Lullabies To Paralyze

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 153 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 1 out of 153

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. VladaJ
    Aug 15, 2007
    10
    for me this is best album ever,best album of 2007, although i spent lot of time listening to it end i'm finding that this album can't be likeable at first,and you realy must like QOTSA...so if someone say that he realy listens them and say that he don't like that album,then i can understand... QOTSA FAN
  2. RichardL
    Sep 4, 2005
    8
    A great album in its own right. Just don't compare it to songs for the deaf.
  3. ChrisG
    Mar 22, 2005
    9
    Sounds nearly exactly what you would imagine this band would sound like without Nick Oliveri - not so much edge or fun metal antics - but instead it's been smoothed out into groove heavy tunes and a couple of extended, trippy, jams. Songs flow from one to the next amazingly. Instrument styles vary so much (except for the constant excellent use of the lapsteel) that it sounds like Sounds nearly exactly what you would imagine this band would sound like without Nick Oliveri - not so much edge or fun metal antics - but instead it's been smoothed out into groove heavy tunes and a couple of extended, trippy, jams. Songs flow from one to the next amazingly. Instrument styles vary so much (except for the constant excellent use of the lapsteel) that it sounds like they're all switching back and forth between instruments, and as the cd insert indicates, it turns out that they are. This works to their advantage as their sound never gets boring. Highlights for me were "Burn the Witch" (great riff by Billy Gibbons), "Everybody Knows that You're Insane", and "You Got a Killer Scene...". "Someone's in the Wolf" seemed drawn out to me on first listen but has gotten better with each listen., and is now one of my favorite tracks on the cd. This album is a step in a different direction than "Songs...", but still has the same dark/light mood mix that makes this one of my favorite bands, and this album may have pushed them to the top of my list. Expand
  4. RickN
    Apr 12, 2005
    8
    You've got to hand it to QOTSA, despite being round for years, they've still not turned into commercial crap like most bands do these days. Like Songs for the Deaf, it has songs that grab you straight away (e.g. Tangled Up in Plaid, Medication) and theres other tracks that are left to grow on you, which is the true greatness of QOTSA. On the downside, some tunes to tend to be a You've got to hand it to QOTSA, despite being round for years, they've still not turned into commercial crap like most bands do these days. Like Songs for the Deaf, it has songs that grab you straight away (e.g. Tangled Up in Plaid, Medication) and theres other tracks that are left to grow on you, which is the true greatness of QOTSA. On the downside, some tunes to tend to be a bit to repetitive and just make you wish they'd wack on the distortion again!! but thats just my opinion Expand
  5. MatD
    May 3, 2005
    8
    Good album. QOTSA always surprise us with different albums that are as interesting as previous material. Some people want the same things all the time from a band, and it's sad they don't understand the process.
  6. JasperB
    Nov 13, 2005
    7
    Good
  7. Dr.D.
    Mar 21, 2005
    9
    Some gut-ripping songs that hit all the highs of previous QOTSA albums. Homme is not necessarily better off without Oliveri, but he doesn't seem to be missing much without him. High point include the already certified "Little Sister," the hard-riffing "The Blood is Love," and the bluesy grind of "Burn the Witch." If you like "Songs for the Deaf" you will not be disappointed by Some gut-ripping songs that hit all the highs of previous QOTSA albums. Homme is not necessarily better off without Oliveri, but he doesn't seem to be missing much without him. High point include the already certified "Little Sister," the hard-riffing "The Blood is Love," and the bluesy grind of "Burn the Witch." If you like "Songs for the Deaf" you will not be disappointed by "Lullabies to Paralyze." Expand
  8. V.Z.
    Mar 22, 2005
    8
    The album sounds more like Rated R than Songs for the Deaf, which probably has more to do with the absence of Dave Grohl than with the absence of Olivieri. This new album offers only a few things that you haven't heard before when it comes to style and sound, and yet, it's a very creative album. By the time LIttle Sister gives you that special feeling you only get when you The album sounds more like Rated R than Songs for the Deaf, which probably has more to do with the absence of Dave Grohl than with the absence of Olivieri. This new album offers only a few things that you haven't heard before when it comes to style and sound, and yet, it's a very creative album. By the time LIttle Sister gives you that special feeling you only get when you instantly realize that a song is fantastic, the album has already sucked you in. Burn the Witch, In My Head, I Never Came and Someone's In The Wolf are other highlights. The middle part of the album seems to be the strongest, which is a bit of a pity. I like my albums having a strong final part. Expand
  9. JohnnyFeelgood
    Mar 25, 2005
    9
    The engineering/production is HORRIBLE. The songs are BRILLIANT. This could have been a classic album, but the engineers/mixers/masterers screwed it up. This is the real issue here. The songs, themselves, are much better than the songs on Songs for the Deaf.
  10. JohnB
    Mar 26, 2005
    10
    I am a Queens fan since the beginning and Homme's talents never cease to amaze me. I thought Songs for the Deaf couldn't be topped but I am now thinking twice. I wonder if Homme thought the same when he included a DVD of the making of the album with the release.
  11. Mytasteinmusicisbetterthanyours
    Mar 30, 2005
    10
    By far the greatest rock band around. This album is very much like Rated R but shows more grown in terms of song writing and Homme's ability to write the perfect hook. The line up is the tightest its ever been. Just saw them in New York; a pure ass kicking. I have to say that their self titled album is my favorite album of all time but this Homme creation is more than excellent. By far the greatest rock band around. This album is very much like Rated R but shows more grown in terms of song writing and Homme's ability to write the perfect hook. The line up is the tightest its ever been. Just saw them in New York; a pure ass kicking. I have to say that their self titled album is my favorite album of all time but this Homme creation is more than excellent. Those disappointed are those same people waiting anxiously for the next Fred Durst album. On an ending note, "You Got a Killer Scene, Man..." is the best song to have sex to. Expand
  12. NadiaC
    Mar 30, 2005
    10
    I thought this album was realy well done. I was expecting it to be weak because of Nick Oliveri's absence, but low and behold QOTSA never fail to deliver. A song I really liked on the album was "in my head", did anyone else find the guitar riffs on that song amazingly catchy?
  13. declanM
    Apr 20, 2005
    9
    I have been into these guys since kyuss way back before they were popular have all the sessions this album rocks but it does miss the nick ingredient apart from that a cool stoner album have to say one thing kyuss sound more accomplished and more experimental just listen to sky valley wow heavy man.
  14. brett
    May 29, 2005
    9
    Brilliant,moody,great record.. Should have been 3 songs shorter for consistancy and as a WHOLE body of work. Great wriring !!!!
  15. PauloD
    Jun 2, 2005
    7
    A better follow up to "Songs for the Deaf" but doens't reach the quality of "Rated R".
  16. EdC
    Aug 5, 2005
    10
    Brilliant, hard rocking, ultimate awesomeness! And who doesn't want more cowbell? Lullabies is a masterpiece, almost surpassing Songs. Sheer and obscene awesomeness.
  17. LucasS
    Sep 17, 2005
    10
    best ever
  18. NickL
    Aug 23, 2006
    10
    A great, haunting album that isn't for everyone but if you are into the style you will love it.
  19. RosscoeP
    Jun 20, 2007
    10
    when i first got this album, to tell the truth, i was alittle upset, becasue it hought this was songs for the deaf, but after listening to it, i must say, i think this is their best album
  20. sM
    Oct 14, 2005
    9
    Sexy as hell....
  21. MadDog
    Mar 21, 2005
    7
    My first exposure to QOTSA was Songs for the Deaf a couple of years ago. Raised on a diet of 1970s rock, the sound was a revelation; a magnificent blend of hard rock, musicianship and (dare I say it), melody. I have still never heard a tighter outfit than that version of QOTSA. This time round, something other than the former band members seems to be missing. Some great songs, but many My first exposure to QOTSA was Songs for the Deaf a couple of years ago. Raised on a diet of 1970s rock, the sound was a revelation; a magnificent blend of hard rock, musicianship and (dare I say it), melody. I have still never heard a tighter outfit than that version of QOTSA. This time round, something other than the former band members seems to be missing. Some great songs, but many tend to drift away without focus or direction. Disappointing by their standards, but still a great piece of rock. Expand
  22. PaulM
    Mar 22, 2005
    9
    If i had rated this album after my first listen, i would have given it a solid 4 or maybe a 5. But after i listened to the album over again, the songs began to grow on me. The critics as well as the fans are making too much of the absense of Grohl and Oliveri. A "revolving door" of musicians has always been what made QOTSA so fucking good. This time around they have a new mix of guys, and If i had rated this album after my first listen, i would have given it a solid 4 or maybe a 5. But after i listened to the album over again, the songs began to grow on me. The critics as well as the fans are making too much of the absense of Grohl and Oliveri. A "revolving door" of musicians has always been what made QOTSA so fucking good. This time around they have a new mix of guys, and once again, a bit of a new sound. But overall, every track hits just as hard as anything else QOTSA have ever done, and helps them to prove that they are the greatest fucking rock band in the world right now! Expand
  23. GoranS
    Mar 23, 2005
    9
    An excellent album, Very mystical. The album just flows perfectly and gives you music-orgasm sometimes. Great riffs and choruses. Not better then Songs for the deaf but very, very close.
  24. CameronR
    Mar 24, 2005
    9
    very great cd. Ive been listening to queens of the stone age for about 3 years now and this is my sexcond fav album.(Behind the famous songs for the deaf). Great if your a rock fan get it even if your not get it.
  25. RandyH
    Mar 25, 2005
    9
    Partial to QOTSA's self-titled debut myself, I looked forward to a Queens record with Homme-heavy vocals. Although I do miss Oliveri's patented howl and (will miss) his stage presence, I'm digging Lullabies immensely. Standouts are "Everyone Knows You're Insane," "Tangled Up in Plaid," "In My Head (recycled from the last Dessert Sessions disc)" and "Broken Box." In my Partial to QOTSA's self-titled debut myself, I looked forward to a Queens record with Homme-heavy vocals. Although I do miss Oliveri's patented howl and (will miss) his stage presence, I'm digging Lullabies immensely. Standouts are "Everyone Knows You're Insane," "Tangled Up in Plaid," "In My Head (recycled from the last Dessert Sessions disc)" and "Broken Box." In my opinion, it's the perfect brew of the previous three albums and I could be crazy, but the bass sounds better than ever to me. Another success for one of the last bastions of quality rock. Expand
  26. SeanW
    Mar 25, 2005
    10
    Not as excellent as 'Songs for the Deaf' (which on a scale of 1-10 was a 12) but still rocks harder than anything else you're gonna hear on the radio without a rap beat or emo screaming
  27. Johnno
    Mar 27, 2005
    9
    Darkly romantic, yet catchy. Homme is the new voice for a generation of young rock fans who need something better than the recent waves of retro bands. Each QOTSA is progressively becoming a little bit more innovative. No giant leaps, but that's what we need. If we expect too much change from one album to the next, the next big step may be a step down. It's all about baby steps. Darkly romantic, yet catchy. Homme is the new voice for a generation of young rock fans who need something better than the recent waves of retro bands. Each QOTSA is progressively becoming a little bit more innovative. No giant leaps, but that's what we need. If we expect too much change from one album to the next, the next big step may be a step down. It's all about baby steps. LTP leaves off where Songs for the Deaf ended. But like SFTD, LTP has a great variation in songs. From the fast "Medication" to the sweet n' subtle "I Never Came", from the eerie "Someone's in the Wolf" to the simply-catchy "Long slow Goodbye". this is definitely an album you press play and let the hour roll by. Expand
  28. GaryM
    Mar 29, 2005
    9
    at times it's softer than previous efforts but still an excellent album.
  29. jamesr
    Mar 29, 2005
    9
    not as good as songs for the dea,f but still has its own brilliant style and is still way ahead of everything else
  30. EricR
    Mar 29, 2005
    9
    Maybe not quite as good as Songs for the Deaf, but a strong album all the same. Maybe it's because they opened their show with "Someone's in the Wolf", but I really love that song despite multiple reviews dismissing it as "limp." With a few more listens, I might put this album equal with Rated R and Songs for the Deaf.
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Entertainment Weekly
    75
    The macho posturing can get obnoxious.... That said, anyone looking for a band that can mix and match metal, blues, thrash, punk, psychedelia, and grunge as the mood suits will be floored by Lullabies. [25 Mar 2005, p.70]
  2. It's the tension between Homme's conflicting impulses that pressurizes Lullabies to Paralyze's highest points and accounts for its lows.
  3. Blender
    60
    Sounds routine, obscure without much mystery. [Apr 2005, p.124]