• Record Label: V2
  • Release Date: May 8, 2001
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 40 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 40
  2. Negative: 1 out of 40

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MMore
    Aug 14, 2001
    10
    Great album! Some of these critics don't know shit!
  2. AlexM.
    Aug 14, 2001
    10
    Best r&r album since the same band's 'Amorica'.
  3. AliellaS.
    Oct 15, 2001
    10
    This is a great cd; everything is perfect on it :)
  4. R.Bloom
    Feb 4, 2002
    10
    Haven't heard Lions, but I can tell the critics on this web site just don't get the Crowes. This band loves music, works hard and is what it is. I love everything else they've ever done, and I've got a copy of "Lions" on the way. NEVER listen to critics. Decide for yourself.
  5. nt
    Aug 26, 2001
    10
    whoever doesnt like this cd is an idiot go but it today
  6. ColinB.
    Sep 9, 2002
    9
    Top rockin album. Top album a must for any black crowes fans or any other rock fans for that matter. This album will sure get your high. F*ck what the critics say they're too interested in wierd commercial sh*t or big names they dare not diss. The Crowes are what music should be!!
  7. nt
    Aug 26, 2001
    10
    whoever doesnt like this cd is an idiot go but it today
  8. SuzanneC.
    Dec 2, 2001
    10
    This album is amazing. Once again, the Black Crowes kick butt!
  9. ElinaB.
    Jul 29, 2001
    8
    I love the overall feel of it... it's very 70's sounding and really easy to totally get into.
  10. AC
    Oct 18, 2004
    10
    The Crowes light has always shone and this album is a glorious reminder of that fact. These guys know how to rock and they do it better than anyone out there today. I love this cd. For fans of true rock n roll, this album will be a sure fire hit. Rock on, brothers!
  11. ErikF.
    Jan 8, 2002
    9
    Forget anybody who rates this album below an 8. This is simply the best rock album in too long.
  12. BenF.
    Jul 26, 2001
    10
    I thought that 'Lions' brought the Crowes into a completely new arena of rock music. The way that the guitars are out-of-tune in "Losing My Mind," makes me feel like I'm actually losing my own mind. I love stuff like that. A complete musical experience. The music would tell the story even if there were no lyrics.
  13. ChrisZ.
    Sep 6, 2001
    9
    Variety is what keeps a rock band alive. The Black Crowes have let us know that they are capable of the "no formula" pretense and this album is only slightly off key if compared to past Black Crowes albums. Let's put it this way, if this were a first time project from a new band..it would be an instant classic. Most critics of this CD sound like they've been living in a cave Variety is what keeps a rock band alive. The Black Crowes have let us know that they are capable of the "no formula" pretense and this album is only slightly off key if compared to past Black Crowes albums. Let's put it this way, if this were a first time project from a new band..it would be an instant classic. Most critics of this CD sound like they've been living in a cave with N'sync or Brittany for 3 years. Well, good luck in discovering Rock & Roll again, you over-paid peons! Expand
  14. funkmeister
    Aug 25, 2003
    10
    The best CD I've heard in a long f*ckin' time! I'm not even a huge crowes fan, BUT, this has got to be one of the jamminest rock CDs out there. A must have.
  15. MarkB
    Feb 12, 2005
    9
    I basically heard the black crowes backwards and im just now at lions and its one amazing album, i find myself searching tabs everytime i hear the songs so i can play along with the cd. the black crowes are very underestimated, i think theyre the only guys out there that sound like this today, lbasically polished classic rock. much respect
  16. JasonH
    Apr 8, 2005
    9
    The test of time is the truest test: it's 2005 and I spent the last two weeks with only LIONS in my car's CD player. It gets better with age. And have you noticed that all the negative critics pass the Crowes off as a Faces rip-off? Critics just listen to each other to try and sound smart and not left out--bet most of 'em never ever listened to a Faces album, and the Crowes The test of time is the truest test: it's 2005 and I spent the last two weeks with only LIONS in my car's CD player. It gets better with age. And have you noticed that all the negative critics pass the Crowes off as a Faces rip-off? Critics just listen to each other to try and sound smart and not left out--bet most of 'em never ever listened to a Faces album, and the Crowes haven't exploited that sound since SHAKE YER MONEYMAKER. LIONS has great riffs and swamp-a-delic grooves and production. Own it. Expand
  17. AndrewL
    Jun 3, 2005
    10
    Lions is a fucking 10. Anyone who labels the Black Crowes imitators has his head up his fucking ass and/or does not know music. The most prevalent similarity between the Stones and the Crowes is the fact they both rule.
  18. jeffg
    Jul 1, 2005
    9
    Some erratic seques in a few songs, but an amazing disc on every level. On first listen, may not appeal to big Crowes fans, but with a little patience, this will be a staple in your collection.
  19. JimmyB
    Jul 19, 2005
    10
    One Awesome Disk!!! Rock 'N' Roll with a lot of SOUL!!!!
  20. JasonM
    Nov 29, 2005
    10
    I feel sorry for the critics who dissed this CD. HA HA HA It must be true... with their fancy words I wonder if they enjoy life ?! Anywho....WOW !!! I just can't get over this music. Does anybody else hear how 'Midnight' starts off so bad but then turns into a great song? And the next song 'lickin' is kinda stange?( my wifes favorite btw) and the rest of the I feel sorry for the critics who dissed this CD. HA HA HA It must be true... with their fancy words I wonder if they enjoy life ?! Anywho....WOW !!! I just can't get over this music. Does anybody else hear how 'Midnight' starts off so bad but then turns into a great song? And the next song 'lickin' is kinda stange?( my wifes favorite btw) and the rest of the record is just KILLER !!!!!!!! WellI think I know why. To put off the critics! HA HA HA HA HA "Baby don't ya see... the jokes are on you" INDEED !!!!!!!! my Souls' Singin' ..... critics can't make your soul sing ......AMEN .....Gone......... Collapse
  21. BRANDONL
    May 10, 2006
    10
    One of the most talented bands still touring today is The Black Crowes. Their music is not an imitation, but an innovation of how music can be on the cutting edge and at the same time stay connected to the roots of rock n roll. Chris's lyrics speak to the soul... TEN!!!
  22. tracey
    Jan 16, 2007
    10
    the fact that the Real listeners have rated it higher than the critics says it all!another classic,all i can say is WOW!i can't stop listening to it.
  23. KenI
    May 3, 2007
    10
    Great album. More hard Rock than other Crowe's albums.
  24. AxeS.
    Mar 4, 2008
    7
    The Crowes continue their foray into alternative rock (three snakes part II). 'greasy grass river', 'losin my mind', and 'cosmic friend' rank among the band's best songs. the whole album has a psychedelic feel, due in part to the post-post modern album artwork. like most Crowes albums, though, there are a couple of clunkers on lions.
  25. BG
    Aug 14, 2003
    4
    I think it sucked, except number 2 4 5 6 8 9 11 12. and those are the ones i can i kinda like.
  26. MMore
    Aug 14, 2001
    10
    Great album! Some of these critics don't know shit!
  27. EmilyG.
    Dec 19, 2001
    9
    Critics have no idea what they are talking about. I think those who chose to rate albums for a living should have some sense of what music actually is, and should be able to recognize good music when they hear it. This album is great...One of the best from thsi group.
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 15
  2. Negative: 3 out of 15
  1. Lions is indeed a truer expression of the Crowes' potential: adventurous songwriting ensconced in a blues- and funk-inspired swagger.
  2. 80
    Their latest, Lions, gets back to basics without going backward; the brothers Robinson are still ripping off the classics, sure, but they've expanded the history lesson from the Small Faces and Humble Pie to sharpening the attack with Zeppelinesque tricks and modern rock energy.
  3. Where the Robinson boys once seemed perpetually stuck in the butt-skankin', Faces-meets-Sticky Fingers pit, Lions draws more on communal southern boogie rock--slightly less on doofus monster guitar riffs. Not that Lions signals any reinvention, the Black Crowes are just masters at resaddling their one-trick pony.