Live Love A$AP

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 65 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 65
  2. Negative: 0 out of 65

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 8, 2012
    8
    A breath of fresh air in the rap game. I can listen straight through and love all of it. I only have one thing to say, "Couple ABC's, Bad **** Double D's, Poppin E, I don't give a F, told ya i'ma G."
  2. Feb 16, 2013
    8
    I know a lot of people hate A$AP Rocky because lyrically he's not up to par with other new schoolers. Or maybe because his name kinda sorta sounds like Aesop Rock (which really shouldn't matter, their music sounds nothing alike), but what makes A$AP Rocky so appealing, at least to me, is his style of music. You can't really say anyone sounds like him. He's too ignorant to be a New YorkI know a lot of people hate A$AP Rocky because lyrically he's not up to par with other new schoolers. Or maybe because his name kinda sorta sounds like Aesop Rock (which really shouldn't matter, their music sounds nothing alike), but what makes A$AP Rocky so appealing, at least to me, is his style of music. You can't really say anyone sounds like him. He's too ignorant to be a New York rapper, he's too smart to be a Southern rapper. Songs like Palace, Peso, Purple Swag and Leaf sound like they are the soundtrack to your high. Bass is really thick sounding and Trilla is the closest beat that sounds New York (maybe because of that Das EFX sample). Needless to say the production on this sounds very hazey and really is spacious. As a lyricist, Rocky isn't reinventing the wheel. But he does have a lot of personality and a unique flow that keeps it interesting. I'll admit some of the other rappers featured on this album (all the other A$AP rappers, Spaceghostpurrp Main Attraktionz) aren't as good as Rocky. But some of them still can manage to flow on a couple of songs. Plus Brand New Guy has some sick verses from ScHoolboy Q. Overall this bangs, worth checking out in my opinion. Expand
  3. Nov 5, 2012
    7
    a$ap dope.. but needs to use some stronger lyrics than this.... he dope and i'm a huge fan but other than that it wuz still a dope ass mixtape... still i can't wait for the album!
  4. Feb 1, 2012
    10
    Asap rocky is simply the best rookie out there. This man has the greatest flow. Simply the best man to come out of NY since Jay-Z. He's Gonna change the rap game forever and im gonna buy every single album he puts out
  5. Jul 12, 2014
    7
    Musically, I loved it. Artistically, it's a miss. It's a mixtape, though, and a strong one at that. Best tracks were "Kissin' Pink", "Roll One Up" & "Out Of This World".
  6. Aug 17, 2015
    8
    A$AP Rocky's Live.Love.A$AP is one of the best mixtapes of the decade. The main reason this mixtape is so great is because of the production - Clams Casino, A$AP Ty Beats, The Olympicks and SpaceGhostPurrp among others come through with production that is not only composed well, but also works well in a certain setting (e.g. riding in a car or taking drugs). It just works so well to giveA$AP Rocky's Live.Love.A$AP is one of the best mixtapes of the decade. The main reason this mixtape is so great is because of the production - Clams Casino, A$AP Ty Beats, The Olympicks and SpaceGhostPurrp among others come through with production that is not only composed well, but also works well in a certain setting (e.g. riding in a car or taking drugs). It just works so well to give the album an aesthetic that is very druggy. I also feel like Rocky is overlooked as a rapper - his flow and delivery help bring the aforementioned aesthetic to this mixtape. On top of all of this, Rocky has a way of combining East Coast hip hop, Southern hip hop and West Coast hip hop that is distinctly his - this is one of the reasons why Rocky is one of the best new school rappers. However, not all of this is to say that the album is perfect: Rocky has a few lyrical shortcomings - but lyrics aren't necessarily the entire point of this mixtape, and plus he delivers a lot of solid lyricism on many songs here and the moral decay-based lyrical content is also what helps bring this project its aesthetic. In conclusion, this is an essential listen for anyone who is into new school hip hop, and it's really a shame that his next two projects, both great, couldn't live up to the bar Rocky set with this mixtape. Grade: B+/A-. Highlights: "Palace", "Peso", "Bass", "Brand New Guy", "Out of This World". Worst song: "Houston Old Head" Expand
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Jan 10, 2012
    65
    Live Love A$AP is compelling but wildly uneven in execution.
  2. Dec 15, 2011
    88
    If you're willing to open your ears up, you'll be entertained by a high quality MC having a blast on record.
  3. Dec 15, 2011
    60
    More about lyrical swagger than emotional substance, LiveLoveA$AP is a solid intro to someone who could be an enduring figure in the years ahead.