Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 15
  2. Negative: 2 out of 15
  1. Jan 27, 2014
    80
    [Placebo is now] sounding modern and sneakingly world-beating. [Oct 2013, p.109]
  2. Sep 20, 2013
    74
    Loud Like Love’s loudest moments (“Exit Wounds,” “Purify”) are all puff and no power. But on the tormentedly bemused “Too Many Friends,” we get incisive philosophical reflections on technological alienation and the swelling meaninglessness of modern existence.
  3. Sep 16, 2013
    70
    The release is among the group's most accessible material, even if their tendency toward goth romance and arch fantasy are still very much intact.
  4. 60
    While this album is unlikely to win them many new fans at this stage, there's plenty of the old charm twinkling away to get fans back on board their wonderfully strange little ship. [Oct 2013, p.89]
  5. Sep 16, 2013
    60
    Loud Like Love has bright spots, but the laborious moments threaten to undo their good work.
  6. 60
    Equally far from disappointment or ascendency, it tacks about its ashen existence, perfectly fine and perfectly listenable and perfectly suffering for it.
  7. Sep 4, 2013
    60
    Against the odds Placebo are growing old gracefully. [Sep 2013, p.89]
  8. Sep 4, 2013
    60
    Easy to absorb musically and easy to ignore lyrically, Loud Like Love is 50 minutes of simply okay alt-rock.
  9. Sep 19, 2013
    50
    Overall, this still feels very much on the level Placebo was at with 1999 single "Every You Every Me," minus more artfully constructed, impressive instrumental compositions and lyricism. [No. 102, p.59]
  10. Sep 11, 2013
    50
    To the casual ear, this could be any of their other albums. But with such a consistent sound, it becomes harder for individual songs to stand out.
  11. 50
    The music, more polished and synthetic than ever, is fine.... But too much of this album comes off like self-parody. [Oct 2013, p.92]
  12. 40
    Placebo have been plumbing the same vein for so long, they've slipped into self-parody and come out the other side with their lipstick all smudged.
  13. Sep 19, 2013
    40
    It’s a disappointing yet completely listenable effort that suffers for being nothing more than a new Placebo record.
  14. Sep 30, 2013
    30
    Lyrically it’s weak, and the over-polished studio buffing does nothing to emancipate the blueprint that is, essentially, the same as it was 17 years ago.
  15. Sep 4, 2013
    30
    Loud Like Love is sadly a chugging bore. [Aug-Sep 2013, p.93]
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 52 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 15
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 15
  3. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    Loud Like Love isn't edgy like Meds or Battle for the Sun; its approach is more of a pop album than a rock album, although some tracks are very guitar heavy. There is a lot of piano in this album, as well as great keyboard backing. Brian's voice is as strong as its ever been, and I think that although this album has a totally different feel, it feels totally natural. Full Review »
  2. Sep 18, 2013
    10
    The best album of Placebo, better than Battle for the sun and Meds, this album have at least five epic musics: A million little pieces, Loud like love, scene of crime, rob the bank and hold on to me. Full Review »
  3. Sep 30, 2013
    7
    If this was the first Placebo album I'd ever heard, bought, and enjoyed, I would be very happy with the back catalogue. As a long time fan, I'm satisfied, but not overwhelmed. Some parts of this album do reference but without rehashing, previous tunes. Placebo have a sound, I think haters of this album oughta chill. Full Review »