Lucky

  • Record Label: Barsuk
  • Release Date: Feb 5, 2008
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ChrisK
    Feb 7, 2008
    7
    A solid record though not as good as 'The Weight is a Gift'.
  2. KojimaP.
    Feb 8, 2008
    9
    God Save The Nada Surf
  3. ChrisG
    Feb 8, 2008
    8
    Solid, but not as poignant or "charming" as TWIAG or the stellar "Let Go"
  4. Ray
    Feb 12, 2008
    8
    At first ,I wasn't all that impressed,but after 2 listens,I'm really liking it."Beautiful Beat","See These Bones","Weightless","Are You Lightening" and "The Fox" are among my favorites.Definitely worth checking out.
  5. ChrisC.
    Feb 19, 2008
    9
    Another brilliant, multi-layered power pop masterpiece from one of the most under-appreciated and intelligent bands in rock.
  6. ChisT
    Feb 7, 2008
    9
    I disagree Chris K, I think this album surpasses Weight and comes close to let go. Just to many good tracks. Beautiful Beat has a great chorus. Are you Lightning? has one of the best song endings in a while. Just an overall great album.
  7. AlphaM.
    Mar 17, 2008
    7
    Good pop really comes in two brands for me: 1) the explosion of good power pop; and 2) the kind of pop that is hidden somewhere in the background of the tracks, but comes through anyway--kind of like reading a book by the window where there's enough sun to enjoy it inside, but not outside. For me, that's Nada Surf at their best. "Lucky" is not their best, but the second half of Good pop really comes in two brands for me: 1) the explosion of good power pop; and 2) the kind of pop that is hidden somewhere in the background of the tracks, but comes through anyway--kind of like reading a book by the window where there's enough sun to enjoy it inside, but not outside. For me, that's Nada Surf at their best. "Lucky" is not their best, but the second half of the disc is where everything comes together. I'm amazed at the number of peeps who really liked "The Weight is a Gift." I thought it was a real let down after "Let Go" and "The Proximity Effect" (hard to believe that disc has been out for a decade now). "Lucky" surpasses "The Weight is a Gift," but it's too far away from "The Proximity Effect" to hook my heart the way they used to. Expand
  8. Jesse
    Feb 19, 2008
    8
    Totally matches TWIAG for quality. Though both albums can't quite compete with Let Go for sheer awesomeness, any review below 8/10 must represent a complete lack of patience to let the experience grow and stomp out any negative impulses like it really totally deserves.
  9. HannibalK.
    Feb 24, 2008
    10
    Best album so far this year. Really cool tunes! Love it! Best song in my opinion is "I Like What You Say".
  10. DanJ.
    Feb 28, 2008
    8
    The world is truly evil. In such a world "popular" becomes a hit(ok song but c'mon). This is another great album from a group greater than their appearance in mainstream history. "Solid" as mentioned, but also growing.
  11. GregH
    Feb 7, 2008
    9
    Great record. More adventurous than "The Weight is a Gift," but not quite as captivating as "Let Go" (alas...will anything they do again be on par with "Let Go"?). Here's hoping the rest of the world realizes what a solid band this is. Best album of 2008 thus far.
  12. KGF.
    Mar 17, 2008
    7
    Not as great as Let Go or Weight is a Gift, but still quite alright. Things become a little monotonous due to the similar tempos in a couple songs (sequencing is a little iffy), good songwriting as always though.
  13. GMan
    Mar 18, 2008
    8
    Very reminiscent of the last Long Winters album with a touch of Portastatic. A couple really nice and catchy tunes with a couple that need time to digest. Overall a solid album, worth a couple listens at the least, a great background album too.
  14. Aug 11, 2011
    9
    I admit that I loved the mid 90s song "Popular," but I cared little about the album 'High/Low.' I tried giving them a second chance by ordering 'The Proxmity Effect,' but to my dismay, I was told that my order was cancelled since the album would not be released. I figured they would fade into obscurity at that point. Much to my surprise, several years later and they have released a fewI admit that I loved the mid 90s song "Popular," but I cared little about the album 'High/Low.' I tried giving them a second chance by ordering 'The Proxmity Effect,' but to my dismay, I was told that my order was cancelled since the album would not be released. I figured they would fade into obscurity at that point. Much to my surprise, several years later and they have released a few more albums, in my opinion, each one better than the last. For me, 'Lucky' is about as good as it gets. It's hard for me to listen to this and come out feeling down, or to feel like I was taken on an overly exhausting musical journey. It's cautiously optimistic and lighthearted enough for you to just play it through without getting too emotionally bogged down. Yet, it definitely engages you, makes you think and more importantly, makes you feel. It's kind of an exhilarating experience, and although it may have to grow on you a bit, it's really hard to be dissappointed with this great effort. I will let you peruse the critic reviews for more detailed comments, but the standout tracks for me are "See These Bones," "The Fox," and "Beautiful Beat." Expand
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. While Nada Surf is only a trio, in the studio it stacks up guitars and vocals, multiplying Mr. Caws’s thin voice into a dreamy or determined chorale.
  2. Nada Surf have matured into a strong enough band to make an album like Lucky, which is full of such existential hand-wringing and one of the year's first great pop records.
  3. While never unpleasant, Lucky represents a slowdown from the roll Nada Surf has been on.