Lungs

  • Record Label: Island
  • Release Date: Oct 20, 2009
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 299 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 299

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 14, 2010
    10
    Every track on this album is great. It's definitely a great buy and I think Florence + The Machine will be around for a while. Go buy this album now!!
  2. [Anonymous]
    Oct 20, 2009
    10
    I've been listening to the songs on this CD since I bought it England this summer and it continues to sound better and better. Florence has a strong and agile voice which she uses to great effect in a variety of genres.
  3. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    Amazing album. Blending a mix of nu folk and nordic pop, Florence delievers an amazing album. The plentiful use of harps and bangles helps create a luxurious melody that one can listen to repeatedly without it growing tired. Florence also dares to use multiple styles to further demonstrate the scale and creativity of her voice. Very impressive album.
  4. May 24, 2011
    8
    Florence shrieks , howls and yelps better than anyone in the game. Lungs is great ; its like cake. Totally amazing but if you eat cake every day it becomes less of a treat.
  5. Jun 29, 2012
    9
    This album is truly an amazing and impressive debut. I bought 'Ceremonials', their sophomore album, before this one and I thought 'Ceremonials' was great. But when I bought 'Lungs', it easily became one of my favorite albums of all time. 'Lungs' shows of some incredible indie pop, baroque production, but the best thing are definitely Florence Welch's strong, powerful pipes. Her voice isThis album is truly an amazing and impressive debut. I bought 'Ceremonials', their sophomore album, before this one and I thought 'Ceremonials' was great. But when I bought 'Lungs', it easily became one of my favorite albums of all time. 'Lungs' shows of some incredible indie pop, baroque production, but the best thing are definitely Florence Welch's strong, powerful pipes. Her voice is absolutely stunning. She expresses a maybe soprano vocal range that can make you feel sad and uplifted at the same time. But, there are some weird and maybe unnecessary tracks in this album. The dark and spooky My Boy Build Coffins kinda sucks. Between Two Lungs is one of the weaker tracks by Florence + The Machine. The boring I'm Not Calling You A Liar is unnecessary. But that's the only bad stuff. The good tracks are the reggae-influenced Hurricane Drunk, the fast almost danceable Drumming Song, the vocal masterpiece of Dog Days Are Over, the lyrically powerful track Cosmic Love, and the punk infused Kiss With A Fist. This album is one of my favorite albums that I own. If you are into or want to listen to an indie pop, vocally powerful album, get this one. Expand
  6. Oct 2, 2011
    9
    Florence knows how to be powerful and not get too Aretha, exagerating a beat. With strange lyrics, a lot of harps and cytaras, and a sweet and at the same time tough vocal, she gives us the indiest album I have ever listen. And her live performances are the best thing, with great presence and terrific voice. "Dog Days Are Over", "Between Two Lungs", "Bird Song" and "Cosmic Love" are one ofFlorence knows how to be powerful and not get too Aretha, exagerating a beat. With strange lyrics, a lot of harps and cytaras, and a sweet and at the same time tough vocal, she gives us the indiest album I have ever listen. And her live performances are the best thing, with great presence and terrific voice. "Dog Days Are Over", "Between Two Lungs", "Bird Song" and "Cosmic Love" are one of this greatest on this great CD. Expand
  7. Oct 28, 2011
    10
    This is my favourite album. That just about sums it up. It's like a collage of genres expertly put together to create something greater than any one of them alone
  8. Feb 2, 2013
    10
    Florence has an absolutely amazing voice! It surprises me that people actually like the junk on the modern pop radios. Justin Bieber? Please, Florence The Machine is what people should be listening to. The touching songs in this album just make you happy.
  9. Nov 27, 2013
    10
    ALBUM PERFEITO!!! Uma artista como florence deveria merecer todos os prêmios possíveis por essa obra de arte, pois novo, único, espetacular e principalmente maravilhoso em seu conceito.

    Melhores faixas: Dog Days Are Over e Rabbit Heart (Raise Up)
  10. Feb 9, 2014
    8
    Lungs is Florence + the Machine's almost perfect debut studio album, where the music is far more lusciously composed and pieced together. Yes, many people shall find Florence's vocals rather challenging, but others will be able to get past that and see the potentiality and brilliance. Lungs is a minor classic to me.
  11. Sep 11, 2015
    10
    This album is so **** amazing, and it's my leat favourite album by Florence + The Machine (A.K.A. Flo), so you can imagine how amazing it is.
    Hell yeah, pretty much amazing.
  12. TobyH
    Oct 20, 2009
    8
    Pretty decent album. Her calling card Kiss With A Fist is enjoyable if you can get past the fact that it basically rips off The White Stripes' We Are Going To Be Friends. Vicious stomper Girl With One Eye is just embarrassing, with truly dire lyrics capped off with savage production. And Howl just sounds like filler. Anyway, that's the bad stuff out of the way. The rest of the Pretty decent album. Her calling card Kiss With A Fist is enjoyable if you can get past the fact that it basically rips off The White Stripes' We Are Going To Be Friends. Vicious stomper Girl With One Eye is just embarrassing, with truly dire lyrics capped off with savage production. And Howl just sounds like filler. Anyway, that's the bad stuff out of the way. The rest of the album is brilliant. Cosmic Love has to be one of the most powerful tracks of the year, along with epic single Rabbit Heart (Raise It Up). Opener Dog Days Are Over manages to be sad and uplifting at the same time, with a briliant melody. Other highlights include the dark My Boy Builds Coffins, the propulsive Drumming Song and the Kate-Bush-esque Blinding. De Expand
  13. Jan 23, 2011
    10
    Lungs is an amazing album, all the way through. Dog Days Are Over is one of my favorite songs of all time, and Cosmic Love and Rabbit Heart (Raise it Up) are also standout tracks. There is not a song on the album that isn't good, and each one has something unique that pulls you in. Drumming song is instantly catchy and sticks in your head. Girl With One Eye took a while to get used to, butLungs is an amazing album, all the way through. Dog Days Are Over is one of my favorite songs of all time, and Cosmic Love and Rabbit Heart (Raise it Up) are also standout tracks. There is not a song on the album that isn't good, and each one has something unique that pulls you in. Drumming song is instantly catchy and sticks in your head. Girl With One Eye took a while to get used to, but after multiple listens it is just as good as everything else on the CD. None of the songs get old, and i have played this CD more than anything I have ever owned. Definetely one of my favorite albums of all time. Expand
  14. Mar 17, 2011
    9
    This is a very heartfelt album. Florence Welch is brutally honest as she sings of violence and coffins and setting beds on fire. Her voice is so beautiful. The opener "Dog Days Are Over" is a fantastic track. Really opens up the album. Every track sounds great. I must also say the drumming in this album is fantastic. "Drumming Song" really shows it. All In All, Lungs is a powerful,This is a very heartfelt album. Florence Welch is brutally honest as she sings of violence and coffins and setting beds on fire. Her voice is so beautiful. The opener "Dog Days Are Over" is a fantastic track. Really opens up the album. Every track sounds great. I must also say the drumming in this album is fantastic. "Drumming Song" really shows it. All In All, Lungs is a powerful, heartfelt, honest album that's easily one of the best of 2010 as far as indie rock goes. A- Expand
  15. Nov 25, 2010
    8
    Florence + The Machine will be a great indie rock band and Lungs is the proof. Even the tracks are about violence, i like it because Lungs can canalize all that blood and guts without a Parental Advisory sticker.
  16. Aug 27, 2011
    8
    If you love alternative music, this one is for you. A very decent album.
  17. Dec 11, 2010
    10
    One of my favorite albums. I love this album. Really nice songs. Outstanding song writing. Love the dark lyrics. Outstanding voice. Florence and the Machine is the artist is watch out for. Her songs are so awesome. Looking forward for all florence music in the future
  18. Jun 7, 2011
    10
    The album is great. The problem is that with some of this "fussed over" bands people grow huge expectations, and end up feeling disappointed, when in fact if they were listening to it for the first time they'd probably think it's great too. The sound and the lyrics are very good and original, not to mention her shrilling voice, which is bound to put her well above in the chart of bestThe album is great. The problem is that with some of this "fussed over" bands people grow huge expectations, and end up feeling disappointed, when in fact if they were listening to it for the first time they'd probably think it's great too. The sound and the lyrics are very good and original, not to mention her shrilling voice, which is bound to put her well above in the chart of best voices of pop music. It's the first time I at least have thought a harp sounds this good. Expand
  19. Aug 11, 2013
    10
    Genre: Pop
    One of the most confident debut albums you'll ever listen to there isn't a single bad song to be found on Florence and the Machine's 'Lungs'. As with most great albums there is a nice variety of songs from the frantic pace of 'The Dog Days are Over' to the haunting 'Girl With One Eye'.
    Of course with Florence Welch it is all about the remarkable vocals and she never fails to
    Genre: Pop
    One of the most confident debut albums you'll ever listen to there isn't a single bad song to be found on Florence and the Machine's 'Lungs'. As with most great albums there is a nice variety of songs from the frantic pace of 'The Dog Days are Over' to the haunting 'Girl With One Eye'.

    Of course with Florence Welch it is all about the remarkable vocals and she never fails to deliver. A true talent.
    Expand
  20. Jun 11, 2011
    8
    (TLDR: This album just needs a little more attention than most, but if you love it it will reward you.) This is a pretty solid album and if you haven't seen the videos, go do it now. (Esp. Drumming Song and Cosmic Love) Florence and the Machine takes a rarely seen approach to composition: in many of her songs, drums are the main interaction with the vocals. Yes, there are other(TLDR: This album just needs a little more attention than most, but if you love it it will reward you.) This is a pretty solid album and if you haven't seen the videos, go do it now. (Esp. Drumming Song and Cosmic Love) Florence and the Machine takes a rarely seen approach to composition: in many of her songs, drums are the main interaction with the vocals. Yes, there are other instruments, but in most cases the basic skeleton doesn't require them. On top of which, Miss Welsh has a powerful voice, so it's really that the drums are the *only* instrument that could keep up with her. The album is also strong lyrically, especially with the delicate art of never overstating your point. If I absolutely had to nitpick this album I would say it had two downsides. The first is that the album is *high energy* the whole way through. There are some slow-ER songs, but nothing to give reprieve from the tiring pace. Unfortunately, this means that if you listen to albums as a whole composition (as you should with any album), you may completely overlook some of the middle of the album songs (Ex. Howl, Between Two Lungs) The second small issue is that sometimes it is difficult to make out the words. However! There is a very simple solution to both of these problems: make as many mixtapes as you possibly can. Put the songs in different contexts, include a lyric book for your chosen loved one (or victim) and leave them to cry their feelings out while driving down the highway, courtesy of one very attractive British redhead and you. Expand
  21. Aug 24, 2011
    10
    Cada faixa do álbum possui uma originalidade impressionante: as músicas não se copiam, apenas se completam. As letras são excelentes e a voz de Florence Welch consegue soar divina e pesada ao mesmo tempo. A harpa pode até ser um instrumento bem antigo mas, numa era de auto-tune e deCada faixa do álbum possui uma originalidade impressionante: as músicas não se copiam, apenas se completam. As letras são excelentes e a voz de Florence Welch consegue soar divina e pesada ao mesmo tempo. A harpa pode até ser um instrumento bem antigo mas, numa era de auto-tune e de supervalorização música comercial, se transforma na marca registrada de Florence e sua máquina de encantar.
    -Melhores músicas: Drumming Song / Dog Days Are Over / Blinding
    Expand
  22. Dec 11, 2011
    9
    A very solid album. It has a good blend of upbeat, and slower tempo melodies. Florence's voice really shines in some of the songs, and there are some songs that just make you feel out-of-this-world. There are a few moments where things could've been handled better, but most of the songs are so good that it doesn't even matter.
  23. Dec 19, 2011
    8
    This was a breathe of fresh air (pardon the pun) when it came out. Still sounds great, although I do feel it has some weak moments and don't understand the 10 out of 10's it gets.
  24. Oct 24, 2011
    10
    I only started listening to Florence And The Machine in March of this year, and I wish I had discovered them sooner! Florence has such a powerful voice and her music makes you feel emotion like you haven't felt with any other album before. Florence is one talented musician which no one can deny, with a very unique music style.
  25. Dec 16, 2011
    10
    Lungs is a work of art, very beautiful, a true musical reinvention.
    When I heard this masterpiece of Florence Welch and company, I was amazed at their sound fantastic and with the beautiful voice of the goddess redhead who takes the lead of the band.
    Each song is unique, you enter a world of fairy tale Gothic and Celtic florence only with his melancholy and euphoria could lead. It is a
    Lungs is a work of art, very beautiful, a true musical reinvention.
    When I heard this masterpiece of Florence Welch and company, I was amazed at their sound fantastic and with the beautiful voice of the goddess redhead who takes the lead of the band.
    Each song is unique, you enter a world of fairy tale Gothic and Celtic florence only with his melancholy and euphoria could lead.
    It is a very remarkable album, Dog Days Are Over is something sublime, brand new, you will not find another song like this, believe me.
    It is a magical album, absolutely beautiful
    Expand
  26. Mar 12, 2012
    10
    Sensational. Flo's voice is absolutely mesmeric. I'm not sure I've heard anything quite like it. Cosmic Love easily my track of the year, but it's a tight run race with Rabbit Heart and Dog Days. See her live if you haven't already. I think (and hope) she's just getting started...
  27. Mar 17, 2012
    8
    A must-hear for first-time Florence + the Machine listeners. This album is full of soaring creativity and soulful whimsy you want to sing along and clap your hands as if you're at camp.

    Key Tracks:
    "Dog Days Are Over"
    "Blinding"
    "Between Two Lungs"
  28. Jun 1, 2012
    10
    A Simply Amazing Album! It Sounds Like The Bangles But With Vocal Power!
    One Of The Best Debut Album's Of ALL TIME!
    I Would Feel Bad Giving This Album A 9!
  29. Jul 10, 2012
    10
    Lungs is the first album I've heard that I've loved every single track. Florence Welch is an incredibly talented singer and her music is a great baroque pop indie mix. Dog Days are Over, Cosmic Love, and Blinding are my favorites.
  30. Jul 26, 2012
    8
    For a British girl, Florence makes some excellent music. I first heard her latest effort, and this one is a bit sparse compared to that. I like it better.
  31. Nov 19, 2013
    10
    One of the most amazing debut in years. Florence Welch is a tremendous vocalist with power and she is smart enough to not under-use or over-use her power when singing. Tracks such as "Cosmic Love" and "You've Got the Love" sound like nothing else out there. They're definitely gonna be in the industry for a long long time.
  32. May 10, 2014
    9
    I think it's called Lungs because it's breathtaking. This album has so many unique tracks, and it feels so unique and perfect. I love the instrumentals, and the powerful voice behind it all.
  33. Sep 14, 2015
    8
    Their next albums are better, (that's good) but I love this album! I love all the songs on this album, but my favorite is Girl With One Eye (the Percussion Version) it looks very dark! Florence made a great job, if you didn't go listen their next albums.
  34. Feb 15, 2016
    10
    Lungs is the album that we've been looking for. It combines a mixture of so many different types of sounds and emotions, yet blends them all in a slightly jarring way, yet it works perfectly. It's an exquisite album, and it deserves all of the praise that it receives. It is truly Florence's finest album.
  35. THall
    Oct 20, 2009
    7
    A pretty decent album. It's stange in that it sags in the MIDDLE of the album, finishing and starting very strongly.The awful.
  36. Dec 12, 2015
    10
    Florence Welch one of the most powerful voices of all time she is unstoppable there is only one word for this album "perfection" the uniqueness shines in this start of her amazing music career what an album!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  37. Feb 7, 2016
    10
    Glad the critics agrees with me that this is Florence's best album. Every track is different from each other and all are flawless, the only one I'd consider as average is Kiss Wish A Fist, which also strays from the album's Art Rock sound to a more punk sound. Florence's lyricism is fantastic and emotional, and her amazing strong vocals do them justice.
  38. May 19, 2016
    9
    Lungs é o ponto mais "fraco" da carreira da banda Florence + The Machine. Por esse motivo, prova-se que a banda sabe fazer música boa em todos os sentidos, pois o álbum é maravilhoso. Todas as músicas da versão Standard são divinas. O que o estraga é a versão Deluxe, que vem com várias faixas descartáveis. Porém a Deluxe não tira o encanto que é a obra-prima Lungs. Destaque positivo paraLungs é o ponto mais "fraco" da carreira da banda Florence + The Machine. Por esse motivo, prova-se que a banda sabe fazer música boa em todos os sentidos, pois o álbum é maravilhoso. Todas as músicas da versão Standard são divinas. O que o estraga é a versão Deluxe, que vem com várias faixas descartáveis. Porém a Deluxe não tira o encanto que é a obra-prima Lungs. Destaque positivo para "Cosmic Love" e "Dog Days Are Over". Expand
  39. Aug 29, 2016
    10
    Masterpiece, just wonderful and melodic/mysterious sounds.
    Epic and magical lyrics/voice by Florence*
    An unique album with another references of Alternative.
    Just listen, you won't regret it, i promise*
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Lungs showcases Florence's dramatic voice as an instrument that the other instruments follow, from the urgent, rhythmic drums on "Drumming Song" to the fluid harp runs on "Rabbit Heart (Raise It Up)."
  2. If Lungs fails to make as much impact as those other debuts, it may be because Welch puts a little too much emphasis on singer and not enough on songwriter.
  3. As it is, they're more than quite good, and all the better for the tracks that surround them.