• Record Label: Geffen
  • Release Date: Aug 26, 2003
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. It's an easy listen, enjoyable on the surface with deeper meanings you're willing to dig.
  2. 'Love & Life' suggests "the queen of hip-hop soul" is truly now at the top of her game.
  3. A celebratory respite from the hopelessness; a retreat for those who really have trekked past the drama.
  4. At least half a dozen cuts will vie for slots on a future best-of.
  5. 70
    It's the songs of sadness and anger that work best.... But her club-anthem ambitions fall short here. [Oct 2003, p.180]
  6. 70
    Practically every song sounds as though we've heard it before--because, well, we have. [Sep 2003, p.122]
  7. Love's greatest strength is the same as its predecessors': Blige's simmering vocal intensity and the way it slowly boils over into cathartic exultation.
  8. The album often revisits the troubled vibe of her early days, in sound if not lyrically.
  9. Blige, despite her signature heartache-inducing voice, cannot save love fromher heavy-handed songwriting. [5 Sep 2003, p.75]
  10. Much of Love & Life... is a procession of syrupy ballads with added self-help litanies. [Nov 2003, p.113]
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. Dec 9, 2013
    10
    A classic go get yours today!!! A banger MJB Love & Life Cd. It's a Wrap love it. I was glad to hear Method and Mary on Love at 1st Sight. SheA classic go get yours today!!! A banger MJB Love & Life Cd. It's a Wrap love it. I was glad to hear Method and Mary on Love at 1st Sight. She knows how to wear the Crown of Hip-Hop Soul Full Review »
  2. carlos
    Nov 23, 2005
    0
    makes me sick, album bout nothing ups about love banal!!!!!!!!!!!11
  3. omarih
    Mar 3, 2004
    10
    This is a classic from the intro to the ending Mary does what she does best let you into her life and gives you something to think about