Love in the Future

  • Record Label: Columbia
  • Release Date: Sep 3, 2013
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 35 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 35
  2. Negative: 4 out of 35

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 23, 2015
    9
    "Love in the Future", technically the fifth studio album by John Legend, is simply an amazing thing to hear!

    These compositions in Legend voice are simply one of the most emotional I've ever heard. The drama that surrounds the tune of great love ballads like "All of Me," "You & I" and "The Beginning ..." is extremely graceful and passionate, as well as small stir "Open Your Eyes" and
    "Love in the Future", technically the fifth studio album by John Legend, is simply an amazing thing to hear!

    These compositions in Legend voice are simply one of the most emotional I've ever heard. The drama that surrounds the tune of great love ballads like "All of Me," "You & I" and "The Beginning ..." is extremely graceful and passionate, as well as small stir "Open Your Eyes" and "Wanna Be Loved ".

    In addition, we also find a great nostalgia on tracks like "Made to Love," "Who Do You Think We Are" and "Asylum" that make the album most dynamic to listen to. Certainly, the interludes make the album tedious little bit, but nothing you cannot forget.

    Anyway, this album is great and very nice to hear. A great choice for those who want to start listening to John's discography, which is totally wonderful.
    Expand
  2. Sep 3, 2013
    8
    Clearly Legend's voice has not deteriorated- it sounds as it did on his first album. Kanye stayed on as a producer on some of the songs, which matches Legend's style very well. 17 tracks and most of the songs could be strong singles for the radio. My only complaint with this record is that I would have liked more "uptempo" songs. As I listened to the album the word came to mind was "sappy."
  3. Dec 19, 2013
    8
    John Legend is one of the most talented musicians of the current generation and he never fails to deliver an excellent album. He weaves a compelling tale about the many joys and perils of love. His voice sounds as good as ever and this album has made me realise how hard I've missed his music over the past few years. His previous project was a collaboration with the Roots and although IJohn Legend is one of the most talented musicians of the current generation and he never fails to deliver an excellent album. He weaves a compelling tale about the many joys and perils of love. His voice sounds as good as ever and this album has made me realise how hard I've missed his music over the past few years. His previous project was a collaboration with the Roots and although I liked it, it contained just one original song. Luckily on this album we get plenty of brand new songs. One of the two covers on the album Open your eyes which originally was written by Bobby Caldwell was adapted by Legend with such tenacity and vigour that you'd think this song was written just for him. Together with All of me I think these two are the stand out tracks although the majority of songs are excellent. The only thing I didn't really like about this album was the Rick Ross feature. It didn't feel right on an album that's so pure R&B. A must listen for any John Legend fan and for R&B-lovers in general Expand
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Jan 27, 2014
    60
    It's a hit-and-miss affair. [Oct 2013, p.105]
  2. Oct 1, 2013
    80
    John Legend captures the intimacy of the R&B genre without sacrificing the core music, which keeps it interesting for everyone.
  3. Sep 12, 2013
    60
    [The album] is not in the same league as his magnificent 2004 debut, Get Lifted. But Love In The Future, boasting production and writing credits by Kanye West, still has plenty of beautiful moments.