LP1

Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
Buy On
  1. Jul 26, 2011
    70
    LP1 doesn't always achieve a balance between the two extremes, not to the extent Stone and Stewart desires, as some of the ballads are a little formless and some of the funk a little too restricted, while some of Joss' posturing is a little affected, but it has more moments that work than anything she's done since her actual debut in 2003.
  2. Jul 25, 2011
    80
    On LP1, Stone mostly imbues her songs with passion and energy.
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    Jul 27, 2011
    75
    Drive All Night, with its chilled-out jazz backbeat, is a standout among her sultry tales of love. [29 Jul 2011, p.72]
  4. Jul 25, 2011
    75
    In a world where machined dance fodder, rap-deckled pop and lumbering rawk dominates, a genuine article of soul music-especially one where the thick bass, tumbling Wurlitzer and bright guitars set the tone-is a joyous noise, indeed.
  5. Jul 25, 2011
    70
    Her voice is a loose cannon; LP1 figures out how to aim it.
User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 3
  2. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Oct 27, 2011
    5
    I love Joss Stone, but this is not a good album. I think that she didn't take her time with this album. I hate to give her a bad review,but II love Joss Stone, but this is not a good album. I think that she didn't take her time with this album. I hate to give her a bad review,but I had no choice. Bad sound production, cracky voice, and bad music choices. I love her to death, but she CAN do better than this. Full Review »
  2. Sep 22, 2011
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. Even the best songs on this LP1 sound pretty weak concerning Joss standards and I'm taking into account her vocals too, which seem too angry and raspy for my ears. "Drive all night" is a highlight but it's not even close to being a masterpiece. "Karma" sounded promising at first listens but it didn't take me that long to realize how frustrating it turns out to be with the angry atmosphere where she's singing unemotionally words like **** and flat rhymes. Then we have "Boat Yard"... and every other track seems too lavish, corny or forced. Sadly forgettable. Full Review »
  3. Aug 1, 2011
    8
    Cutting down the overrated collaborations, and excessive production from her last two albums (Introducing Joss Stone and Colour Me Free), LP1Cutting down the overrated collaborations, and excessive production from her last two albums (Introducing Joss Stone and Colour Me Free), LP1 achieves a true Soul sound and feeling without losing a spark of pop that makes this album a great company. Full Review »