Luxury Problems - Andy Stott
Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Nov 7, 2012
    90
    In its own less-alien way, Luxury Problems is just as brilliant as what preceded it.
  2. Dec 14, 2012
    90
    Never before has the producer been as sharp (or as murky) at the boards as he is here, seamlessly tuning long-winded drones with slavedriver clangs into hypnotic locked grooves.
  3. Oct 29, 2012
    87
    It's the headphones album of the year from a producer with a long history who has come into his own.
  4. Dec 11, 2012
    80
    Luxury Problems is distinguished by the piercing vocals of Stott's former piano teacher, Alison Skidmore; looped, layered and heavily reverbed, they coil elegantly around Stott's brutalist constructions. [Jan 2013, p.83]
  5. Nov 6, 2012
    70
    Dark, hypnotic, abstract and remarkably sexy.
  6. Nov 9, 2012
    80
    As the overwhelming bulk of Luxury Problems demonstrates, the producer might've learned how to marshal all the dark, weird stuff boiling inside him, but he's not about to relinquish it any time soon.
  7. Oct 29, 2012
    70
    As it is Luxury Problems is a shift in a new direction that's not quite bold enough to make the jump in full, but still loaded with incredible ideas.
  8. Oct 30, 2012
    90
    A memorable, impermanent joy, it restores, rather than disturbs, the equilibrium--a feat of engineering in the service of artistry.
  9. Dec 10, 2012
    80
    The album is at its best when its space is utilized not to build additional patterns, but to simply frame the raw nature and intrinsic beauty of sound.
  10. Oct 29, 2012
    80
    For post-apocalyptic strains of electronic music, there's no one better at the moment than Andy Stott. Luxury Problems makes for one hell of a calling card.
  11. Oct 31, 2012
    80
    Stott doesn't just produce these tracks, he haunts their halls.
  12. Nov 12, 2012
    70
    You need several listens to get your head around it, to recognize the landmarks and figure out the proper speed of anticipation and delivery.
  13. May 30, 2013
    89
    What a sublime hush of an album. Your iPhone dreams about this music.
  14. Nov 6, 2012
    90
    Luxury Problems is a highly impressive full-length album of dark, atmospheric techno.
  15. Dec 7, 2012
    80
    It manages to evoke both void and overload simultaneously, and feels by turns oppressively dense and light as a feather. [Dec 2012, p.74]
  16. It's a thoughtful and meditative affair with a meaningful and felt collaboration at its core.
  17. Nov 2, 2012
    80
    Luxury Problems plays like a logical continuation of this chapter of Stott's music--the sweet spot between fear, obstruction and the warm embrace of total sound immersion.
  18. Oct 29, 2012
    70
    It is certainly a gorgeous production, and tracks will possibly come across differently in a mix, even if it is not quite what many will have been expecting.
  19. Nov 2, 2012
    90
    Though he's had plenty of strong releases in the past, this one has the inspired feeling of an artist truly finding his footing--a breakthrough, in other words.
  20. Oct 30, 2012
    80
    Luxury Problems may not be as unbelievably mysterious and engrossing as his pair of 2011 EPs, We Stay Together and Passed Me By, but his craft is just as sharp here, and the results just as worthy of intense, continuous listening.
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Nov 9, 2012
    10
    Oh my god I love this album. With this album came the creation of a dark and enigmatic world that I was able to get sucked into with ease. That's what I love about andy stott's music, It has the capacity to draw me into a place I didn't expect to find comfort in. When listening I honestly feel like I'm in some neo noir, intergalactic setting in the future , and I feel like I belong in that setting whenever I listen. Full Review »
  2. Feb 10, 2013
    10
    Visceral, bleak and extremely immersive solitary listening is essential. It's been a very long time since I've encountered something so ethereal and dreamlike. saasdit's fairly predictable structurally (which isn't a criticism, merely an observation), Stott's bizarre sound pallet is instantly recognisable, forebodboding Full Review »
  3. Jan 10, 2013
    10
    An absolutely brilliant record. Deep house bass and nice vocal samples make a great atmosphere. It is a very fulfilling listen and leaves me feeling refreshed. Full Review »