Lucky

  • Record Label: Barsuk
  • Release Date: Feb 5, 2008
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. So even when Lucky tries to turn down the glow, it still radiates with the oomph of a solid power pop release, making Nada Surf's fifth album a fine finale for a weekend well-spent.
  2. A huge cast of supporting players like Ben Gibbard, John Roderick, Sean Nelson, and Juliana Hatfield add yet more depth to what might be Nada Surf's best work yet.
  3. While Nada Surf is only a trio, in the studio it stacks up guitars and vocals, multiplying Mr. Caws’s thin voice into a dreamy or determined chorale.
  4. Nada Surf have matured into a strong enough band to make an album like Lucky, which is full of such existential hand-wringing and one of the year's first great pop records.
  5. Lucky is full of jangly little gems that could put a skip in the step of even the saddest of sacks.
  6. The group’s fifth disc is an infectious collection of bright rock songs (Whose Authority) and calm, soothing numbers (See These Bones).
  7. Alternative Press
    80
    Organically building upon thier contemplative-rock base, Lucky is full of intricate melodies and bridges, intense while at the same time awash with the delicate touch of human experience. [Mar 2008, p.144]
  8. Uncut
    80
    The Brooklyn-based veterns have beefed up the arrangements on LP number five, and Matthew Caws' material happily carries that weight. [Mar 2008, p.96]
  9. Magnet
    80
    Nada Surf took it to The Next Level with 2003's near-flawless "Let Go" and has followed it up with two amazing, richly rewarding efforts. [Winter 2008, p.110]
  10. An album to play loud and often.
  11. Mojo
    80
    Possessed of hazily catchy and irresistible choruses, the end result is an endearingly affectionate blend of radio-friendly AOR and homely indie-rock touches anchoring their grand pop to something human. [Mar 2008, p.106]
  12. Under The Radar
    70
    Lucky’s music kicks high, the restlessness palpable. [Winter 2008, p.83]
  13. Despite the subtly uplifting message, Lucky lacks the emotional heft of the former.
  14. Such is the band’s melodic power the sensation is like slipping into a warm bath rather than eavesdropping by the psychiatrist’s chair.
  15. Lucky is a solid, almost reassuring album; it’s good to still have them around.
  16. Nada Surf still occupies a murky middle ground between mainstream pop and straightforward indie-rock, resulting in modern power-pop that's ready for primetime teen dramas or Subaru commercials.
  17. 60
    Nada Surf face everyday life's cacophony with a pleasant, unfaltering, even surgary approach. [Feb 2008, p.96]
  18. 60
    On record five, their lovely, surging melodies suggest a minor-league Coldplay, while singer-guitarist Matthew Caws recalls a lost golden age “when I could fix anything with sound.”
  19. Lucky aims high but once again falls short.
  20. Q Magazine
    60
    Everytime they hit their stride, as on 'Weightless,' a delicious coupling of joyful guitar riffs and Matthew Caw's warm falsetto, it is quickly followed by a bog-standard indie jangle. [Mar 2008, p.108]
  21. While never unpleasant, Lucky represents a slowdown from the roll Nada Surf has been on.
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Aug 11, 2011
    9
    I admit that I loved the mid 90s song "Popular," but I cared little about the album 'High/Low.' I tried giving them a second chance byI admit that I loved the mid 90s song "Popular," but I cared little about the album 'High/Low.' I tried giving them a second chance by ordering 'The Proxmity Effect,' but to my dismay, I was told that my order was cancelled since the album would not be released. I figured they would fade into obscurity at that point. Much to my surprise, several years later and they have released a few more albums, in my opinion, each one better than the last. For me, 'Lucky' is about as good as it gets. It's hard for me to listen to this and come out feeling down, or to feel like I was taken on an overly exhausting musical journey. It's cautiously optimistic and lighthearted enough for you to just play it through without getting too emotionally bogged down. Yet, it definitely engages you, makes you think and more importantly, makes you feel. It's kind of an exhilarating experience, and although it may have to grow on you a bit, it's really hard to be dissappointed with this great effort. I will let you peruse the critic reviews for more detailed comments, but the standout tracks for me are "See These Bones," "The Fox," and "Beautiful Beat." Full Review »
  2. GMan
    Mar 18, 2008
    8
    Very reminiscent of the last Long Winters album with a touch of Portastatic. A couple really nice and catchy tunes with a couple that need Very reminiscent of the last Long Winters album with a touch of Portastatic. A couple really nice and catchy tunes with a couple that need time to digest. Overall a solid album, worth a couple listens at the least, a great background album too. Full Review »
  3. KGF.
    Mar 17, 2008
    7
    Not as great as Let Go or Weight is a Gift, but still quite alright. Things become a little monotonous due to the similar tempos in a couple Not as great as Let Go or Weight is a Gift, but still quite alright. Things become a little monotonous due to the similar tempos in a couple songs (sequencing is a little iffy), good songwriting as always though. Full Review »