Long.Live.A$AP - A$AP Rocky
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 109 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 92 out of 109
  2. Negative: 9 out of 109

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 24, 2013
    9
    The album is a blend of innovation and freshness of A$AP Rocky. Large collaborations like Kendrick Lamar, Schoolboy Q and Drake make Long.Live.A$AP of superior quality and tracks as "Goldie" (produced by Hit-Boy) or "Fuckin 'Problems" are a clear example of top track. Although many will not be agree, this is one of the best albums of recent years.
  2. Jan 15, 2013
    10
    Great album. One of easiest hip-hop albums for me to sit down and listen to all the way through. If you can give this album some time, I think you'll appreciate A$AP Rocky's progression as an artist.
  3. Jan 17, 2013
    9
    Not as good as Live. Love. ASAP. Still a great album. What it lacks in lyrical prowess, it makes up for with incredible beats, unique style, panache, and A$AP Rocky's talented voice.
  4. Jan 15, 2013
    10
    Great album. I don't understand why some aren't liking it. I can see Rocky's progression as an artist on this. (best tracks: Long Live ASAP, LVL, PMW, Phoenix and Suddenly)
  5. Jan 23, 2013
    9
    How could a hip hop album so creative be so fun? buy the CD and support this type of music. A$AP Rocky is the best to rep Harlem since Big L. It's fair to say ASAP met expectations with this album.
  6. Jan 16, 2013
    10
    this album is fantastic debut for A$AP Rocky, its of the same technique as Live Love A$AP. I found that this album is a complete classic, my fav. tracks are 1 Train,Long Live A$AP, LVL, Goldie and PMW(all i really need)
  7. Jan 17, 2013
    10
    This album speaks to the emptiness and desirability of fame and our consumer culture. This central paradox is on display in most of the songs. A beautiful album. Full of innovative beats, full of guest rappers at the height of their talents, full of irony, full of awesomeness! Long Live Rocky as long as he fearlessly keeps exploring as an artist.
  8. Jan 20, 2013
    10
    This album is great! Though this may not be as amazing as his prior mix tape. A$AP showcases a variety of monster beats and producers, his rap skills are by far beyond expectations with his flow and rhymes. Best tracks on the album are: Long Live ASAP, F**kin Problems, Wild For the Night, Phoenix, and Ghetto Symphony.
  9. Feb 5, 2013
    10
    A$AP hits fire on this album. All the beats bang and I like the progression of these lyrics from the first one. Favorite track was "Suddenly," but i love what they did with the video for "Live.Love.A$AP." Here's the link to decide for yourself: http://bit.ly/XWb3WP
  10. Feb 11, 2013
    10
    This album is crazy, lots of new, fresh sounds........................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................
  11. Apr 29, 2013
    9
    This album is a great first step for Rocky's career because it show you what he is capable of 1. A Great Emcee (don't believe me listen to suddenly, and 1 train) and 2. A very smart man for wisely choosing what to put in this album. This album could have been Live Love A$AP 2 but he went the opposite way and made a gem
  12. Jun 30, 2013
    10
    Wow. Just from the title track, this is an album like nothing I have ever heard before. This is an album that you can never get tired of. Its got everything needed for a great album, and I was just blown away. The guest verses were mostly amazing, with the only one really not that good being Yelawolf's verse on 1Train. The best part about the album though, is that the bonus tracks sound even better than the first twelve. Ghetto Symphony, Jodye, Angels, and I Come Apart are some of the best songs of the year no doubt. It will be exciting to see where Lord Flacko goes from here Expand
  13. Oct 6, 2013
    10
    damn! such an incredible album, i really liked every single song. Some people even know about this type of music LOL go listen justin bieber o one direction's album
  14. Dec 8, 2013
    9
    This album is easily one of the best albums of the year. Great debut from A$AP Rocky. Great lyrics, great prouction and great features. I wasn't a big fan of A$AP Rocky before this album, but when I got the CD and listened to it, I feel in love with it. I suggest you buy this album.
    Best Tracks (IMO):
    Long. Live. A$AP
    Goldie
    PMW
    LVL
    Jodye
    Ghetto Symphony
    1 Train
  15. Feb 4, 2014
    9
    A$AP Rocky’s debut album Long.Live.A$AP is one of the most unique hip-hop albums of the year, made by one of the most unique rappers in this industry to date. From his screwed Houston bounce with an appreciation for New York rap to his high-fashion trends by Jeremy Scott, Raf Simons and Rick Owens, follows the lineage of Harlem’s flashy roots, channeling an pristine taste of hypnotic raps..The 24-year-old Harlem rapper had a spectacular 2011, coming into a crazy $3 million deal with RCA based on early buzz and then silencing skeptics with his breakout LiveLoveA$AP mixtape. With a set release date of July 4th 2012 to which was then pushback to January 15th 2013 people were starting to feel the album would never materialize but as soon as the album dropped everyone expectations were exceeded. Many rap-industry heavies appear on LongLiveA$AP, and they mix well with other young rappers up and the coming along of A$AP. More importantly he never cedes the center. His lead single “F**kin’ Problems have shown his successful attempts at radio play and pop appeal, but Long.Live.A$AP isn’t him adapting to mainstream standards. A$AP picks up right where he left off on his mixtape only taking the sound bigger and better. For someone often criticized for his lack of depth, A$AP Rocky keeps delivering in the face of skepticism and continues to grow his fan base through all demographics. On his debut album, Long.Live.A$AP, Rocky aimed to maintain the general style of his mixtape while upgrading the sound enough to expand his fan base. In general, he does exactly that; however his debut is slightly more erratic, with fantastic tracks alongside bars of strong lyricism. A$AP sets himself apart in this album because he does not rap about what common rappers rap about most of the time. What good rap does need to do is tell a compelling story and Rocky has a story to tell. He grew up in and out of shelter, his dad was arrested, and he lost his brother. But it seems that those are not the stories that Rocky wants to focus on. He wants to look to the future, rap about his newfound success and how now everything is going to be different .This drive for success and the confidence that oozes out as he swags his way into pop culture results in the kind of lyricism that is playful, quotable, and generally palatable. A$AP Rocky sounds natural in every setting; along with his command of rhythm and cadence, this is his greatest gift. His lyrics, a riot of lifestyle brands and other desirables, can feel like standing in front of a closet of prohibitively expensive designer goods included with his rhymes when reminiscing about growing up poor. as Rocky also likes to rap about , women ,money, and drugs which is how he lives his life. Although this is the regular inappropriate lyrics we hear from other artists Rocky displays an exceptional handle on delivering his lyrics that hook you on every track. The language Rocky uses is extremely explicit but flow nicely with his unique style and his gold teeth, interesting fashion choices and long braids give him a very strong image. His lyrics and image are all about of one common goal; to inspire rappers to be more creative and to inspire his listeners to be themselves. In an interview he states that he does what he does because he loves it and wants to make other people love it so they are inspired to do anything or become anything they want to be. Long.Live.A$AP mirrors as a walk through his influences, featuring other blockbuster names such as Drake, 2 Chainz, Santigold, Skrillex, Florence Welch, to name a few. A$AP Rocky’s album is a beginning to his bright future music career and gives the overall message to be your-self and ignore the haters. It’s clear that he covered all the popular leanings in hip-hop of today, whether exploding on the EDM anthem “Wild for the Night” or the indie pop sentiments on “Hell.” Rocky is a fast-rising star who continues to stay in the discussion as one of the best rappers coming out today. Expand
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Rocky raps over the music without saying a damn thing older, meaner, and sharper rappers haven't said before. Then, bang, three dynamite songs.... Then, aww, three tracks that could be more obvious by half.
  2. Mar 7, 2013
    80
    Rocky bests every beat thrown at him. [Apr 2013, p.94]
  3. Feb 28, 2013
    70
    Rocky synthesises the cutting edge experiments of his peers into a more commercially polished product that lacks the eccentricity of its influences but is uniquely out there when compared to most mainstream fare. [Feb 2013, p.61]