful, the snide arrogance of youth that propelled great albums like Songs for the Deaf has been replaced by maturity and insight, which has honed the band down to a sharp edge. Gone are the superfluous "joke songs" that distracted listeners from the greatness of their past albums. There is not one bad song on this record. It has been polished and chiseled down to a flawless diamond. This album has more emotional power than anything QOTSA has done before. It seems Homme was truly changed by his near-death experience, but he must not have been clinically dead on the table for very long, because he doesn't seem to have lost a single brain cell. His lyrics are more clever and insightful than ever before, and his riffs are more complex and intricately layered. This record proves that QOTSA keeps getting better and better with age. Homme has produced his greatest work at the age of forty, a truly admirable accomplishment for a rock musician. Although the last song promises "It's all downhill from here," it seems QOTSA have begun a new era in their own career, and in some ways it seems they are just getting started. Expand
  3. Dec 8, 2014
    10
    I listened to this album before I heard any other QOTSA album. I liked it, and then I listened again, and then again. Gave it some time andI listened to this album before I heard any other QOTSA album. I liked it, and then I listened again, and then again. Gave it some time and then came back, and then couldn't stop listening to it. I bought, I've listened to it countless times, and only now with as much space as I have now can I legitimately say that not only is it my favorite album of 2013, it's one of my favorite albums of all time. I won't drag you down with details you already know, but suffice to say this album is just about perfect, even if it doesn't feels so on first listen. It's not for everyone, but if this is your jam, this is REALLY your jam. I love it in every way, even its faults. If you haven't heard it, then listen to it. Now. Expand
  4. Jun 6, 2013
    9
    Not quite as good as the albums "from the good old days", but an appropriate comeback. QotSA have taken on a heavier, almost progressive-likeNot quite as good as the albums "from the good old days", but an appropriate comeback. QotSA have taken on a heavier, almost progressive-like direction in their music while still retaining their edginess. Expand
  5. Jun 4, 2013
    9
    It's so refreshing to hear Josh Homme's main band record some new music after his recent troubles in the hospital and depressions and whatnot.It's so refreshing to hear Josh Homme's main band record some new music after his recent troubles in the hospital and depressions and whatnot. But how does this new record hold up to the genius they've released before? Well, it matches nearly perfectly in quality to classics like "Songs for the Deaf" and "Lullabies to Paralyze", but strangely stands as its own record. It's more mellow and heartfelt than previous releases, yet still provides some decent headbangers along the ride. If you're a fan, it's definitely worth checking out. If you're not, it's still definitely worth checking out. Expand
  6. Oct 31, 2013
    9
    This is a very good rock album and may very well be the rock album of the year. Not only is the rock intense, but many of the songs containThis is a very good rock album and may very well be the rock album of the year. Not only is the rock intense, but many of the songs contain catchy hooks and solos. I especially love the solo of I Sat by The Ocean. Would definitely recommend this album. Expand
  7. Dec 1, 2013
    3
    This album is so desperate for an identity by featuring a multitude of guest musicians, but it leaves a very disjointed, schizophrenic feelingThis album is so desperate for an identity by featuring a multitude of guest musicians, but it leaves a very disjointed, schizophrenic feeling that just never accomplishes anything worthwhile. Outside of "My God Is The Sun" (thanks for the first single, giving me the impression the whole album would sound that way), nothing on this brick is listenable.

    So you were hospitalized. The album is as boring as the inspiration for the tracks. The upsetting part is that if there weren't complications with his surgery, we would have had a second Them Crooked Vultures album. I feel robbed.

    Josh Homme can't steer the ship by himself. He's great guitarist but an average singer, and benefits much from his celebrity friends to flesh out songs. However, too many cooks ruined the stew here.

    One good song. Skip this terrible album.
    Expand

See all 78 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2013 Music Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Music Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 4, 2013
    Throughout the coming weeks, we'll be collecting year-end top 10 album lists from dozens of music critics, publications, record stores, and other sources. Find individual lists and this year's cumulative rankings inside.