• Record Label: Def Jam
  • Release Date: Jun 5, 2012
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 37
  2. Negative: 1 out of 37

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. NJR
    Jun 6, 2012
    9
    This album is being criminally under rated by critics and fans across the internet, the production sonic genius, every single instrument is used to perfection and the whole thing comes together beautifully, after a day or two of listening I would have put it on par with R4 but after a solid week it's now surpassed even that, you really need to take time and listen to every note, line andThis album is being criminally under rated by critics and fans across the internet, the production sonic genius, every single instrument is used to perfection and the whole thing comes together beautifully, after a day or two of listening I would have put it on par with R4 but after a solid week it's now surpassed even that, you really need to take time and listen to every note, line and key. I will be playing this album for years to come and I also have no doubt he will go on to create even better LP's. Expand
  2. Jun 5, 2012
    10
    K.R.I.T. has crafted a stunning major label debut, packed with his signature southern flavor and soul. There are no duds on this album, only songs waiting to be fully appreciated once you realize that K.R.I.T. is the future of hip hop, one that will leave an unforgettable presence in the rap industry. If you are looking for the solution to the recent decline of hip-hop in thisK.R.I.T. has crafted a stunning major label debut, packed with his signature southern flavor and soul. There are no duds on this album, only songs waiting to be fully appreciated once you realize that K.R.I.T. is the future of hip hop, one that will leave an unforgettable presence in the rap industry. If you are looking for the solution to the recent decline of hip-hop in this generation, look no further than the king remembered in time. Expand
  3. Jun 6, 2012
    10
    Simply incredible. I haven't heard an album with this amount replay value in a real long time, and that goes across all genres. This masterful debut reminds me of other notable first albums by rap artists, like Dr. Dre's The Chronic and Notorious B.I.G's Ready To Die, the effort displayed on this record by K.R.I.T is irrefutable, and a testament to the fact that there isn't harder workingSimply incredible. I haven't heard an album with this amount replay value in a real long time, and that goes across all genres. This masterful debut reminds me of other notable first albums by rap artists, like Dr. Dre's The Chronic and Notorious B.I.G's Ready To Die, the effort displayed on this record by K.R.I.T is irrefutable, and a testament to the fact that there isn't harder working rapper in the game. This record goes into my collection alongside all of my other rap favorites, and will definitely come to define my Summer. 10/10 because I wish all of my favorite rap artists put out music on this level. Expand
  4. Jul 1, 2012
    10
    This album is a modern day classic. KRIT really outdone himself here. Aside from Money On The Floor, every track is great and there's no fillers. Lyrically and content-wise, he delivers. There's a balance between bangers and smooth introspective tracks. KRIT deserves a Grammy. Live From the Underground is one of the best albums of the year.
  5. Jul 17, 2012
    9
    Almost a perfect 10 for me. I was not a Big KRIT fan entering, but this album is just fantastic. If you do not want to listen to the whole album, at least make sure you check out "Porchlight" and "Live from the Underground". However, I would highly recommend the whole album.
  6. Oct 4, 2012
    10
    Best album of Early 2012. Pros: Good production. Good features. Even though he doesn't work with famous artists, he makes up for that. He is one of the best rappers/producers of 2012 (him and Hit-boy). This should have sold at least about 350,000 in the first week. SO UNDERRATED!
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Oct 9, 2012
    78
    Big K.R.I.T.'s the metalloid conglomeration of the Dirty South ideal, a fiery rapper who recognizes the appeal for dousing an 8Ball & MJG collaboration with a hot vat of molasses.
  2. Sep 7, 2012
    80
    While other rappers struggle to maintain consistency across one album per year, Big K.R.I.T. has made his second corker of 2012. [Oct 2012, p.106]
  3. Aug 22, 2012
    80
    After listening to Live from the Underground in its entirety, you'll notice the album's cohesiveness and Southern harmony. [#253, p.88]