Love, Angel, Music, Baby

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 197 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 197

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. carolynt
    Sep 6, 2005
    5
    mediocre.
  2. averagejoe
    May 9, 2005
    5
    it's too funny of a record from Gwen for me to outright love or hate it. can't believe she's singing about poms poms and high school at that ripe age, but at the same time, i can't stop singing to Hollack Girl. Gwen is not overtly talented, and just hope she wouldn't turn herself into another mariah carey or janet jackson
  3. KevenD
    Jan 4, 2005
    5
    It's so ironic that I considered "What you waitin' for" as a critic to Brtiney kind of music. But I'm affraid this album is nothing more than another album with no soul, as inspiring as a Britney and friends album. The name Gwen Stefani is known, she is pretty, so let's sell an album, cause it's all that is needed for a profitable product. I still search for the It's so ironic that I considered "What you waitin' for" as a critic to Brtiney kind of music. But I'm affraid this album is nothing more than another album with no soul, as inspiring as a Britney and friends album. The name Gwen Stefani is known, she is pretty, so let's sell an album, cause it's all that is needed for a profitable product. I still search for the music in this album. 1 hit, 2 or 3 kindda good, and the rest of the album is shameful. Expand
  4. JasonS
    Dec 4, 2004
    5
    A few guilty pleasures on this disc for sure. Whenever she brings out the 80's pop synth, it's golden, but the R&B wannabe numbers just stink. Usually eclectic songs are good, but not in Gwen's case. If she'd have stuck to the poppy stuff, it would've worked.
  5. Rachel
    Mar 1, 2005
    4
    gwen what happened to you!
  6. joe
    Dec 20, 2004
    6
    This album is all over the place. There are some songs that I think are terrible, but a few songs, i.e.the single and the New Order-ish "The Real Thing" are fun.
  7. JenniferS
    Dec 27, 2004
    6
    Having a little bit of a hard time deciding if I love it or just like it. VERY pop princess. (have this little voice in my head thinking why are you liking this) Make sure you take a listen but this is NOT No Doubt.
  8. Staci
    Feb 1, 2005
    4
    I love no doubt and I knew that this cd was going to be really different because of the single but when I listened to the whole cd there was really only like 3 songs that i liked.... it is an okay cd but certainly not the best
  9. JD
    Sep 2, 2005
    5
    By far the most overrated album of the 2004-2005 era along with 'Breakaway'. I mean, there are some really good songs on here! But the rest just sucks. Gwen, go back to No Doubt, you need them just as much as they need you.
  10. Mali
    Dec 7, 2004
    4
    I had such high expectations for this CD, and unfortunately I was completely let down. Granted the first track is amazing, but other than that the CD is almost embarrassingly terrible.
  11. christianv
    Nov 19, 2005
    4
    just dumb lyrics, and cheezy pop, cheap pop, and a werid selection of songs, dont buy this shit, it sucks!!!
  12. Kari
    Jan 16, 2005
    4
    Sounds more like Christina Aguilera than Gwen Stefani. I was hopeful after hearing the first single, but completely let down by the rest of the album. Too, too poppy and bubblegum. I realize No Doubt is mainstream, but I expected a bit more alt outta Gwynnie.
  13. JK
    Dec 19, 2005
    6
    i like the first maybe...4 songs? but after that its all..... "meh". definatly not the greastes but alright
  14. LauraR
    Nov 28, 2004
    4
    I expected so much more from this album, especially the Andre 3000 tracks. The song "We Got a Long Way To Go" by the two of them sounds like it was thrown together in about 5 minutes and is musically and lyrically flaccid. The slower songs on the album (Crash) are snoozers and the whole album rings of a commercial in the sneakiest way for her fashion line LAMB. She couldn't even come I expected so much more from this album, especially the Andre 3000 tracks. The song "We Got a Long Way To Go" by the two of them sounds like it was thrown together in about 5 minutes and is musically and lyrically flaccid. The slower songs on the album (Crash) are snoozers and the whole album rings of a commercial in the sneakiest way for her fashion line LAMB. She couldn't even come up with an original album title. Sorry Gwen, you have not fooled us all. Expand
  15. Dec 18, 2016
    5
    It hops from sound to sound with little grace or warning. Too many producers with different ideas. I appreciate that in terms of pop, it was quite alternative, but it just didn't have enough consistency to hit to pop mark. Tracks like 'What You Waiting For?' and 'Danger Zone' save the album from being a totally confused throughout.
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 22
  2. Negative: 3 out of 22
  1. LAMB has one mega-hit, one okay song, three stillborns, and seven full-fledged embarrassments.
  2. An ultra sleek and, it has to be said, generally impressive, 80s-inspired party record.
  3. The subject matter on the indistinguishably titled Love, Angel, Music, Baby is painfully mainstream throughout.