Love, Angel, Music, Baby

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 197 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 197

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 7, 2012
    10
    This Album Is One Of The Most Creative Albums I Have Ever Heard! Love Her Voice! Best Debut Album Of 2004!
  2. carolynt
    Sep 6, 2005
    5
    mediocre.
  3. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    This album was so revolutionary that it was ahead of its time. Gwen created some very funky 80s influenced pop that I feel was an artistic transition for her. Crash and Serious are the 2 highlight album tracks that show Gwen's growth as an artist and see her experimenting a new energetic sound. Overall this album exceeded my expectation and showed Gwen meeting the expectations of many NewThis album was so revolutionary that it was ahead of its time. Gwen created some very funky 80s influenced pop that I feel was an artistic transition for her. Crash and Serious are the 2 highlight album tracks that show Gwen's growth as an artist and see her experimenting a new energetic sound. Overall this album exceeded my expectation and showed Gwen meeting the expectations of many New Doubt and new fans. Expand
  4. averagejoe
    May 9, 2005
    5
    it's too funny of a record from Gwen for me to outright love or hate it. can't believe she's singing about poms poms and high school at that ripe age, but at the same time, i can't stop singing to Hollack Girl. Gwen is not overtly talented, and just hope she wouldn't turn herself into another mariah carey or janet jackson
  5. AustinA
    Aug 21, 2005
    8
    No where near No Doubt's splendor, but she L.A.M.B. isn't that far off.
  6. HerbI
    Jan 29, 2005
    8
    This CD gives me a feeling of guilty pleasure. I Iove it yet feel I shouldn't. I can't expain that except that her apeal is wide enough to reach me.. I use the CD in my work outs and when I want to relax. That quite a range. If Gwen's music can entertain a man almost 50 - she's arrived.
  7. KevenD
    Jan 4, 2005
    5
    It's so ironic that I considered "What you waitin' for" as a critic to Brtiney kind of music. But I'm affraid this album is nothing more than another album with no soul, as inspiring as a Britney and friends album. The name Gwen Stefani is known, she is pretty, so let's sell an album, cause it's all that is needed for a profitable product. I still search for the It's so ironic that I considered "What you waitin' for" as a critic to Brtiney kind of music. But I'm affraid this album is nothing more than another album with no soul, as inspiring as a Britney and friends album. The name Gwen Stefani is known, she is pretty, so let's sell an album, cause it's all that is needed for a profitable product. I still search for the music in this album. 1 hit, 2 or 3 kindda good, and the rest of the album is shameful. Expand
  8. pietrog
    Jan 8, 2005
    10
    one of the greatest pop albums ever. Great lyrics, great voice, great producers. maybe the best album of 2004
  9. junl
    Mar 1, 2005
    9
    i think the cd is brilliant, its different from anything else that we are so use to hearing. listening to it is like going on a strange and legal acid trip. hehe
  10. SherryR
    Apr 6, 2005
    9
    Includes some of the catchiest, best songs ever!
  11. MikeK
    May 23, 2005
    10
    I love the kick back to the 80's on a lot of the songs. And I think a lot of the "stranger" sounding songs, are the BEST! (ie: Hollaback Girl, Bubble Pop Electric, Crash...)
  12. AF
    Feb 18, 2006
    9
    This is a great pop/dance album with highlights including catchy songs like "What You Waiting For", "Danger Zone", and even the quirky "Hollaback girls". It is not however a No Doubt - and so may disapoint fans of the band. It is an album with many high points and only one low - "A long Way to Go" - with woeful lyrics and a jarring tune, this attempt at imparting a noble message does not This is a great pop/dance album with highlights including catchy songs like "What You Waiting For", "Danger Zone", and even the quirky "Hollaback girls". It is not however a No Doubt - and so may disapoint fans of the band. It is an album with many high points and only one low - "A long Way to Go" - with woeful lyrics and a jarring tune, this attempt at imparting a noble message does not do the subject justice. Expand
  13. JasonS
    Dec 4, 2004
    5
    A few guilty pleasures on this disc for sure. Whenever she brings out the 80's pop synth, it's golden, but the R&B wannabe numbers just stink. Usually eclectic songs are good, but not in Gwen's case. If she'd have stuck to the poppy stuff, it would've worked.
  14. FredzieF
    Jan 1, 2005
    10
    Its really good, she has worked very hard and it was worth all the effort
  15. JoannaD
    Jan 17, 2005
    9
    I love this album. I don't care what the critics say. I think Gwen blows Madonna away. She is unique, talented, and is will to take risks. Who says every album has to be about substance to be good? She ROCKS
  16. DavidC.
    Jan 2, 2005
    10
    I just adore this album. Some of the songs sound like modern versions of 80s music. My fav songs are "What you Waiting for", "Hollaback Girl" and "Bubble Pop Electric" which both are very fun songs, "Crash", "The Real Thing" and "Serious" all have that fresh very 80s feeling to them. The whole album is just irresistable.
  17. HollisH
    Jan 5, 2005
    0
    Good Lord. How absolutely diluted and terrible.
  18. LaurenS
    Jan 6, 2005
    3
    I was truly expecting more from Gwen Stefani's latest album. I think it's fair to say that she was experimenting with her new solo career, however, i didn't feel the real Gwen. I will always respect Gwen as a trendsetter and an amazingly talented artist, however, I think she should stick to her roots..because together, No Doubt made one awesome band. Sorry but Lamb was Lame.
  19. harrietg
    Jan 7, 2005
    10
    this is soooo goood i want her to tour england (london) please please please xxxx~x~
  20. GeorgieM
    Feb 17, 2005
    9
    Normally, I tend to agree with Entertainment Weekly critics, but this time Gwen was under-rated.
  21. aoifer
    Feb 5, 2005
    9
    this is a brill album it is a must buy
  22. MichelaJ
    Feb 7, 2005
    2
    This album sucks so bad that I am ashamed to have ever said "I love Gwen" she has become self absorbed and just plain boring. What happened to the empowered rocker chick we all knew and loved? I'll tell you what happened she became just another no talent pop singer. This CD was less than nothing special it was a nothing special CD that could have been done better by Debbie Gibson in 1988.
  23. Rachel
    Mar 1, 2005
    4
    gwen what happened to you!
  24. jimmyjo-jingle
    Mar 7, 2005
    7
    pros: A few neat songs, quite listenable, cons: the title is not relevant, some bad songs overiew: An ok album, but defenatly not for No Doubt fans
  25. jessica
    Mar 8, 2005
    10
    gwen stefani really knows her 80's stuff - i love it!
  26. [Anonymous]
    Jun 9, 2005
    9
    Very original album, very different from No Doubt. If you liked "What You Waiting For?" or "Rich Girl", this album is for you. All of the songs are great except for "Harajuku Girls" which is a little too strange for me, but overall definitely worth buying.
  27. TBoneM
    Jul 2, 2005
    2
    Every damn time I go to the gym I hear Hollaback Girl. And at crappy nightclubs. You get a deuce for being hot and I get sweet sweet revenge.
  28. wadev
    Mar 5, 2006
    10
    With this first solo attempt,Gwen was not trying to make a statement - this album in her own words was just an omage to all the great music she grew up with. Not NO DOUBT,not neccessarily better,but decadent & wonderful in its own right.Adventurous,different from anything else &a breathn of fresh air to the industry....congrats! Brave!
  29. PrestonJ
    Jul 10, 2006
    9
    You have to take this album for what it was meant to be.... and fun project Gwen wanted to do for herself alone that ended up getting released. In a way this is much like rock steady in the fact that many of the songs were collaberations with other artists of varying genres to create an album that could be fun for all. Its not genious, nor is it crap, its not remarkable, but it You have to take this album for what it was meant to be.... and fun project Gwen wanted to do for herself alone that ended up getting released. In a way this is much like rock steady in the fact that many of the songs were collaberations with other artists of varying genres to create an album that could be fun for all. Its not genious, nor is it crap, its not remarkable, but it wasn't supposed to be. It is alot of fun to listen to and dance to and relate to at times so why not back off Gwen' s back for wanting a to have a little fun with her time? Expand
  30. RichW
    Nov 22, 2004
    10
    Every time she makes something, it's about 3 years ahead of everyone else - While the world is only just catching up with No Doubt's Rocksteady, she goes and kicks music forward another aeon or two. Madonna, your time is up.
  31. Amzalltheway
    Nov 23, 2004
    10
    great 80/90's electro pop songs mixed with good blend of hip tracks. Reminds me alot of Kylie Minogue, but aimed at a maturer audience.
  32. flips
    Nov 27, 2004
    1
    Some of the cuts are okay musically, but the lyrical content is horrid - it sounds like a 13 year old wrote it. Isn't Stefani in her mid-30's? I was embarrassed to listen to this album.
  33. NseE
    Dec 19, 2004
    10
    What on earth are Harajuku girls??? This is one of the most fun records to come out this year! Not groundbreaking at all, but very hypnotic and has me listening to it non stop all the way through, all the time. I love 'Cool' which is a cool 80s sounding rock ballad. 'Crash' is awesome. 'Danger zone' is amazing but my favourite is 'Long way to go' What on earth are Harajuku girls??? This is one of the most fun records to come out this year! Not groundbreaking at all, but very hypnotic and has me listening to it non stop all the way through, all the time. I love 'Cool' which is a cool 80s sounding rock ballad. 'Crash' is awesome. 'Danger zone' is amazing but my favourite is 'Long way to go' with Andre 3000. Very Prince-like and outstanding, and with a great message of color-blind love. 'Hollaback girl' sounds like a sing-a-long at a play ground, but is wickedly catchy! The cd is a cool hybrid of styles, from the slight ragga of 'Rich girl' to the dance of 'What you waiting for', rock, R&B ('Luxorious' which wouldn't sound out of place on a Janet cd), and punk of 'Bubble pop electric. Fantastic!! 80s Madonna, Blondie, Donna Summer all rolled into one. Expand
  34. joe
    Dec 20, 2004
    6
    This album is all over the place. There are some songs that I think are terrible, but a few songs, i.e.the single and the New Order-ish "The Real Thing" are fun.
  35. JenniferS
    Dec 27, 2004
    6
    Having a little bit of a hard time deciding if I love it or just like it. VERY pop princess. (have this little voice in my head thinking why are you liking this) Make sure you take a listen but this is NOT No Doubt.
  36. DwightB
    Nov 1, 2005
    9
    It's a fun pop record, that isn't made to be taken seriously, if she wanted to make a serious record she would have come out with another No Doubt disc. It's catchy, cool and stylish.
  37. christiank
    Jan 15, 2005
    7
    Gwen's singing is in top form here and the music is HUGELY innovative, the hooks are simply irresistibles,and all the art work is amazing. Now the bad thing are the stupid lyrics and her obsession with japanese culture and the "Harajuku Girls" which she repeats in ALL of her songs; it becomes annoying after all. But side from that, this album ROCKS, in what mainstream pop is capable Gwen's singing is in top form here and the music is HUGELY innovative, the hooks are simply irresistibles,and all the art work is amazing. Now the bad thing are the stupid lyrics and her obsession with japanese culture and the "Harajuku Girls" which she repeats in ALL of her songs; it becomes annoying after all. But side from that, this album ROCKS, in what mainstream pop is capable to be. The album that Britney should have done to won't let her career sink, instead of that stupid greatest hits record Expand
  38. HarrietB
    Jan 15, 2005
    8
    It depends on your prefered type of music really... 1) What you waiting for - the best song on the album, even though I've heard it a thousand times. Now it's getting old, because everyone plays it and sings it, but i still love it 10/10 2) Rich girl - A good song, catchy beat 8/10 3) Hollaback girl - a tad "inyuface" but quite a good beat. Slightly trashy lyrics "this sh*t is It depends on your prefered type of music really... 1) What you waiting for - the best song on the album, even though I've heard it a thousand times. Now it's getting old, because everyone plays it and sings it, but i still love it 10/10 2) Rich girl - A good song, catchy beat 8/10 3) Hollaback girl - a tad "inyuface" but quite a good beat. Slightly trashy lyrics "this sh*t is bananas B-A-N-A-N-A-S" which is a bit stupid, seeing as everyone can spell bananas and what's her dislike for bananas? Oh well 6/10 4) Cool - pretty slow and mellow. At first I didn't like it, but when I listened to it loads of times it's pretty darn good 7/10 5) Bubble pop electric - LMAO!! THe funniest song on the CD with great lyrics (slightly weird though) but really catchy. She half speaks and half sings through the whole thing, with Johnny Vulture adding to this mayham. It SOOO funny!! "Come on johnny when you gonna get here?" "All right hold your pretty horses i'll be there in a minute, you just get yourself dolled up all right toots and you pick a place you just pick a place" "Umm johnny?" "Yeah gwennie gwen gwen?" "You might wanna hurry, cuz tonight it theeeee niiiiiiight" 10/10 6) Luxurious - I hate this song, so boring and really stupid. *shrugs* you might like it if you like slow R'n'b trash 1/10 for effort 7) Harajuku girls - A really cool song, where she's half talk. Cute japanese music and japanese people talking in the background. A good mix of different music 8/10 8) Crash - I quite like this song. Slightly Inyuface again. But the music's quite 80's very funky 6/10 9) The real thing - starts of slow and sweet, then turns in a slow dancy track. It's quite cute, almost innocent 7/10 10) Serious - another song that takes used to. A bit like a madonna song but quite good, 80's music 6/10 11) Danger Zone - OMG I looooovvvee this song!! It's my best song on the entire CD. So dancy, almost trance like, great bass music and synthesisers. I'm totally hooked on it 10/10 12) A long way to go - I hate this song the most. Absolutely awful, my worst type of genre of music. I will NEVER get to like this song. Boring song, silly lyrics, pointless 0/10 I would recommend someone who hates this CD the first time listening to it (like me) to give it another shot. you'll get to like it! :D I give the whole CD 8/10 Expand
  39. AndrewH
    Nov 6, 2005
    10
    Absolutely flawless as long as you take it at face value- as a fun, dumb dance album. Even the 'low points' ("Long Way to Go," "Luxurious") are good and the high points ("What You Waiting For," "Bubble Pop Electric," "Crash," "Danger Zone") are pure brilliance. The best record of 2004 hands down.
  40. MarcR
    Jan 17, 2005
    9
    LAMB is one of the truly best pop cds of 2004. Britney Spears or any other pop artists cd doenst even measure up to LAMB. It's exciting from start to finish.
  41. Lisa
    Jan 21, 2005
    9
    Gwen has blown away the competition, once again, proving herself as the dominate American female vocalist and writer. Awesome collaborations and beats add to an impressive career as an artist who has continuously produced record breaking albums! Buy this CD...it's awesome! :)
  42. CivieE
    Jan 2, 2005
    9
    This album would have garnered a "10" from me had the lyrics been a bit more, say, clever. Though few would argue that dance music (even that reminiscent of the 1980's) has enjoyed a reputation for inciting revolutions, Gwen slightly insults the genre with some of her shallow lyrical choices. However, her voice is sultry and the album ecclectic which makes for overall good listening. This album would have garnered a "10" from me had the lyrics been a bit more, say, clever. Though few would argue that dance music (even that reminiscent of the 1980's) has enjoyed a reputation for inciting revolutions, Gwen slightly insults the genre with some of her shallow lyrical choices. However, her voice is sultry and the album ecclectic which makes for overall good listening. Though "contemporary" Madonna repulses me, many of Gwen's songs on L.A.M.B. remind me of an earlier, improved upon Madonna. Though I wouldn't go as far as to say that L.A.M.B. is rich with social commentary, I would argue that some of the tracks (i.e., "What You Waiting For?") do make some interetsing statements about how gender continues to impact worth in society. In sum, this appears to be an album celebrating good ol' hedonistic pleasures (e.g., fashion, sex, and such). It reminds me of being young, essentially responsibillity-free, drunk, and on the hunt for fun in the clubs. To that end, I continue to enjoy the nostalgia listening to the album affords me. Expand
  43. RicardoB
    Jan 25, 2005
    10
    this is finally it, when we were surrounded by dead end stuff by christina, jlo,kylie,britney----then came GWEN, and swept them all away. It was high time! This is one of the best albums I have heard in a long time, by the way I am a No Doubt fan too. But gwen can't help to outshine whatever surrounds. her.
  44. JayH
    Jan 3, 2005
    10
    Props to Gwen for using her obscene mounds of cash to purchase exactly the same collaborators I would if I were in her enviable position. Pure trashy pop which celebrates its own disposability. Plus you gotta love an album which pairs one half of New Order with Wendy & Lisa on the same song. YOU GO, Gwen!
  45. MaisaA
    Jan 6, 2005
    10
    This album is so amazing i can't stop listening to it..I work out to it everyday..its full of energy and motivates me to run up that hill one more time.. Gwen rocks my world!!!
  46. ClintM
    Jan 7, 2005
    9
    Hands down my favorite album of 2004! Every song on the album is unique and creative and is unlike most of what we're listening to on the radio at the moment. It'll definitely make you want to get up and dance or sing right along in your car. She proves that with or without her band she'll No Doubt be around for a long long time!!! GWEN ROCKS!!!
  47. JohnF
    Jan 8, 2005
    10
    I like to listen to this album while i am blowing Bubblicious chewing gum bubbles and reading Seventeen magazine. Songz like "Rich Girl" and "wut u waiting 4" are so sugar-coated and fiery.
  48. MikeB
    Jan 9, 2005
    10
    This is one of the best albums I have purchased. It sounds like she decided to skip the cheesy love songs, and just go for songs that are fun to listen to and make you want to move. Overall a focused and well composed album. a bajillion thumbs up.
  49. Staci
    Feb 1, 2005
    4
    I love no doubt and I knew that this cd was going to be really different because of the single but when I listened to the whole cd there was really only like 3 songs that i liked.... it is an okay cd but certainly not the best
  50. editha
    Feb 15, 2005
    10
    I think than stefani gwen is the best singer in all the life
  51. SMCSMC
    Feb 27, 2005
    8
    Many people who have heard this album think Gwen has become a self-obsessed pop star. I much prefered her in No Doubt, and hopefully as she has said she will be going back to the band after experimenting as a solo artist. As for this album thats all it is - an experiment, Gwen Stefani is just trying out some 80's dance music. She has said this is not really her and she is not pouring Many people who have heard this album think Gwen has become a self-obsessed pop star. I much prefered her in No Doubt, and hopefully as she has said she will be going back to the band after experimenting as a solo artist. As for this album thats all it is - an experiment, Gwen Stefani is just trying out some 80's dance music. She has said this is not really her and she is not pouring her heart into this album but she wanted to try something new. So anyone that rates the person that is Gwen Stefani with this Cd is very wrong - this is not who she is. As for the music on the CD I thought it was v. good and Gwen Stefani is an amazing singer but the lyrics on some of the songs were just........ The introduction to Bubble pop electric was found very amusing by my 6 year old cousin, and I thought it was quite interesting to start the song off like this. But the lyrics in the song were rather risk-ay. track 7 was my favourite - Harajuku girls I liked the little Japanese music intro and how that was then mixed with dance. I thought this abum was a good dance track, but I still am praying No Doubt will be back. Expand
  52. WilS
    May 24, 2005
    10
    original, the girl can sing on ellen live! love the 80's sound, the brassiness and sure fun this album produces!
  53. JHansen
    Jun 30, 2005
    7
    It's bananas! B-A-N-A-N-A-S!
  54. Piper
    Aug 15, 2005
    10
    This album is definitely not for the faint hearted!! This amazing creation reveals a previously hidden side to music, ingeniously combining R&B and HipHop in "Rich Girl" and "Hollaback Girl", with the up-beat poppy melodies of "What You Waiting For?" and "Bubble Pop Electirc". Some may call her the queen of the kooks, but this kook is proving to be one of the most inventive forces in the This album is definitely not for the faint hearted!! This amazing creation reveals a previously hidden side to music, ingeniously combining R&B and HipHop in "Rich Girl" and "Hollaback Girl", with the up-beat poppy melodies of "What You Waiting For?" and "Bubble Pop Electirc". Some may call her the queen of the kooks, but this kook is proving to be one of the most inventive forces in the music industry to date. Keep it up Gwen! Expand
  55. rnbmast3r
    Aug 31, 2005
    10
    Amazing debut album from Gwen , the best pop album for years the best song is Holla Back Girl but there are loadsa otha greats like Cool Rich Girl. I fyou like pop you need this album
  56. susied
    Aug 8, 2005
    9
    gwen stefani is an incredibly talented artist who strives to be different while still being "cool." i disagree with everyone saying her album is an 80's madonna ripoff. it might've inspired some of the music styles gwen used, but this album is way too original to be a copycat. all the no doubt fans who are "dissapointed" in gwen, get a grip. she did something fun and "poppy" for gwen stefani is an incredibly talented artist who strives to be different while still being "cool." i disagree with everyone saying her album is an 80's madonna ripoff. it might've inspired some of the music styles gwen used, but this album is way too original to be a copycat. all the no doubt fans who are "dissapointed" in gwen, get a grip. she did something fun and "poppy" for a change, so what?? that shouldnt discredit her as a musician. my favorite songs are "crash" and "bubble pop electric" (btw, harajuku is a shopping/entertainment district in Tokyo) Expand
  57. GazIsbetterthenyou
    Sep 14, 2005
    10
    It's cool, thats all I'm after
  58. JD
    Sep 2, 2005
    5
    By far the most overrated album of the 2004-2005 era along with 'Breakaway'. I mean, there are some really good songs on here! But the rest just sucks. Gwen, go back to No Doubt, you need them just as much as they need you.
  59. LoisT
    Sep 29, 2005
    9
    A fesh, new 80-s inspired pop album! Some songs are similar though the strong theme throughout the album cover's that up.
  60. KyleighH
    Feb 11, 2006
    9
    This was a good debut album for Gwen Stefani. She has really broken out of her "No Doubt" years. I hope that Gwen Stefani comes out with a sophomore album soon because this album is pretty popular.
  61. LarkS
    Aug 24, 2006
    10
    The Best Cd of the whooole year. seriously.
  62. Borisf
    Sep 24, 2006
    7
    though Gwen sometimes sounds like shes stretching her voice too far the album is a refreshing splash of color in todays black and white music scene she proves she can handle almost any type of music: hip hop. pop, dance, rock, & R&B
  63. JoseD
    Nov 21, 2004
    10
    Insane!
  64. Tiff
    Nov 21, 2004
    9
    Most No Doubt albums play out like kids with severe ADD... but Gwen's obsesion with Japanese school girls leads to a common focal point, and therefore a much more cohesive album... this is an extremely strong solo album. The songs are easily weird and fantastic, easy to pick up on upon first listen
  65. DaveS
    Nov 22, 2004
    9
    This is some great 80's/90's pop, like Madonna at her best.
  66. LocoTino
    Nov 23, 2004
    10
    This album is dizzily insane and 100% entertaining. I only wish Gwen came with the album :(
  67. MichaelM
    Nov 23, 2004
    10
    AWESOME! Can't stop listening to it.....
  68. JimS
    Nov 23, 2004
    9
    Gwen certainly created the "guilty pleasure" CD of the year with L.A.M.B. Every track bears a resemblace to some song you've heard before, and I spent the 20 minutes after listening to the CD trying to piece which samples came from where. The sound ranges from new wave to early 90's dance to current astro-funk. There is definitely a Prince/Cyndi Lauper/Cathy Dennis/New Order Gwen certainly created the "guilty pleasure" CD of the year with L.A.M.B. Every track bears a resemblace to some song you've heard before, and I spent the 20 minutes after listening to the CD trying to piece which samples came from where. The sound ranges from new wave to early 90's dance to current astro-funk. There is definitely a Prince/Cyndi Lauper/Cathy Dennis/New Order meets the Neptunes featuring OutKast kinda vibe on it. There are no arty love songs on this CD and that is a good thing. Every track on this album could be a single and it is very listenable straight through. Many might think that the CD is too varied, and it certainly doesn't sound like No Doubt. Once again, it is pretty clear that this is not the intent of the artist. The sass quotient is at a 10, and for a queer like me, this is one of the top cd's of the year, and the most interesting since Scissor Sisters' debut. L.A.M.B. is the album Kylie wishes she made. Expand
  69. EvanS
    Nov 26, 2004
    9
    Only Gwen could pull something like this off, and if anyone else attempted it, it would be laughable. But my grl Gwen has a certain cool factor that is unmatched by anyone, from her army of Harajuku grls to her off the wall music. Definitely one of the greatest creative songwriters of our time!
  70. RandyB
    Nov 28, 2004
    9
    A great listen that takes you back to the 80's sounds but with today's style and flare.
  71. KevinL
    Dec 12, 2004
    10
    An amazing CD! With much effort put in, Gwen Stefani would get more and more fans with this album. With catchy tracks like What You Waiting For, Rich Girl, Hollaback Girl and Harajuku Girls, the songs included should satisfy any fans of hers or pop songs listeners.
  72. CarmenM
    Dec 21, 2004
    10
    I think Gwen is fabulous, beautiful, and fun!! She is a creative and original artist I think she did a wonderful job!
  73. EdT
    Dec 20, 2004
    10
    What are you waiting for people? BUY the CD!! It's worth it. This whole point of the CD is to tribute the music from the 80s ... and she did it!! It's fun to dance to! It's the perfect gift for christmas too!! What are you waiting for?
  74. ValerieM
    Dec 27, 2004
    0
    This album is terrible. The lyrics are lame (they sound like they were written by my little sister) and everything is so empty, shallow, and hard to relate to. in short, I love Gwen, but her album completely sucks.
  75. J.
    Dec 29, 2004
    1
    I gave it a 1 instead of a zero b/c it occasionally had a moment or two when I didn't hate it...but seriously...the album is awful and a complete 80's Madonna ripoff...die hard fans will, of course, disagree w/ this, but its true, sadly. This album is BAD. Case in point: listen to the first few seconds of hollaback girl - "ooooh that's my shit, that's my shit" - if she I gave it a 1 instead of a zero b/c it occasionally had a moment or two when I didn't hate it...but seriously...the album is awful and a complete 80's Madonna ripoff...die hard fans will, of course, disagree w/ this, but its true, sadly. This album is BAD. Case in point: listen to the first few seconds of hollaback girl - "ooooh that's my shit, that's my shit" - if she was referring to her album, then yes, Gwen, that is your shit. Expand
  76. DwightV
    Dec 3, 2004
    10
    This album is creative and hard to pin down to one genre, but its mostly hip-hop, r&b, dance and pop. She had a good reason to go solo...
  77. marka
    Dec 4, 2004
    9
    I love 10/12 tracks and it's great even if it is more of a 80's sound than I thought it was going to be.
  78. TezE
    Dec 6, 2004
    10
    Fantastic Cd! It's showing a different side of Gwen! I love it!
  79. Mali
    Dec 7, 2004
    4
    I had such high expectations for this CD, and unfortunately I was completely let down. Granted the first track is amazing, but other than that the CD is almost embarrassingly terrible.
  80. christianv
    Nov 19, 2005
    4
    just dumb lyrics, and cheezy pop, cheap pop, and a werid selection of songs, dont buy this shit, it sucks!!!
  81. Kari
    Jan 16, 2005
    4
    Sounds more like Christina Aguilera than Gwen Stefani. I was hopeful after hearing the first single, but completely let down by the rest of the album. Too, too poppy and bubblegum. I realize No Doubt is mainstream, but I expected a bit more alt outta Gwynnie.
  82. CrystalC
    Jan 19, 2005
    9
    it is very reminscent of madonna
  83. Nina
    Jan 21, 2005
    0
    i am a big no doubt fan but this album was a big disappointment. It was totally not what I've expected from the lead singer of a ska band. Gwen I think you could of done much better. And what is with all the swearing?! seriously..."this shit is bananas"...?!?!?!?!?!
  84. Bob
    Dec 14, 2005
    8
    pretty good stuff. at times it gets a little slow, but that doesnt matter. danger zone + what you waiting for are the best songs ever. good pop/techno/sweetness
  85. JK
    Dec 19, 2005
    6
    i like the first maybe...4 songs? but after that its all..... "meh". definatly not the greastes but alright
  86. trixiebeever
    Jan 24, 2005
    7
    Great hooks, but overly materialistic and sometimes embarassing lyrics (you listening Andre 3000? That last track is cringe-inducing!). The best stuff is the gorgeous 80's love song The Real Thing, the first single, and the bad-ass cheerleader anthem Hollaback Girl. But what's with all the call-outs of Gwen's & Eve's clothing lines? The repetition of Galliano & Great hooks, but overly materialistic and sometimes embarassing lyrics (you listening Andre 3000? That last track is cringe-inducing!). The best stuff is the gorgeous 80's love song The Real Thing, the first single, and the bad-ass cheerleader anthem Hollaback Girl. But what's with all the call-outs of Gwen's & Eve's clothing lines? The repetition of Galliano & Westwood's names is bad enough, but I kinda resent feeling like the CD I just bought is trying to sell me more stuff so blatantly. Overall, a little more intriguing than it is irritating, but props for some big originality. Expand
  87. RacheR
    Jan 26, 2005
    10
    anyone who says shes like any other pop rock or any kind of genre of music she is not she is the most indivudual artist out there! you cant find anyone out there like her! she rocks no doubt & gwen stefani rock! i freakin love her when i saw her in concert it was the biggest surprise ever..she wasnt supposed to be their, i about died when i saw her! and as for swearing, there was one song anyone who says shes like any other pop rock or any kind of genre of music she is not she is the most indivudual artist out there! you cant find anyone out there like her! she rocks no doubt & gwen stefani rock! i freakin love her when i saw her in concert it was the biggest surprise ever..she wasnt supposed to be their, i about died when i saw her! and as for swearing, there was one song with swearing..i thought it was funny, nobody said it was for little kids! Gwen you rock! Expand
  88. SikanderI
    Feb 11, 2005
    9
    Wow, I was a bit hesitant at first about buying this album after reading reviews about it and stuff, but then I finally decided to buy it. This is one album after a very long time in which I can listen to about 8 of the 10 or 12 tracks non stop. This album simply rocks, love the music, catchy tunes, nice lyrics, Gwen's voice, everything. I don't know if it's just me but the Wow, I was a bit hesitant at first about buying this album after reading reviews about it and stuff, but then I finally decided to buy it. This is one album after a very long time in which I can listen to about 8 of the 10 or 12 tracks non stop. This album simply rocks, love the music, catchy tunes, nice lyrics, Gwen's voice, everything. I don't know if it's just me but the first song.....What you waiting for......makes me feel sexy!!!!!!! now what should I do about that!! Expand
  89. chrbir
    Feb 23, 2005
    0
    rip off...unoriginal
  90. Milan
    May 13, 2005
    9
    Look, I'm a girl who usually only listens to black metal music; I never liked No Doubt and I wasn't particularly fond of Gwen. But I listened to this, saw that it was meant to be taken lightly, enjoyed it catchiness, it's humourisly simple lyrics and ended up liking it very much. It's 80's wanna-be album. It's labled as such. People are rating this as if she Look, I'm a girl who usually only listens to black metal music; I never liked No Doubt and I wasn't particularly fond of Gwen. But I listened to this, saw that it was meant to be taken lightly, enjoyed it catchiness, it's humourisly simple lyrics and ended up liking it very much. It's 80's wanna-be album. It's labled as such. People are rating this as if she is very serious about all this rubbish she's singing about. Maybe she's sick of hearing shallow people sing songs about important things. She is singing kind of in a grotesquely "what you see is what you get" sort of narrative. It's funny. Does it take a black metaller to tell people to lighten up? Ha! Expand
  91. JasonM
    Jun 14, 2005
    10
    One of the most fun-to-listent-to albums of the year. Love Angel Music Baby is the first album to be in my car's CD player for 8 weeks straight.
  92. RobS
    Aug 15, 2005
    0
    The single worst CD I have ever heard. This is everything that is wrong with pop. The lyrics are trite, the melodies are boring, and I dont think there's a single "real" instrument on the whole album. Sounds to me like Gwen started her mid-life crisis a little early and is trying to connect with 12 yr old girls through the use of bad synthesizers and elementary lyrics. The single worst CD I have ever heard. This is everything that is wrong with pop. The lyrics are trite, the melodies are boring, and I dont think there's a single "real" instrument on the whole album. Sounds to me like Gwen started her mid-life crisis a little early and is trying to connect with 12 yr old girls through the use of bad synthesizers and elementary lyrics. Congratulations on created the most juvenile, pointless and unlistenable record in existence. This sh*t is not bananas... this sh*t is sh*t. Expand
  93. MickeyC
    Sep 29, 2005
    0
    stupid loser crap comes spewing out of gwen's 35 year old granny mouth - absolute trash...
  94. ixata
    Dec 22, 2006
    10
    this is the type of album that needs alonger periods of time to indulge the pleasure... at first listen, i found this album crap and prodigal... but now that ive listened to it more and more, ts actually fun! i cant seem to undrstnd why "wut u waitin 4?" only peaked at #47 in the billboard hot100... it shud at least enter the top 10... its a great number, and stands out amongst other this is the type of album that needs alonger periods of time to indulge the pleasure... at first listen, i found this album crap and prodigal... but now that ive listened to it more and more, ts actually fun! i cant seem to undrstnd why "wut u waitin 4?" only peaked at #47 in the billboard hot100... it shud at least enter the top 10... its a great number, and stands out amongst other numbers in this album.. all upbeat tracks are dancy and logic(you wont think it is logic if u only listened to it one time!), and the best are the first cngle, "danger zone" and hollaback gurl... this album should win grammies.. Expand
  95. JayM
    Dec 25, 2006
    10
    An exceptional jewel of a pop album, each song is a different personality and a complete masterpiece in and of itself. Producers, Dr. Dre, Nelle Hooper, Tony Kanal, and the Neptunes have helped Stefani craft possibly the best album of the 2000s
  96. NickM
    Dec 9, 2006
    7
    Usually I am not a fan of this type of music, but I found this cd to have a lot of catchy songs on it, and overall is just a fun cd to listen to. Maybe it isnt the most artistic cd, and its deffinatly not the most sophisticated, but it does provide some fun.
  97. 36Thoughtless
    Jun 29, 2006
    0
    All I have to say is...Fuck you, Gwen Stefani for blaspheming Fiddler on the Roof with your whining, proboscised shit for vocals.
  98. BrettR
    Nov 23, 2004
    10
    Makes her mark on the industry by revamping 80's decadence and combining wit and energy with the world's dream production team
  99. AlanR
    Nov 23, 2004
    1
    The first track is kinda catchy but her lyrics, once emotional and confessional, are all about f**king and fashion now. She no longer exists.
  100. CherylB.
    Nov 23, 2004
    9
    This album clearly defines why I am a fan of Gwen S. She has a style all her own, and marches to the beat of a different drummer. Her album is unlike any other's. I have bought many CD's this year, but Angel Love Music Baby is definitely ahead of the class. A non stop party, Love it!
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 22
  2. Negative: 3 out of 22
  1. LAMB has one mega-hit, one okay song, three stillborns, and seven full-fledged embarrassments.
  2. An ultra sleek and, it has to be said, generally impressive, 80s-inspired party record.
  3. The subject matter on the indistinguishably titled Love, Angel, Music, Baby is painfully mainstream throughout.