Lioness: Hidden Treasures Image
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 32 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The final album from Amy Winehouse was compiled by producer Salaam Remi from demos, covers, and, outtakes recorded from 2002 to March 2011
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 28
  2. Negative: 2 out of 28
  1. Feb 7, 2012
    80
    It's a gift to hear anything from Winehouse in the wake of her untimely death, and this new compilation features true treasures.
  2. Dec 8, 2011
    80
    The selections range from pre-Frank material to the last song she ever recorded, all united by a distinctive rawness, her voice kept naked and slightly flawed, despite the sophisticated production.
  3. Dec 19, 2011
    70
    While Lioness may not be the perfect Amy Winehouse album, it's all we have, which seems to be enough.
  4. Dec 1, 2011
    60
    There are early recordings that would probably never have seen the light of day had the artist lived.
  5. Dec 22, 2011
    60
    An admirable tribute if frequently deafened by the echo of its tragic catalyst. [Jan 2012, p.121]
  6. Dec 8, 2011
    60
    With an emphasis on covers, the overall mood is frustratingly lighter than Winehouse's two studio LPs. It's missing the pointed wit, energy and hard-fought candour that marked her best material, but her considerable vocal swagger is unmistakable.
  7. Dec 5, 2011
    25
    A cash-in thin on new songs that confirms Winehouse was still a long way from finishing up the five-years-in-the-making follow-up to "Back to Black."

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Negative: 2 out of 12
  1. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    This isn't an actual album, Amy has stated numerous times that she "will not release an album" she "is not proud of". This is exactly what this album is, some songs (between the cheats) are what you would expect from Amy while others are things which would likely never see the light of day had she stuck around. Her producer stated "Better to release it than have it collect dust in a hard drive", this is just a tribute album and in no way reflects the quality of work we have come to expect from Amy. Check out Frank and Back to Black to get a real taste of Amy's talent. Expand
  2. Dec 8, 2011
    10
    'Hidden Treasures' is not a studio album nor a complitation of greatest hits, so it's not fair to judge it as one. It's enjoyable to listen to and makes you feel nostalgic. Expand
  3. Feb 8, 2012
    10
    People that criticize this album are really heartless. Of course it's not going to sound like a studio recorded album, most of the songs are demos and different versions of some of her songs. However, [I think that what we should pay attention to in here is the amazing job her producers have done with just a few old demos and we should also pay some respect to Amy. I'm not exactly the ultimate Amy Winehouse fan but I appreciate what her producers and her label have done. Take it as if it were a tribute for Amy. Expand
  4. Dec 12, 2011
    7
    I wasn't expecting much from an album which probably was put together just to be a final money-making posthumous essential album for Amy Winehouse. Hey, but when I put it on, I couldn't find anything on it that I didn't like. And there were a few highlights that I really liked This is a good album, and it goes to show that Amy Winehouse could do anything with her vocal style -- the Girl From Ipanema even sounds like a new song and not the tired one that has been overplayed and overused over the decade. No small feat. We lost a great talent. Collapse
  5. Jan 28, 2012
    7
    Very good album!. Just a shame that such talent is now gone!. With this compilation, the songs all sound the same sometimes and can get repetitive, however it is a good album that should be treated with great respect at the work that has gone into it. Overall 7 out of 10 Expand
  6. Jun 3, 2012
    6
    Amy... Amy.. If U Seek Amy...
    Sadly Amy Is A Treasure But Not So Much The Album Half The Album Is Meh Half Is Amazing..
    1 Extra Point
    Because It's Amy..
    But My Real Score Is A 5
    Expand
  7. Dec 7, 2011
    1
    Winehouse was horribly overrated but surly even Amy fans will fell ripped off but this cheap cash in of B-sides and unfinished recordings. Enough said. Expand

See all 12 User Reviews